RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


New or Used?(18 posts)

New or Used?empacher6seat
Mar 26, 2002 9:42 AM
Alright, in my never ending quest to find my first road bike on budget of $1000 Can. or less, I've encountered the dilema of either buying new or used. Now, new, all the stock bikes (trek 100, Giant ORC2 etc) I've found come with sora components and basic entry level stuff, which the sales people in the store tend to mention briefly then show me some nicer bikes (either because they're pieces of crap, or just because they want my cash :P ), and used of course, I can get better quality frames and components for sometimes cheaper then the new entry level bikes. Where do you think I'll get more bang for my buck?
re: New or Used?Dave Hickey
Mar 26, 2002 9:53 AM
Find a close out on a 2001 bike. At $650US/$1000Can, I don't think you'll find anything better than Sora for a new 2002 bike.
here you goDave Hickey
Mar 26, 2002 9:59 AM
I just went to Supergo.com. Here is a GT with 105 components for $599.00us. They also have Schwinn's

http://www.supergo.com/itemdisplay.asp?compflag=1&parentid=18565&company=GT&secid=7559&subid=7
Second that.look271
Mar 26, 2002 10:24 AM
It is worth your while. Check them out.
re: New or Used?Troyboy
Mar 26, 2002 10:00 AM
I couldn't agree more. It is cheap and easy. I've seen great Specialized and Cervelo closeout models at Supergo for $1199 or so with full Ultegra and decent wheels.
You will ALWAYS get more bang etcscottfree
Mar 26, 2002 10:03 AM
if you buy used -- IF (big if) you're patient and disciplined.

If you're prepared to look for months, and absolutely determined that you WON'T buy until you find a great bike that fits, you can get an amazing bike for dimes on the dollar.

This works best if you already have a ride, of course!
After one month all bikes are used.Slipstream
Mar 26, 2002 10:07 AM
Assuming you can find a great deal & fit for your budget, what would you rather be riding after a month? If you settle for something new but with lower quality, will you be satisfied?

I am one cheap guy and am always looking for the best value. At the same time I enjoy the hunt. A lot of Americans have been trained that new is best; closeouts are sweet; and used is junk. I look for value and sometimes I get lucky. I recently bought a 2001 used C40 for just under $3k that had less than 50 miles on it. I felt I got lucky.

There are some great buys on the RBR classified and eBay. Also, see the post below:

http://forums.consumerreview.com/crforum?14@@.efa1154/6
Used?RayBan
Mar 26, 2002 10:32 AM
With the internet being SO popular, many people find it very easy to ell off their stuff at a savings to YOU. There is no doubt you will get a $aving$ from buying used. Think about it, if somebody is selling a bike that he took great care of, (regardless if it has 3000 miles on it) a bike in great condition is still a bike in great condition so you win!
Used?elviento
Mar 26, 2002 11:16 AM
The above posts all makes sense, but to be fair, you also have to factor risk, warranty, customer service, time spent searching for a good deal, etc. into the equation.

For someone who has little money but lots of spare time, and is familiar with sizing, componenty, installation, and also reasonably good at dealing with a stranger thousands of miles away, buying used is the way to go.

But for someone who lacks the above things or doesn't want to spend the energy to do these things, or simply can afford to buy the additional service, assurance, and convenience, buying used may well mean a nightmare.

To state it more rationally, the risk, labor, and skills involved in buying used also have their value.
Good point !!!!tz
Mar 26, 2002 1:27 PM
Time is the only reason why I bought a cheap, but new bicycle. I don't have much free time, so I would rather pay a couple of bucks more, rather than spend several evenings browsing through classifieds.
Fit factorKEN2
Mar 26, 2002 12:22 PM
No one in this thread has mentioned the usual "fit factor." As a first-time buyer, you should get fitted by a reputable shop. Then of course comes the dilemma of, since they've spent time with me, shouldn't I buy from them?

One way around that is to go to a shop that does the Serotta cycle fit system or Fit-Kit, since there is a charge for doing those. Then you have the right dimensions for you and you don't owe the shop anything further. Still, it can be difficult to purchase online unless those dimensions are spelled out in the same terms (and they usually aren't).

I'm not knocking buying online new or used, but you have to find out what will fit YOU or you've wasted your money.
the best advice of all ...bianchi boy
Mar 26, 2002 7:54 PM
Buying used is a great option. But I agree with Ken totally -- you first need to know what will fit you. A bike that doesn't fit is no bargain, at practically any price. For what you can save buying used, it's well worth your money and time to have a professional fitting done. Then you'll know exactly what to look for and save yourself a lot of hassle and money.
Only buy used if you know bikes...ohio
Mar 26, 2002 1:00 PM
... if you're new to the sport, and aren't that familiar with the bikes, don't buy used. It will be well worth the money to get a proper fit at a shop and have them (and a warranty) there if/when something goes wrong.

Used bikes are a great deal if you know what a good fit feels like, and know how to inspect a frame for cracks/damage/wear, AND know the difference between quality components and chi-chi stuff. If you have a friend who is very into bikes, you can substitue his/her knowledge for your own, but realize that you're asking them to do you a huge favor because you're probably going to look at ~20 bikes before you decide on one.
Very good pointlaffeaux
Mar 26, 2002 2:17 PM
I don't think twice about buying a used MTB, but I've been riding them for years, and I know:
- what's good, and what's not
- what I like, and what I hate
- what parts are incompatable with current standards
- how to replace items, and what it will cost
- what frame measurements are important to me

I'm less comfortable with used road bikes, as I have less time under my belt messing with them.

If you don't know much about bikes, buying used is not always a good idea. If you're not aware of a lot of biking issues you might buy a bike without really understanding what you're getting.
re: New or Used?empacher6seat
Mar 26, 2002 7:19 PM
Wow, thanks for the help everyone! This board rocks, I must say. I don't know if anyone has been following my posts, but I've been searching for my first road bike for months now, and no matter how stupid my questions are I always get terrific advice and plenty of different opinions and options. I've learned a lot from reading all the posts!

I'll let you guys know when I finally find a bike!
Just remember this ...Spoke Wrench
Mar 27, 2002 6:12 AM
Every day that you let pass before you buy your new bike is a day that you could be riding and having fun and a day that you can never get back.
Just remember this ...empacher6seat
Mar 27, 2002 1:42 PM
Every dollar extra I spend that I don't need to is more time I'll have to spend inside working so I can go to school again next year :P.
re: New or Used?mackgoo
Mar 27, 2002 10:57 PM
The last two bikes/ frame sets I've bought have been used. Don't regret it a bit. I feel you get more bike for your money.