RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


How did YOU find out about roadbikereview.com?(25 posts)

How did YOU find out about roadbikereview.com?nigel
Mar 26, 2002 12:47 PM
Greetings,

Though I haven't been able to contribute much as of late, I was a regular (and proud) member of the RBR community for quite some time there (about a year). While scavenging online for information on a new bike I was looking/hoping to purchase (and which I did purchase, thanks in part to the objective and helpful reviews I found here), I came across reviews listed in a Yahoo! search. Once I find out about the site and all that it had to offer, I was hooked.

I'm always noticing new "faces" on the board and I've found myself wondering just how the word spreads about this fine and fun site.

Relay your story about how you first learned of our (not always) humble pack of riders.

Cheers,
Nige
re: How did YOU find out about roadbikereview.com?Woof the dog
Mar 26, 2002 1:01 PM
i have been hanging out at cyclingforum.com and then the word was that this site is up! I think I came by when rbr became separate from mtnbikereview. So, I've been here since day one in the new era of this site.

Since then I've learned a whole lot of information, primarily from this one and cyclingforum. Funny thing is I don't remember most of what I've read but it appears I've developed a sense for what are the right things to do, and what are the wrong ones. Then there are always techie questions that I try to sort through, but I was never big on torques, equations, and various new things that come out every month or so ... after all, a dog like me ain't got the money to try out different products and I have no time to work on old bikes to understand the retro stuff.

I love you guys....uhm, in a friendly sort of way!

hee hee

Woof the dog.
Good questionDave Hickey
Mar 26, 2002 1:04 PM
I've been a member for over a year and I found RBR from the newsgroup, rec.bicycles.tech. Someone mentioned RBR and I've been here ever since.
SimilarLen J
Mar 26, 2002 1:13 PM
I was looking for information on different bikes & did a search. One of the sites that came up was the review section of RBR. I started wandering around the site & got hooked. That was about 2 years ago. I lurked for about 6 or 7 months before I posted.

Its funny how the same core of people seem to go away & then come back.

I also lurk on cyclingforum.com & the tech talk form on velonews.com

Len
re: How did YOU find out about roadbikereview.com?Troyboy
Mar 26, 2002 1:14 PM
I saw this site mentioned at rec.bicycles.marketplace and decided to check it out.
re: How did YOU find out about roadbikereview.com?BikeViking
Mar 26, 2002 1:23 PM
A buddy of mine turned me on to MTBR.com (I go both ways! Ha Ha). As I was more of a "roadie" than him, I just followed the link to this site.

I can't understand the "lurk, then post" syndrome that occured with most of us (I did it too). It's interesting to read other view points on a wide variety of subjects.
re: How did YOU find out about roadbikereview.com?FNG
Mar 26, 2002 1:29 PM
I am a newby to the site...about 3 to 4 months of observation. I found the site because the company I work for sponsors outdoorreview.com and I was out wondering; while on the job obviously!
re: How did YOU find out about roadbikereview.com?DINOSAUR
Mar 26, 2002 1:38 PM
It's been over two years now, hard to believe. I was a frequent poster on the old Bicycling Magazine forum and this site was recommended by several contributors. I came over here and eventually stopped posting on the other one. I've met people here, a few I correspond with via email. I know a lot of guys bailed out over to here from the Bicycling forums, we all changed handles, hard to remember who was who.

I remember the first post I read was from Doug Sloan talking about his wife finding him cutting off the little rubber nubs on his new tires. I thought he was nuts. I tried it a couple months ago, that's hard work!
re: How did YOU find out about roadbikereview.com?cycleguy
Mar 26, 2002 9:32 PM
Must be going on three years plus. Long before the first change. Found this sight about the same time I found Velo. I don't remember how I found this sight. I have a great memory it's just short!
re: How did YOU find out about roadbikereview.com?IAM
Mar 26, 2002 1:40 PM
I was interested in getting a road bike and didn't know enough about them. This site came up one time when I did a search for road bikes, or whatever I typed in that day.I've been here ever since.
I lurked for awhile and finally started posting a couple of questions. I've learned a lot in the last 8 months or so but still don't post that much because there are so many people here with way more experience and knowledge than me.
rubber nudge=nail clipper! I typed bike review in Google !!tempeteKerouak
Mar 26, 2002 1:52 PM
I was checking out bikes/bike parts and searching all sorts of reviews... Found this site...

At first i went through all the pictures posted in the community/event section, then eventually found the discussion boards.

I was chocked and horrified by what I read, so I read some more. Ha ha ha!

