RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


How often do you clean your bike?(11 posts)

How often do you clean your bike?MaRider
Mar 29, 2002 2:57 PM
To Clean or Not to Clean?

Let's have a spring poll, how often do you clean/oil your bike (rainy day rides cleanings don't count), what do you use, etc.
Road bike once or twice a year, MB when it's dirty.cory
Mar 29, 2002 3:21 PM
If by "clean" you mean get down with some water and brushes and whatnot, not more than a couple of times a season. It's lubed regularly and I knock the mud off, but that's all.
The mountain bike naturally gets a lot dirtier, and it gets cleaned after every ride if it needs it. Usually I wash off the dirt with a hose and brush, bounce to knock off the water and lube at least the chain.
re: How often do you clean your bike?Bigburlymtnman
Mar 29, 2002 3:25 PM
Whenever it looks like it needs a good cleaning. Probably once every 2 weeks for my road and once every 2 rides for my mountain. I use a sponge, some rags, a trusty old toothbrush, and concentrated Simple Green-it's a good citrus household cleaner that works better than any bike cleaner out there and costs much less at Lowes.

tootles
chardin
re: How often do you clean your bike?JimP
Mar 29, 2002 3:41 PM
I wipe the frame, fork, and trispoke wheels every week or so with Griot's SpeedShine. It cleans and leaves a little wax behind. The chain, chainrings, cassette, rear der., and pulleys are cleaned thoroughly with naptha every 6-8 weeks. The chain is hot-waxed then. Inbetween, the chain is lubed with WhiteLightning every couple of weeks.
not very oftenjw25
Mar 29, 2002 4:39 PM
Usually, the road bike gets a full-on bath once a season or so. I did just build up anew one, though, so it's been pampered.
I do spot-clean, though, so things like energy-drink spills and road goop get wiped off.
The mountain bike tends to stay dirty, since around here, a cleaning only lasts one ride, and who has the time?
I use Dawn dishwashing liquid as my general-purpose bike cleaner, with a sprayer of Simple Green for the tougher stuff (tar comes to mind...) with an array of brushes and sponges to wash and rinse.
Afterwards, they used to get polished with Pledge, but I've been using Prolink (well, I have a couple bottles from a big order, and it lasts a lot longer than expected on the chain). It's too soon to tell, but water beads well on the Prolinked frames, so the hope is, mud will too. If it lasts a month or so, I might bath the mtb more often, and reapply. It doesn't leave an oily feel, as the Pledge tended to.
As you noted, rainy day rides are something else. The bike gets a quick bath, with the wheels and brake pads getting special attention. Nothing worse than black grunge on the sidewalls.
After every ride..DINOSAUR
Mar 29, 2002 5:12 PM
I give my bike a good wipe down using Simple Green after each ride. I also clean and lubricate the chain. During the summer, when it's hot and I have to pull off both wheels in order to install new tires, I'll give it a good scrubbing and wax the frame. It never stays dirty for long. Of course I'm retired and have the time to do stuff like this.
After every ride..elviento
Mar 29, 2002 5:41 PM
It's good to keep your bike nice and clean, but I can only afford to do it maybe twice a year. Fortunately I switch things around on my bikes a lot, so I end up inadvertently cleaning the parts once in a while.
after almost every rideMike P
Mar 29, 2002 5:46 PM
I clean my bike with simple green on a damp towel after almost every ride. Then a wipe with windex to really shine things up.

I don't do a heavy duty cleaning until after a rainy day ride; then it's a clean and lube. I clean and lube the chain along with the cassette and chainrings every 3rd ride or so.

Some of my friends say I am a bit anal about cleaning things, but I feel like my bike is faster when it's clean.

Mike
A wipe down every ride, a thorough cleaning every three or fourg-money
Mar 29, 2002 7:48 PM
Every 300-350 milesKerry Irons
Mar 29, 2002 8:44 PM
Wipe/lube/wipe the chain/chainrings/cogs/pulleys. Wipe (with dry rag) the frame, rims, spokes,and all components. During this time, the bike gets a general inspection with brake check, run through the gears, etc. and any adjustments required are made. This close inspection of the bike insures that I don't have any "on the road" problems. I've had maybe 2 mechanicals in the last 30 years.
Whenever it needs it, sometimes monthly, sometimes weekly nmOutWest
Mar 29, 2002 10:13 PM