RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


A wonderful dilema(8 posts)

A wonderful dilemaJohn445
Mar 25, 2002 6:40 AM
Hi All

I have been riding a Trek 5500, Ultegra equipped for 10 years. I love the ride but am ready to try some other steeds. This weekend I test rode a Giant TCR 0, and a Specialized S works Festina bike. I have always been a shimano man but the Record on the Festina bike felt more solid, although the shifting would take time to get used to. I have also ridden Klein, Cannondale, and Raleigh.

I generally do long (50 mile) rides and value ride quality. The small frame aluminum bikes had a much harsher ride, I could feel the texture of the road thru the bike. I expected the trade off to be more acceleration and speed. The results were better acceleration but it appeared to take more power to sustain speeds over 20mph. Maybe the conventionally spoked wheels? (On the TCR 1 I rode for our Sun 45miler).

Both the TCR and the Specialized are sweet deals with top of line Dura Ace or Campy and Ksyrium wheelsets for under 3,000.00. My third option here is to upgrade my bars, stem, seatpost, wheelset, and components on my bike. Even though the cost would be close to a whole new bike, or maybe even more, if the result is the perfect road bike (for me) it would be worth it. Keep in mind my current 5500 frameset is 10 years old. Should I put that much money into a 10 year old frame.

Any input would be appreciated.

John
re: A wonderful dilemaCrankist
Mar 25, 2002 6:52 AM
You could upgrade all components on your old frame and try it for a while. If you decide that it ain't
gettin' it, buy a new frame only. This route would run you more than a few bucks extra, but you'd
have options, including a custom-built frame.
Mike
what I did...DINOSAUR
Mar 25, 2002 7:04 AM
Opinions are like you-know-what's, but if you have the cash on hand and the opportunity to buy a new bike, why not add another one to your collection? It's nice to own more than one bike. As far as you choice, go with what you like. When you start asking for opinions on bikes, your'e apt to get a bunch of conflicting opinions based on what other people like and you might end up more confused then when you first started. For me, I went with my first instinct.

I recently went though the same odeal and opted to buy a new bike rather than build up my three year old Klein. I can rebuild my Klein slowly, finding stuff on sale, and have the best of two worlds...

Good luck,
Dino
re: A wonderful dilematarwheel
Mar 25, 2002 7:23 AM
I agree with Dino about just getting a new bike and keeping the Trek as a backup. I got a new bike last year and initially planned to sell my old one. Instead I kept it, and it was a good decision. It's really nice having a backup to ride when your main ride is in the shop, the weather is bad, or you want another bike to loan someone (like a visiting friend or relative).

If you value ride comfort and quality, and prefer longer rides, I would think long and hard before buying an aluminum bike. I know many people claim that the new aluminum bikes ride as well as other materials, it's just the frame design, etc. I say that's bull. If you noticed the difference in a brief test ride, how do you think it will feel after 50-100 miles? You can buy light steel and ti frames now that only weigh a pound more than aluminum. Is 1 lb. that important to you? I went from a comfortable, old, heavy steel frame to a new, light, stiff aluminum one -- and that experiment lasted 6 months. The road buzz, not that noticeable at first, gradually began to drive me crazy. I'm back to steel again, and you will never convince me that aluminum rides as well.
re: A wonderful dilemapmf1
Mar 25, 2002 7:41 AM
If what you have on the 5500 works, my vote would be for a second bike. Keep the 5500 for commuting, or as a reserve if the aluminium bike breaks or gets crashed. Get something different than what you have like titanium or steel. I've never been a fan of aluminium bikes, but I guess that's different too.
re: A wonderful dilemagtx
Mar 25, 2002 7:45 AM
I would a) keep your old bike and b) keep looking at new bikes. There are lots of great options in your price range. See if you can test ride some steel and ti bikes--like maybe a Litespeed Tuscany or an IF Crown Jewel. You might consider putting more into the frame and less into the componets--for example a high end steel frame with Campy Chorus (steel has come a long way in the last 10 or so years--you might be surprised!). Good luck.
re: imhodzrider
Mar 25, 2002 8:57 AM
The only reasons for upgrading an old bike is that you love it and want to ride it for a very long time or you have parts lying around and the cost is negligible. Otherwise you may as will spring for a new ride. With a useful bike on hand, I'd look around til I found the 'perfect road bike' rather than bargain hunt unless the perfect bike has to be a bargain.
re: A wonderful dilemaJohn445
Mar 26, 2002 6:18 AM
Thanks for the replys. The input has helped my decision making process. Thinking of getting the Specialized Sworks Festina bike and adding a carbon seat post and bar to take some of the buzz out of the ride. I will keep my 5500 and if I find I cannot adapt to the s works I will switch the components.

Thanks again
John