Be aware I read most posts! Almost everything!!!!!
MTBRterry b
Mar 26, 2002 2:10 PM
I've been here since this forum was called "Roadies Rejoice" under the umbrella of MTBR.COM. I found MTBR a long ways back during a search for MTB sites. Reading "Roadies Rejoice" was what compelled me to buy my first road bike in 1998 and ultimately (almost) abandon riding my MTBs.
was trying to wean myself away from porn and.....Spirito di Finocchio
Mar 26, 2002 1:55 PM
but seriously...

was checking out some scanner reviews at pcphotoreview.com and saw the link for biciccletti. i must have spent the first 4 months just in the classifieds alone before i happened accross the discussion forums.

one fatefull day i read something that the inimitable and beautifully sardonic Grzy wrote. till then i had never rolled around giggling at words on a screen. i suppose a bit of anonymity has its benefits but i wish i could go for a ride with a lot of the forum members.

was hooked as till then the only chatting i did was on the the phone. since, ive grown to look forward to some the respondees and their words as well, + ive learnt quite a bit along the way. i would have never believed that personalities could come to the fore from 0's and 1's but i am gladly wrong. i especially prefer those with strong opinions and are more than happy to counter somebody in a jovial and humorous voice.

and im sure nige, and a few others here will agree with me that for a long while there since sept. these pages have kept us a little sane and happily distracted with banter and discussion about the pleasantries of 2 wheels. so this forum has a special place for me.

how long have i been here.....well... i can remember a very thoughfull, considerate, well meaning and polite response by Rusty McNasty ;-) (true)

in recent light my only question is....

"Morrison, oh Morrison....wherefore art thou Morrison..?"
It was a year ago ...RoyGBiv
Mar 26, 2002 2:20 PM
Control O; typed Master X-LIght; up popped several sites with that name, including this one.
A great resource.

The cyclist formerly known as Brian C.
I dunno, I'm nearly 50 and have a hard time rememberingMel Erickson
Mar 26, 2002 2:23 PM
BTW, when did RBR first go on line?

I know I bought my Solo through the marketplace and I've had it for a couple of years. Gee, you ask such tough questions?!
I am 50 - I think. Wait, I can't quite rememberMcAndrus
Mar 27, 2002 8:06 AM
I used to watch (lurk) on a discussion group that no longer exists. I can't even remember the name but the group was hosted by an Israeli and it was very, very, very technical.

I was bidding on a MasterLight on eBay and one of their posts led me to RBR's review section. A couple of curiousity driven clicks later and I was here. (I lost the bid, by the way.)

I wonder if it's changed my life for the better? Well, I am 50 now and I can't quite remember what my life was like before .....

By the way - occasionally somebody posts about hitting the Big 3-0 or Big 4-0. Don't sweat it guys, I hit 50 and most of the body parts still work. The only thing that bothers me about it is looking in the mirror and seeing my dad looking back at me.
From day 1 via MBR site (nm)boneman
Mar 26, 2002 2:24 PM
when I decided to buy a road bike...dsc
Mar 26, 2002 3:20 PM
after riding mtb for 10+ yrs., last year the bug to do some long distance road riding re-surfaced. In the process of educating myself about what current technologies were available in the skinny-tire world, I happened upon this site (I had visited mtb review a couple of times before, mostly the product review section.)

I've enjoyed reading and learning from the posters on this board. There are a lot of experienced people here. It's also fun to add to a discussion when I can (and keep my trap shut when I don't have a full understanding of the subject being discussed!)

Cheers,
-Debi
roadies rejoice on mtbr.com nmgtx
Mar 26, 2002 4:33 PM
Yeah, that's right, now I rememberMel Erickson
Mar 27, 2002 10:54 AM
Forgot about Roadies Rejoice. Now, how long was I lurking/posting on that board, hmmm, can somebody else jog my memory?
Don't remember. But it's Kristin's fault I'm still heremr_spin
Mar 26, 2002 4:50 PM
I was not a lurker. Once I found this place I jumped right into the fray. I think my first post was part of this one:

http://forums.consumerreview.com/crforum?14@@.ee9e992

I had to keep coming back after that. I've become a little more mature in my responses since then (although I tried hard to be nice back then--it just got out of hand)!

I still think 13 hours for a century is too long!
re: How did YOU find out about roadbikereview.com?weiwentg
Mar 26, 2002 5:00 PM
my mountain biker friend lurks on MTBR. he knew of RBR. when I got my bike, he told me about it ... and here I am. incidentally, now he's on a road bike himself.
re: How did YOU find out about roadbikereview.com?bianchi boy
Mar 26, 2002 7:48 PM
I first found mtbreview a couple years ago while searching for info on mtn bikes. Can't remember what exactly. I started riding my road bike again about that time, after laying off for a number of years, and followed the links to RBR. Most of my early days here was spent watching the ads (back when they were worth watching) because I was looking for a used bike. Then I discovered the messageboards and started lurking as well as posting newbie questions -- newbie in the sense of an old fart with a 16-year bike with downtube shifters who knew nothing about index shifting, clipless pedals, etc. I've learned a lot here -- more than I could have found out through any books or magazines. I try to return the favor by sharing information with others. Although I'm not too knowledgeable about mechanical issues, I've learned the hard way about a lot of issues related to bike fit and comfort.
MTBreview...and tht was from a friendIcefrk13
Mar 27, 2002 9:04 AM
re: From......... www.mtbr.comjrm
Mar 27, 2002 12:33 PM
And the ol' roadies rejoice board.