RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Opinions about Litespeed Ultimate...(8 posts)

Opinions about Litespeed Ultimate...davet
Mar 27, 2002 9:21 PM
I would like your views on the Litespeed Ultimate, not 2002 model, but earlier models without the carbon seatstays. Good, bad or indifferent. Neatness counts.
re: Opinions about Litespeed Ultimate...Elefantino
Mar 28, 2002 1:45 AM
Here is what the vox RBR said about the 1999 and 2000 Ultimates.

Should be a good starting point.

FWIW,
Mike
extremely stiff...C-40
Mar 28, 2002 5:13 AM
I had a 55cm '99 model with a LOOK HSC2 fork and only rode it one season (4000 miles). Although it handled nicely, it was the most uncomfortable bike I've ever owned. The front end of the bike, with it's bladed downtube,was particularly unforgiving. I've ridden C'dale aluminum frames that were more comfortable.

I only weigh 135-140. Heavier riders don't seem to object to the stiffness as much.
I am trying to unload mine on Ebay. Too harsh!Pebbles
May 2, 2002 3:22 PM
I am also small (125 lbs.) and felt like this bike hated me. I had a 1998 with a Kestrel carbon fork. I bought a Merlin Road and it's so much more comfortable, it's like night and day. I do think a bigger rider might need a stiffer ride. Mine is 51 cm. and I'm trying to sell it for $2000.
re: Opinions about Litespeed Ultimate...pmf1
Mar 28, 2002 5:15 AM
I've got a 1999 version and really like it. Its the only ti bike I've ever had, so for all I know its the worst one ever made.

People complain that its too stiff, but I've never found it to be that way. I think if you're smaller, it may be a bit rough. It corners very well and would be a great bike to race criteriums. Between the LS and my C-40, its often a toss-up with the C-40 winning a bit more often mainly because its my most recent purchase. I really like my Ultimate and am glad I bought it.

Don't pay retail for LS bikes. You can always find a deal. I got my 1999 model in early 2000 from labicicletta.com for $1600, and that included a Loook HSC2 fork.
re: Opinions about Litespeed Ultimate...husker
Mar 28, 2002 9:04 AM
I have the 2001. It is a wonderful bike. I swear its like cheating compared to the older steel bike I was riding. Mine came with a Reynolds Carbon fork (the comp). The ride is very plush. It is a very good climbing bike, and corners well, too.

Good Luck.
re: Opinions about Litespeed Ultimate...pmf1
Mar 28, 2002 9:18 AM
My only reservation when buying it was that you see so damn many of them. Having something more unique is desirable. I couldn't resist for the price though. I'm one of these people who always buys stuff on sale. I don't regret getting the bike.
re: Opinions about Litespeed Ultimate...Jekyll
Mar 28, 2002 4:00 PM
I think that if you are looking for that "fabled" Ti ride you're probably looking at the wrong bike. I had a slightly used Ultimate (01 with Look CF fork) for almost week to test ride before buying. The bike rides harsh and is rather stiff. On the up side, it would make for a great crit bike. The bike is super quick and stiff as hell. I honestly did not feel that it rode, handled, or accelerated better than my C-Dale (CAAD4), maybe worse on the ride part. If you want a Ti bike that feels like oversized Al and will last (at least in theory) forever this is it.
P.S. I'm not bashing Litespeed. I have one.