RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Attn. "binladen".........(21 posts)

Attn. "binladen".........quadzilla1
Mar 23, 2002 6:26 PM
...Whoever you are. Did you lose any family or friends in the 9/11 attack ? I did. I find great offense that you insist on using this handle. I'm not trying to "flame" you or anything, but it's to the point where I cringe whenever I see your handle posted for the same reason I don't even listen to the news anymore. It's a shame that someone who loves this sport as much as I do could be so insensitive. I'm sure I'm not the only person on this board that was directly affected by 9/11. How about the 4 year old little girl on one of the planes that was crashed into the towers? Do YOU have children? I do. A 4 year old little girl. Look into a child's eyes sometime,and imagine for just a moment, what a horrific thing she had to endure, along with so many thousands of others.

Yes, I know this is a "cycling" board, so my apologies to the others.

All I am asking is that you chose another "handle", out of not only our (the boards') respect, but also out of all of our fallen Americans.
I agree. Thank you for your post!Slipstream
Mar 23, 2002 7:25 PM
I also lost friends during 911, one of whom was aboard the first plane to hit the Trade Center. I also have friends who are in Afghanistan right now.

Terrorists & their sleeper cells are ultimate cowards. And we will be dealing with them for a long time.

Binladen, I cringe whenever I see your handle. I don't know what your purpose is, but is simply not acceptable. If you continue to use it I will not read nor reply to any of your posts. You are a pariah and should be wholly ostracized by everyone on this board.

This is not a flame: you need to accept some responsibility.

Quadzilla1, thanks for expressing your feelings
re: Attn. "binladen".........Avanti Guy
Mar 23, 2002 7:30 PM
Americans are always the first to jump up and down if they think someones right to free speech is taken away from them, untill of course it is the americans themselves who are offended.
I dont agree with his handle nor do I condone it, but it is his right to be an incensitive prat.
I agree....quadzilla1
Mar 23, 2002 8:17 PM
I agree that it's his right to use what ever handle he wishes. I just wanted him to know what i feel in my heart everytime I see that name & what emotions are sparked inside of me.

I remember that morning, sitting on my family room floor eating breakfast & doing a puzzle with my oldest (the 4 year old) & watched what was happening. I grabbed my daughter after the plane crash in Pittsburg & I was holding on to her so tightly, not realizing it. She looked up at me and said "daddy! you're hurting me...why are you crying ?"

All I ask is that he/she have more sensitivity to those who have lost so much. I also would never ask the site manager to prevent him from logging on. even under that name. This IS America. God bless.
Gregg: This isn't a First Amendment issueElefantino
Mar 23, 2002 7:41 PM
I agree with quadzilla. However, I am enough of a cynic to know that some people crave attention, even the kind derived from negativity, and won't change their behavior even when asked.

He may change his screen name. But he may not.

Can you take matters into your own hands? Zap his logon? I understand the Pandora's box that it may open, but there is nothing that says he/she/it is immune to censure.

No need to answer. Like quad and others, I like this board and don't want to see it derailed by this kind.

Mike
re: Attn. "binladen".........Andor
Mar 23, 2002 7:49 PM
I agree he has a right to call himself whatever he wants. Afterall he may agree with the cowardly acts of 9-11. He has the right to his opinion, even though ours may greatly differ. But I sure would love to see him riding around with a binladen jersey or something like that on... I would give him the best 'fit' to his bike that he'd ever get in his life!
Is that Bin Laden as in Outlaw or Rebel?guido
Mar 23, 2002 8:02 PM
One must respect the feelings of others. Perhaps, Mr. Bin Laden, you could enlighten us on the reasoning for your choice of that moniker?
Touchybinladen
Mar 23, 2002 8:13 PM
If my handle is Lincoln or Kennedy or Martin Luther King or Britney Spears, will you show more respect than if I use the names Mike or Jim?

No. Now why the big deal if I use a bad guy's name as my handle?

This shows how irrational Yanks are. For example, the family of each fire fighter who died in the attack is getting $1.5 million. The family of fire fighters who died while saving lives in a non-9.11 fire is getting a fraction of that, which I think is grossly unfair.

For the record, I am against Terrorism. And out of courtesy, I will use a different handle, if that makes you all happy. Also I will no longer respond to messages about my handle. Afterall this is not handlereview.com.
Dude?????quadzilla1
Mar 23, 2002 8:32 PM
You don't get it do you?

How is this about money? I invite you to come to my house. We'll go meet the family of my college roommate who was "murdered". We'll meet his parents, his 5 sisters and his wife of 7 years. You look HER in the eyes & tell her that you call yourself "binladen". Look me in the eye, and tell me that I'm an "irrational Yank". He was the ONE person who was able to get me off drugs & into cycling. If it wasn't for him, I certainly would be dead.

This isn't about us having respect for YOU. It's about YOU having respect for US.
its overishmael
Mar 23, 2002 9:10 PM
he said he'd change the name...this is a kindness he is doing for you and others...give it a rest...
a kindness,,,,,,,,,LOL :(bic
Mar 24, 2002 6:45 PM
Agreecyclopathic
Mar 24, 2002 12:45 AM
NOt that I object "freedom of speech" or have anyone close kill in attack.

Whomever you are drop that moniker. People hate you just of that and it doesn't really matter what you post I do not read it.

This is cycling board it is not the place to make political stand (if that's your goal). There're other newsgroups and boards full of people ready to pay tribute to your "views".
I am tired of this you yanks crap...koala
Mar 24, 2002 4:51 AM
We are a diverse nation that has your nationality inside its borders. Stop generalizing that we are all oversensitive babies. Anybody that takes the handle binladen has to have issues relating but who cares, call yourself it if you want to.
then don't stick your nose in it nmcyclopathic
Mar 24, 2002 5:18 AM
O.K. your highness n.m.koala
Mar 24, 2002 8:01 AM
great.. can we go back to bikes now? nmcyclopathic
Mar 24, 2002 8:10 AM
what happened to the "non-cycling related issues" board? nmdustin73
Mar 24, 2002 10:43 AM
re: Attn. "binladen".........tempeteKerouak
Mar 24, 2002 11:50 AM
I am sorry but I have to disagree with you.
I am sorry you lost someone. I am sorry innocent pay for senseless actions of stupid adults.

But I cannot relate to your call on this. I have my reasons of principles. Explaining them will not resolve this issue, and will not change your opinion. There is no right or wrong about this.
On the other hande, as objective as I would like to be; There are also a lot of people called Oussama or Bin Laden on this planet, and they are not bad for it. I have never read anything provocative or even remotely suggesting politics or opinion from the user of this handle.

It is probably harder for you. But you should be more open minded on this, "out of not only our (the boards') respect, but also out of all of our fallen (people)".
i.e NOT ONLY AMERICANS btw. If you want the world to share you pain, don't make the pain yours only.

Please accept my honesty, as I am truly saddened by your experience.
merci [nm]Velocipedio
Mar 24, 2002 5:10 PM
I AgreeAyatollah Khomeni
Mar 24, 2002 4:01 PM
Bin Ladin must go. I hope both off this board and also by the United States military.
I agree, but ...pmf1
Mar 25, 2002 5:21 AM
Its a free country and if this idiot wants to refer to himself as BinLaden, AdolfHitler or JosephStalin, he should be able to do so. If he wants to burn the American flag, he should be anble to do that too. I'm with you in shaking a finger at him and saying "shame on you". He's probably just some kid who doesn't know better. I'd bet after your post, we never see him (or at least the handle) again.