RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Who out there rides rollers, and which ones do you ride?(18 posts)

Who out there rides rollers, and which ones do you ride?nigel
Mar 26, 2002 12:54 PM
Hey,

I'm looking to purchase (or maybe have someone else purchase, since my birthday's coming up) some rollers. I know the benefits of them and how enjoyable and interesting they are to ride since I rode them years ago, but I was wondering about today's models and the pluses and minuses of the models available.

Someone recently said that they can practically shoot lightning bolts from their fingertips after riding their PVC rollers. How bad is the statis buildup? Are PVCs quieter than alloy models?

Thanks a heap for the reports!
Nige
Performance Techniquetz
Mar 26, 2002 1:23 PM
I use the above mentioned model for indoor training. These are PVC rollers, but I have no problems with static electricity whatsoever. One bad thing about them is the horrible noise, which can't be eliminated. Also the drums themselves could be better balanced. At high speeds the whole roller setup starts vibrating.
Does anybody out there have their roller drums made of metal? Do they vibrate? Maybe the vibration has to do more with cheap rollers, than with material they are made of. Also, have anyone tried using bald tires on their rollers? I have a strong suspicion that they would run much quieter.
Finally, I prefer using mine with resistance unit attached.
Performance Techniquerobbz27
Mar 26, 2002 1:26 PM
Yeeeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhh......

Bald tires are DEFINITELY going to quiet that ride down a LOT. What are you riding on your rollers?
Thought it was just memr_spin
Mar 26, 2002 4:28 PM
I use the performance rollers, too. They are loud and I get lots of vibration when I get over 25 mph. The vibration is annoying, but as long as you are not riding on a smooth surface, it's no big deal. I rode them once upstairs on my hardwood floors (on newspaper!) and basically floated across the room like one of those silly old electronic vibrating football games. My session ended when the tire hit the wall. There's still a scar there.

The loudness is a pain. I like to spin at 30 mph and I can't hear a TV four feet away! But I really wonder how much quieter other rollers are in comparison.

I used to ride them in my apartment. I knew it annoyed my upstairs neighbors, but I couldn't stand them so I didn't care. They never complained as far as I know. I have my own house now with a basement (yeah!) and nobody complains when I ride down there.
no, the Performance are pretty loudlonefrontranger
Mar 26, 2002 9:04 PM
I had a roommate and several teammates who owned Performance rollers, and yes, they all seem to be pretty loud and bumpy. The upside is that they're affordable, especially when you consider what Kreitlers run.

I got very lucky and scored a set of 1970's Cortinas (Italian rollers with Campy bearings) off a former racer who was the UPS guy for a place I used to work. These are IMO the best rollers that were or might ever be made. Silky smooth, fast and silent. They came with a fork stand and resistance unit that I rarely use, since I have a Cyclops mag trainer for load stuff.

The only noise I ever get from these is a pleasant sort of resonant harmonic at about 25-27 mph - any faster or slower and they're silent. For 30-year-old technology, they're amazingly smooth and have stayed in true for eight years of my riding.

The Cortina rollers are the single piece of equipment I own that I'd rescue in a fire and/or you'd have to pry loose from my cold dead fingers (well, maybe that and the Campy high-flange track hubs on the fixie). Insurance would replace the Colnagos, but that old stuff is irreplaceable.
also have technique with pvc...SteveO
Mar 27, 2002 4:04 AM
though i dont experience a horrible noise...i do get a *little* bit of vibration; not so bad to be annoying though.
re: Who out there rides rollers, and which ones do you ride?robbz27
Mar 26, 2002 1:23 PM
I've been riding the PVC rollers from Cycle-ops over a year and a half and I've never had a static problem. I like them a lot, only wish I had the aluminum ones because I want the higher resistance.

