RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Ordered SIDI Genius 3 Mega shoes...anybody use them?(8 posts)

Ordered SIDI Genius 3 Mega shoes...anybody use them?MVN
Mar 28, 2002 1:09 PM
I just ordered a pair of SIDI Genius 3 Mega shoes today through my LBS. Everything I tried on in the shop was just a little too narrow. Does anyone on this board use these shoes and if so...what are your opinions of them? I've heard great things about them. I guess I'm looking for reassurance to convince me that the $180 I spent (will spend once they get here) was worth it, lol. Thanks for your time.
re: Ordered SIDI Genius 3 Mega shoes...anybody use them?jbrown2036
Mar 28, 2002 2:09 PM
worry no more, as long as they fit you well, they are classics. Depending on the level of abuse-you could get three or more seasons out of them.
re: Ordered SIDI Genius 3 Mega shoes...anybody use them?Jekyll
Mar 28, 2002 4:24 PM
The Genius 3 having been discontinued you should be able to do a bit better than the pretty much full retail of $180. They are being closed out on line for around $130.
re: Ordered SIDI Genius 3 Mega shoes...anybody use them?Akirasho
Mar 28, 2002 7:09 PM
.... not wanting to stir up the debate of mailorder over LBS, but I just bought a kickass pair of Genius 4's (already have Genius 3's) from Parker International for $114 USD total (shipping and handling included).

I don't wear Mega, but I do wear a 49 which is hard to find.

I agree, that while there are subtle differences 'tween G4 and G3, full retail seems a bit much for last year's model.

Overall, I've never ridden in any cycling specific shoe except Sidi and I love them (I've got 4 pair... 2 MTB and 2 road). They are comfortable, long lasting and as the pic shows below (not available in the US as a G4) snazzy.

Again, not trying to start a war and understand if you want to support your LBS... just offer options.

http://forums.consumerreview.com/crforum?viewall@@.efa0c44

We abide.

Remain In Light.
Genius 3 = 2001 shoescoonass
Mar 28, 2002 7:10 PM
You could have gotten Genius 4 (2002) shoes for ~$145.
from www.xpedia.uk.co or www.zonabici.com
They must be Genius 4.Ian
Mar 28, 2002 7:18 PM
The LBS would not be able to order Genius 3's, as Sidi USA does not have those in stock. I would bet Genius 4's are what show up at the LBS.
unless they were old stock on hand from a supplier...Akirasho
Mar 28, 2002 7:27 PM
We abide.

Remain In Light.
re: Ordered SIDI Genius 3 Mega shoes...anybody use them?Alpedhuez55
Mar 29, 2002 7:39 PM
I am happy with mine. I got them last year and will probably buy the Dominator Mega for mountain biking this year too. I have wide feet and they work for me. Carnac and Pearl Izumi also make shoes with wider footbeds.
Good Luck!!!
Mike