RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


abici bikes?(8 posts)

abici bikes?nyedid
Mar 27, 2002 9:20 AM
has anyone had any experience with abici bikes? they seem pretty solid, nice guys on the phone, but i'm curious if anyone has ridden/owns/etc. i'm just getting into cycling but want to buy a really solid bike-- no reason getting something lame, right? i'd appreciate any help/feedback. thanks!
re: abici bikes?agilis ti
Mar 27, 2002 10:41 AM
Have not ridden any of their bikes but have bought a gruppo from them (it was italian so i can say gruppo) and their customer service was excellent. They shipped quick and were willing to swap when I made a mistake.
re: abici bikes? have the starship frameset love itabicirider
Mar 27, 2002 11:20 AM
I bought the starship frameset a few months ago, just gotta off the winter with the fixed gear so I only have about 500 miles on the abici but love it very lite the front end seems to float up the hills very little flex in the bottom bracket or rear triangle. just for your info the starship framesets were built by the Klien factory in Washington State before trek bought klien out. Clarke Metcalf at Abici is agreat guy to deal with Roy Knickman also has interest in the company. I don't think you can go wrong with this line. you can email me at Surly48x16@mindspring.com or abicirider@mindspring.com if you need more info or want to see any pictures hope this helps
Ray Still
North Carolina
re: abici bikes? have the starship frameset love itWoof the dog
Mar 28, 2002 11:41 AM
so, how does it feel to ride a bike that is called "I ride"?

LOLOLOL

Woof the dog.
re: abici bikes? have the starship frameset love ithorseteef
Jul 16, 2002 4:35 PM
Those must be some old frames. Knickman doesn't have any interest in this company. .
re: abici bikes? have the starship frameset love itmaddog clark
Jul 16, 2002 7:26 PM
hey horseteef-
clark metcalfe-principal owner of abici here.

you are wrong on both-starship are not old, and we are coming out with starship 2 soon.

and, roy knickman is aqn investor and interested party-

so, check your fact before you spread rumors, OK?
www.abicibikes.com
re: abici bikes? have the starship frameset love ithorseteef
Jul 17, 2002 4:44 PM
sooooo... if knickman is an investor how come his PA team doesn't use abicis and rides Pinarellos? seem like an investor would want to promote his investment if it is any good.

what is starship 2?
re: abici bikes? have the starship frameset love itmaddog clark
Jul 17, 2002 6:56 PM
Roy, as a matter of fact, rides an Abici XLR8R, blue and white. Roy does not own the PA team, he is the mananger. The sposnorship for PA went to the highest bidder-that being Pinarello. It takes time to build a company's sales to a degree that allows a company to offer sponsorships like that. It has nothing to do with the quality of the investment or the quality of the product. If you ever have any more questions please contact me directly at any time.
We think it is very important that you have accurate information.