Obviously Kreitler is the big name out there and you can get a lot of add-ons (fork mount, headwind device, more resistance, etc.) However, I'm not familiar with the pricing scale on Kreitlers. I can assume it's competitive ($250-$350 depending on the roller material)

Hope this helps, as I look back I think I just babbled
I could be wrong here, but...nigel
Mar 22, 2002 7:36 AM
I do believe that the diameter of the roller drums makes the difference in resistance, not the metal shell. A smaller drum bends the material in the tire more, creating more resistance. The larger the diameter, the closer to riding on something flat, and the less the resistance load. Hence, a 3-inch drum would provide more resistance than a 5-inch one, and a 2.25-inch drum would provide still more resistance.

I'm considering something in the 3-inch range, by the way, in either PVC or alloy.

Any more users?

Thanks,
Nige
I could be wrong here, but...robbz27
Mar 26, 2002 1:39 PM
Sorry, I forgot to specify that the aluminum roller from Cycle-ops comes w/ the smaller diameter drums. Didn't mean to throw you off there.

I don't know who offers a small diameter PVC drum.

I know Performance always has rollers, but I'm not 100% familiar with their line.
I'll look it up tonight! After over ten years, no idea but...tempeteKerouak
Mar 26, 2002 1:58 PM
I believe it's some italian made metal one, quite heavy and grey and green. It's about all I know about it.

It rolls beautifully after all this time.
I switched from PVC to ALScot_Gore
Mar 26, 2002 2:32 PM
Nigel,

When I decided to try and ride rollers I borrowed a friends 1980's era 8" PVC rollers. After riding them daily for 2 months I purchased a set of Kreitler De-Lytes (3" AL roller).

There were two things I noticed in the switch.
1) The Keitler's were much quieter. I was able to lower the TV by 10 or 15 points on the little volm control thing. I think this had more to do with the 80's era bearings than the roller material. But frankly it was hard to tell if the noise source was the rolling tire or the bearings.

2) The rolling resistance on the Kreitler's was greater. Most of my time on the rollers I'm spending at virtually the same pedal stroke while I'm trying to concentrate on pedaling in circles, balance, and getting myself up to speed aerobically. When I switched over I had to shift down two cogs to an easier gear to get the same level of resistance I'd grown accustomed to on the 8" PVC's

HTH

Scot
Kreitler Challenger with the Killer Headwind!KLM
Mar 26, 2002 3:36 PM
It's the best. Larger drums make for a smoother/quieter ride and the fan gives exponential resistance when wanted. Kreitler has the best customer service and a lifetime gurantee. Never shot any lightening bolts. The drums are aluminum.

Best of luck,
Ken
re: Who out there rides rollers, and which ones do you ride?flying
Mar 26, 2002 3:52 PM
I use the Tacx T1050 folding rollers with the smaller diameter drums.
Great workout 4 nights a week.
Good price at LaBiciletta $99
http://www.labicicletta.com/accessories.html
PVC Kreitlers circa 1985--no static problems nmgtx
Mar 26, 2002 4:32 PM
re: Who out there rides rollers, and which ones do you ride?RayBan
Mar 27, 2002 7:13 AM
I have a set of McClains that are at least 10 years old. The only thing I had to do was replace a snapped belt on the fan attachment. If I ever bought new ones I would get one of the sets with smaller aluminum drums, not that their is anything wrong with the bigger PVC drums I have though since they are still going strong. I've never noticed a static problem, maybe that problem is caused by low grade steel frames who knows;) Mine are on a bare floor in the basement, and I bet thats why I have no static.
Kreitler Poly-lytedjg
Mar 27, 2002 8:19 AM
AL drums--the "poly" bit just has to do with the end-caps. The drums are 3" in diameter--a bit more of a workout than the larger diameter drums.
Kreitler standard (alu). Just got the headwind unit. Jury'sbill
Mar 27, 2002 12:33 PM
out. It certainly allows you to work harder in a lower gear. Little less smooth (may be related to first point). Overall, very satisfied with Kreitler. In retrospect, may have ordered the smaller cylinders, probably the Lyte, possibly the Myte.
OGC (Canada) PVC, no static but my buddie's, yeow ( :- O) nmOutWest
Mar 27, 2002 10:17 PM