RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Where to rent bikes in Davis(14 posts)

Where to rent bikes in DavisKristin
Mar 22, 2002 2:03 PM
Any good bike shops in the Davis, CA area? I don't supose there is a chance of renting road bikes anywhere. Also what about good routes in the area? I could bring Bernardo, but would have to buy him a triple first.

Is it a bad idea to drop a new boy~friend on a ride? Even if you wait for him at the top of hills, and find a special spot to rest at?
A triple?!?!?!?!?!?!Troyboy
Mar 22, 2002 2:19 PM
My god girl, what are you smokin'?

Drop him, it'll be good for him!
Aren't there mountains out there?Kristin
Mar 22, 2002 2:23 PM
Geez, I can barely make it up a Chicago sized hill in 39x22! (Obviously my comment about dropping anyone was intended to inspire laughter.) Though he hasn't ridden in years, I probably have a teensy advantage.
Aren't there mountains out there?Troyboy
Mar 22, 2002 2:32 PM
Oh yeah. Lots. I've never ever seen a mountain road that couldn't be pedaled with a 39 x 23 or 25. If you're really worried which you shouldn't be, get a 27. Triple? LOL
Davis is flat farmland...Brooks
Mar 22, 2002 2:38 PM
but lots of rolling hills within a short drive (longer ride). Head Dinosaur's way in the Sierra foothills if you really want to drop him ;-0
re: Where to rent bikes in DavisDINOSAUR
Mar 22, 2002 3:29 PM
Davis is down the hill about 100 miles from where I live. It is a very big cycling community, you should have no problems finding a place to rent a bike. You might try a search for bikes shops in the Davis area. And it is flat farm land, it's been decades since I cycled down there. If you want to head east into the foothills, the Auburn Bike Shop rents mountain Bikes and there are some excellent places for riding MB's (I'm strickly a roadie).

When are you coming? Spring weather usually brings a lot of rain, although they are forecasting a warm, dry spring. If you want to do some road biking, let me know, I'm old and slow, and my rides are usually in the 2-3 hour range. Although I'm awaiting the arrival of my new stead, a Colnago Master X-Light, if Ernesto ever gets off his butt and makes it. I'm hoping the fit of my new ride will make me want to ride more. Even old guys make bonehead mistakes and buy bikes that don't fit.

Back to Davis, the bike shops will help you with ride routes and I'm sure they have maps.

Only girly-men use triples up here in the foothills. I use a 12-27 and use a lot of that 27 gear.
Thanks for the adviceKristin
Mar 25, 2002 7:05 AM
I don't want to be a girly-man...or a manly girl, for that matter. In any regard, I'm glad to hear that I can survive with 12-27. That's much easier than a triple. And I think California will suit Bernardo just fine! I have $80 in airfare left over, just enough to buy him a seat.

Tenatively, I'm going to be there from 5/18-5/26. I will have just missed spring. :-( But hopefully there won't be as much rain. (I'm dying to see the redwoods.) I'm totally up for a ride with a famous boardie like yourself--I'll give a shout back as my schedule takes form. I haven't been on the bike in 2 solid months. Getting back is gonna hurt.
Thanks for the adviceDINOSAUR
Mar 25, 2002 3:58 PM
Weather in May should be great. Rainy season is usually March-April. However the weather is so weird this year you don't know what to expect. Today I was in a short sleeve jersey with no leg warmers, a week ago Monday there was snow on the ground, which we don't see much of at this elevation (1500-2500 ft.) Glad you are sticking with cycling...
Dino
Grzy might know thisTroyboy
Mar 22, 2002 4:42 PM
What's the name of that map of cycling routes in NoCal? Named after some guy I think. I got one last time up and promptly lost it. They're likely available in all the shops up there.
Got it. Krebs map. nm.Troyboy
Mar 22, 2002 4:45 PM
Davis Bike ClubDINOSAUR
Mar 22, 2002 5:12 PM
I should have thought of this. Davis has a very large cycling club http://www.davisbikeclub.org/

You can email them and ask them questions, they are good about repsonding back. They published one of my corny poems in their newsletter a couple years back.

These are the folks that can answer any question you might have. You might be able to tag up with them on one of their weekend rides...lots of lady riders...(nice ones too)
speaking of Davis Bike Club rides..cyclopathic
Mar 22, 2002 10:23 PM
I've heard there were some good grades on Gold Rush last year (the route was via Jarbo/Antelope/Adin passes) how steep they are?
here's the link to GRR page http://www.davisbikeclub.org/goldrush/
re: Where to rent bikes in Davisgranda
Mar 22, 2002 8:23 PM
Triple in Davis? Haha. I grew up there and still have family there. Everytime I take my bike I'm glad I have a 54 up front.

Every shop I've been to in Davis I've had good and bad experiences, but I think the one that has the nicest bikes (especially road) now is Wheelworks on 3rd and I think F streets downtown. Have no idea if they rent. You can also check out frewheeler (1 block south) B&L is around the corner on 3rd. Ken's Bike and Ski is on G street. To tell you the truth Davis is somewhat disappointing in terms of their shops, I know a lot of people like to ride, but you won't find huge selection or particuarly nice stuff. You should head to sacramento for that.

As far as rides go you can pretty much take any street out of town, it won't take long :) But I still like the american river bike trail in sacramento because it has no traffic and gives you the idea that you're far away from a city. Plus you could probably find some places that rent around there (I'm thinking around Sunrise in Rancho Cordova).

David
re: Where to rent bikes in Davisbic
Mar 23, 2002 12:21 AM
When you coming and how long are you going to be in Davis? What size bike do you need? Give me a few days and I can give you the name of a shop or maybe even find one from a friend. Even one for your boy-friend. For Davis or Sac. you won't need a triple even if you have not ridden much this year. bicyclbill@aol.com