RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


speedplays: too much of a good thing?(9 posts)

speedplays: too much of a good thing?tarwheel
Mar 25, 2002 6:03 AM
I recently bought some Speedplay X-2 pedals, after hearing many rave reviews. I had been using Look pedals successfully since last summer but the squeaks were driving me crazy. I've been using the Speeds now for about 2 weeks, 300 miles. They are the easiest pedal to clip in and out from that I have used. They are very light weight. They ride nice, and they're quiet. But ..... my knees are starting to bother me. I have never had knee problems, even when I was a runner. I don't believe I have injured my knees yet, but I am definitely feeling some discomfort that began soon as after switching to the Speeds. Have other people had knee problems using Speeds? Is this perhaps caused by not having the cleat adjusted right (front to back or side to side)? Could the Speeds just have too much float for some people? I find this rather ironic because Speeds are frequently touted as the solution to people with knee problems. I've never had knee problems but they don't seem to agree with mine. Any advice?
Did you lower your saddle when you switched?cyclinseth
Mar 25, 2002 6:09 AM
Speedplays have a slightly shorter stack-hieght than Look. If you're experiencing pain in the back of your knee try lowering your saddle about 5mm.
re: speedplays: too much of a good thing?Elefantino
Mar 25, 2002 6:15 AM
I agree on saddle height. You need to measure the difference. It's the most common Speedplay mistake/oversight by new owners, It think.

Also, as with any new pedal, it's important that you refit your feet fore and aft. (The plumb bob method works best.) If that measurement is off, that could also cause knee pain.

Finally, give Speedplay a call. Their customer service is the best. They might have a solution for you.

FWIW,
Mike
how often and much can you move the seat up or downishmael
Mar 25, 2002 2:42 PM
i think it was something like half a cm every 2 weeks but i dont remember.
re: possible solutionstarwheel
Mar 25, 2002 6:38 AM
I did lower my saddle about 1 cm, which is actually one of the reasons why I got the Speeds, to decrease my seat to handlebar differential. However, I did not recheck my knee-over-spindle position, which could the problem. I'm hoping it's just an adjustment issue because I like the pedals, but I sure don't want to mess up my knees. For the record, I do prefer the platform size on the Looks. Speedplay says that the size of the cleat is what matters, not the platform, but the Looks definitely feel more stable and supportive.
Saddle heightNessism
Mar 25, 2002 7:49 AM
If you lowered the saddle height 1 cm, this may be too much. The difference in stack height is not that much in most cases. Regarding the pain in general, check the fore/aft positioning as the others have mentioned and give the pedals a little time. I doubt the float is causing the problem unless your feet are moving all over the place - are your shoes striking the frames chainstays?

Good luck.
Saddle heightTig
Mar 25, 2002 12:28 PM
I expected that I'd need to lower my saddle height, but after setting up the cleats to put me in my favorite position, I ended up not touching saddle height at all.

Occasionally concentrating on keeping my heels in line with the crank's circle plane is all it took to alleviate the too loose feeling from the pedal's float. That's a little harder when getting out of the saddle to sprint though.
Speedplay Zero'skilofoxtrot
Mar 25, 2002 7:47 AM
Choice of fixed or limited float that can be precisely micro-adjusted anywhere within a 0-15 degree range using inward rotation and outward rotation limit screws. I have a pair and would tend to agree that there is too much float for my taste, but I just dialed them down too what I felt was comfortable. They work for me!
re: speedplays: too much of a good thing?Chen2
Mar 25, 2002 7:52 AM
My guess is that you need to raise your saddle back up.
~Al