RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Thinking about aerobars. . .(10 posts)

Thinking about aerobars. . .js5280
Mar 25, 2002 4:16 PM
Had a great warm day here in Colorado this past Saturday but there was a wee bit of a headwind on the way home which got me thinking about aerobars. I would say at least 60-80% of my rides are solo and we frequently get nasty winds here so it's a nice option to have. Plus I plan to do some tri's this year so they'd come in handy then too.

Generally I don't think I'll keep them on, that is, I'd install them only when anticipating a very windy day or doing a tri, so ease of installing/uninstalling is important.

I like the Syntace C2 for their light weight and good reviews but the fact your can't get to the tops concerns me since we do have hills and mountains in CO. My next choice is the AirStryke 2000 which have the flip-up rest so you can get to the tops. The reviews are generally very good and the only downside is it's about 200 grams heavier than the Syntace.

Any others I should be looking at? What are people's experience w/ these aerobars, particularly w/ installing/uninstalling. I'm leaning heavily to the Airstryke because of the flip-up rests, getting to the tops seems like a very important factor. I can give up the 200 grams easier since it's not going to be the difference between making the podium or not in my case. Thanks in advance for your input. . .
re: Thinking about aerobars. . .HENRY K
Mar 25, 2002 4:22 PM
I USE THE AIRSTRYKE 2000s AND LOVE THEM. I DO TAKE THEM OFF & PUT THEM ON ON OCCASION.
re: adjustabilitycyclopathic
Mar 25, 2002 5:14 PM
Syntace comes in 3 sizes and if you can't get the reach you'd need you're screwed. Airstrykes give infinite adjustability, plus flip ups are nice for sit-'n-spin climbing.

Good fit = better power output + comfort + less aerodrag and it more then compensates for weight IMHO

With respect to taking bars off and putting on I've given up just keep them 24/7 on both bikes, too much trouble. This is unfortunately true for all brands :(. Besides tHey're legal in ultra events and I don't do Crits or RR.
re: Thinking about aerobars. . .harlett
Mar 25, 2002 11:29 PM
the profiles give you your extra hand position so go with them--
you may already know this but just in case.
a couple of fit things you may want to consider when you start using the aerobars--
you may want to adjust your saddle or stem height to open up the angle between your legs and torso and then your saddle a little forward to be comfortable and relaxed in the new stretched out position-- you may want to experiment with the width of your pads to deal with opening your breathing-- if you have your pads 3 to 5 cm's lower than your seat, too narrow a width can also cause you back pain on long rides (think about your thighs drafting your arms)--

this article has some info on aerobars, positioning and consequences:
nontraumatic injuries in long distance bicyclists: weiss b.d.
am j sports med may-jun;13(3):187-92
www.speedbars.com (NM)longfellow68
Mar 26, 2002 3:37 AM
nm
thoughts...SteveO
Mar 26, 2002 4:43 AM
although you cant get to the tops of the C2, the forearm pads are ergonomic and can be ridden like tops (though about 2 inches higher than the tops). You can still reach the bends just fine.

if youre using this for road riding (not TT/tri positioning) id get the 'small' size syntace (unless youre already 'small', in which case, even they'll be too long), or something with forward/rearward adjustability, otherwise, your torso angle will be too acute. unless your a yogaist (nice word) this will probably be uncomfortable, and affect optimal breathing.
re: Thinking about aerobars. . .Chen2
Mar 26, 2002 7:15 AM
I just switched from the Profile Airstrykes with flip-ups to the Syntace C2's, and at the same time switched from threaded to unthreaded fork. Couldn't get comfortable with the lower position with the Syntace set-up so I ordered the Syntace lift kit. Now I'm comfortable on the bars and can use the tops of the handlebar under the arm rests while on the saddle, but not while off the saddle. The lift kit raises the C2's a full inch.
~Al
AirStrykeMiklos
Mar 26, 2002 7:43 AM
I am also a mainly solo rider, who also like to work in some hills. The hills and the need to use the tops led me to the AirStryke 2000. Once I got used to them, I love them. It did take me a couple of rides to get comfortable in them and now I cant imagine riding without them. Initailly I thought I would be taking them off and on, but they have been on since the initial installation two seasons ago.

They are like cheating in the headwinds.

Miklos
Got the AirStyrkes. . .js5280
Mar 26, 2002 1:11 PM
Fought the weight weenie urge and got the Airstrykes today. Thanks for everyone's input! Wish I were riding now, great day in Boulder and should be for most of the week. Might have to post an aerobar update if I have any fun stories on learning to use them. . .
re: Got the AirStyrkes. . .cyclopathic
Mar 26, 2002 8:04 PM
after you adjust armrests you might wanna loctite armrest bolts they get loose sometimes
.. and to fulfill your weight weenie urge cut unused part at the back and the ends of the flip-up arms =)