RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


for Spirito de finocchio(8 posts)

for Spirito de finocchiogregg
Mar 25, 2002 7:17 PM
...I'm pretty sure you wouldn't see my response seeing as how the original post is 5 days old (an eternity on the internet).

It was in regards to your post here:
http://forums.consumerreview.com/crforum?14@@.efa093f/14

Please see my response.

-gregg

(Oh, I realize that I do have a profile page up on MtbREVIEW but not on RoadbikeREVIEW, I will put one up when I get the chance. You asked what kind of cyclist I am, I am the kind that enters a race without training and end up waay back in the pack at the Sea Otter Roadrace this past weekend(Senior 5 Road Race).

I prefer metrics and centuries nowadays, I am doing the Tierrabella Metric in Gilroy, CA and the Primavera Century in Fremont, CA next month. I ride a mass-produced made in Taiwan Giant TCR with Dura-Ace gruppo, double crank, 12-23. I am lookin' forward to getting a custom steel Sycip road bike later this year. I try to split my time evenly between road and mtn. Thanks for asking.)
Gregg, unrelated but....loop
Mar 25, 2002 8:04 PM
Sycip....

Very nice indeed. A fine Cali framer IMveryHO. I thought long and hard about them but went with Dean in the end. You will be pleased I'm sure. Please keep up informed about your prgress/build with the new rig.

And for Spirito...your posts are well-thought-out and quite educational. Thank you, please keep it up (and Jtolleson, Elephantino, tempete, SpokeWrench, Akira, Anvil, TJeanloz and many others).

Ride safely and have fun,
Scott
our graphic designer got one....gregg
Mar 26, 2002 9:36 AM
...not custom, but still nice. A Pave with Ultegra. Nice bike, simple lines. Sorry to see them move even farther away from us here in the SF-SJ Bay Area. Have talked with Jeremy and Jay at the races and events, nice guys.

I'll keep you posted, but the "Boss" will probably make me wait till July or so :-(

-g
5 days is a long time....Spirito di Finocchio
Mar 25, 2002 10:01 PM
to be honest, i cant exactly remember what got into me that day and got me going but my ill stand by my words.

i have always dug this site but i really feel it can offer a lot more to its users whilst still being a valid commercial venture. why stop at leaving this site to be one of many when it could be the premier site for all cyclists and offer a whole host of resources and information for beginners to seasoned enthusiasts.

may sound like a lot of effort but the rewards and merits are both beneficial to us and the site hosts. otherwise RBR.com will be the bicycling magazine of the web - glossy, shallow, devoid of any real voice, and just a catalogue with some creative copy.

is it bad to want for better? or maybe with regards to a cycling site i, like Bono, "still haven't found what im looking for".
5 days is a long time....nigel
Mar 26, 2002 9:14 AM
Isn't Sonny Bono dead? He's not looking for anything these days, I'm afraid.

;)

Hey: how's the sale going, o naff one?

Nige
at least he got to sort out Cher whilst she was real ;-)Spirito di Finocchio
Mar 26, 2002 12:02 PM
sale's a pain. but who knows....

if anyone's lookin' - buy all this

http://classifieds.consumerreview.com/cgi-bin/classifieds/classifieds.pl?db=Road&website=&language=&session_key=3c978cb9d2f1d2d1&search_and_display_db_button=on&db_id=21679&results_format=long&query=retrieval&exact_match=on
fair 'nough....gregg
Mar 26, 2002 9:41 AM
...and to be honest, I couldn't agree with you more. There is SOOO much potential with this site, it pains me to see how little time I can afford to spend on this site, compared to that "other" site. I dream of the day when ConsumerREVIEW is big enough to dedicate a Site Manager solely to RoadbikeREVIEW, instead of having one guy trying to run two sites effectively. Really, it just ain't possible for one person.

I have some great ideas for the site, that I know will most likely never happen.

-gregg
(oh, don't worry about us growing into on online version of bicycling magazine. I can guarantee that that will not happen.)
ask the forum members for a little helpSpirito di Finocchio
Mar 26, 2002 12:42 PM
there is plenty of people here with both wisdom and knowledge that could spare a little time and be able to compile some info and data for ya.

between a handfull of people the task is a little easier and all you would have to do is edit, html, format etc etc.

or let us know to whom to forward requests for a dedicated site-manager so that this site can realise its potential.

im sure it aint easy but we are all ears and im sure we could offer a hand.