RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


HELP it's THe WIFE's Birthday !!!!!!!!!!!(13 posts)

HELP it's THe WIFE's Birthday !!!!!!!!!!!pinarello
Mar 28, 2002 7:41 AM
And I haven't a clue. She got the Mercedes, the big diamond ring, the Omega watch, and the Pinarello. After just about 15 years this challenge has gotten real hard. Or I am just short sighted and can't think of what to get her. I'd rather get her something then get me a insulated Dog house. I'd appreciate any and all ideals. What did you do for you better half. Simple to far fetch. Money, well try to keep it under 200.00 And HEY thanks MCCL
Full day at a SpaDave Hickey
Mar 28, 2002 7:53 AM
$200 will get her a full Spa treatment. I've done it for my wife and she loved it.
ditto. mine keeps begging for more.SteveO
Mar 28, 2002 8:37 AM
Full day at a SpaMikeC
Mar 28, 2002 8:37 AM
This is a great idea.
I did it for my wife...and her mother! The two of them had a great time being "girls" together, and they both thought I was so enlightened...
double edged sword...merckx56
Mar 28, 2002 9:20 AM
mine thought it was the best thing since smooth peanut butter! the only problem is, she goes back all the freaking time! it's really starting to cut into my cycling budget! i keep telling her i can make her a mudbath right out in the yard...
Make a donation in her name...Slipstream
Mar 28, 2002 7:55 AM
Sometimes doing something for someone else and having that individual send a letter of appreciation is worth more than any material thing you could do.

There have been four posts on this board recently that qualify:

c/o muncher for Miranda and Dan
http://forums.consumerreview.com/crforum?14@@.efa1589

c/o Ishmael & Morrison for Brandon
http://forums.consumerreview.com/crforum?13@@.efa098e/49

c/o Slipstream for Al Stern
http://forums.consumerreview.com/crforum?50@@.efa116b/4

c/o Spirito for Spirito
please buy his bike for your wife and hang it on your wall

on second thought, maybe only three qualify...;>)
Make a donation in her name to the Human Fund. nmjaybird
Mar 28, 2002 10:34 AM
marvin gaye on the stereo and some bedroom moves ;-) (nm)Spirito di Finocchio
Mar 28, 2002 1:01 PM
Or Barry White..Just don't dance with a Bud Light ;-) (nm)Dave Hickey
Mar 28, 2002 1:11 PM
www.tiffany.comterry b
Mar 28, 2002 1:18 PM
always works for me - lot's of little silver things for under 200. they come in a nice little blue box that can't be beat. just for kicks I bought my wife a keychain from them (50 bucks) and she still has the little blue box sitting on her dresser. this year I've sprung for the cosmetic mirror (~150) and a heart-shaped pillbox (for all those aspirin, ~150)
My birthday too- So, here's what I would like today...rideslikeagirl
Mar 28, 2002 1:33 PM
You probably won't end up in the dog house unless you blow it off entirely - no card, no flowers, you know.

But you can NEVER go wrong with jewelry. Under $200 won't get ya rocks, but a nice pair of gold earrings will always work.

I would suggest something in a little box (they're always the best), a nice restaurant - and a great touch is to have flowers delivered to the place before you get there and have them waiting at your table when you're seated. Beau-coup points, mister!!

Good luck
Thanks for the Lovepinarello
Mar 28, 2002 3:25 PM
Great reply's and I will probably go with the Spa ticket. This should keep me out of the Dog house. Don't get me wrong I love my Labador but not that much. She is cuddly. Thanks and happy riding. MCCL
Money can't buy it.Ahimsa
Mar 28, 2002 7:58 PM
Try this:

Get a bunch of helium baloons and attach paper hearts to all the strings. On the hearts hand write each of the little things you love about her. (You know, like how she always leaves her sock drawer open, or her laugh...stuff you would miss if she wasn't around)

Now decorate the bedroom or her office or what have you by just letting the ballons loose around the room.

When she walks into a forest of strings with little messages on them I think you will be in for some love.

She should encounter this early in the day if possible.

Follow with a simple dinner out at a restaurant where you can spend three hours talking over courses and wine. Do the whole bit: cocktails, appetizers, salad, main course, sorbet and dessert wine, coffee.

Then home to relax, or dancing, or a play....but no rush...keep it relaxing and easy.

Sometimes the "big plan" is too harried and impersonal. A nice relaxing night and a DYI ethic is a recipe for love.

Cheers!

A. (I dunno, just thought I'd pitch in on a noncycling topic for the hell of it.)