RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


gimmick or not?(32 posts)

gimmick or not?gregg
Mar 21, 2002 3:45 PM
As manager of this site, I am often asked to add products to the site that are well....of kinda suspect nature. What I mean is, some products are really off the wall, and some are legit. But occasionally it is hard to tell the difference between the two. I have perused this site:

http://www.reevu.com

on a community members recomendation. What do you guys think? Is it for real? It is a helmet with a built in rear view mirror:



And here is what you are supposed to see while wearing it:
notRideLots
Mar 21, 2002 3:58 PM
I like it. I'd give it a try.

Doug
optical illusions!mr_spin
Mar 21, 2002 4:00 PM
Wow! It makes it look like you are riding on the wrong side of the road!

This seems like an idea with good intentions, but I doubt it will fly. The helmet needs more vents, for one thing.
re: gimmick or not?Bigburlymtnman
Mar 21, 2002 4:04 PM
I'd probably give it a try. But like mrspin said, it needs more vents. Give them a year or two to get the bugs out then I'll go check one out.

chardin
Wait and see...Me Dot Org
Mar 21, 2002 4:06 PM
The site says the helmet with available in the U.K. in May. I'd wait and see if some of the English Cycling Mags pick up on it.

I like the idea...but like many good ideas, the first execution may not be up to snuff.
I can see the possiblitiesLimpy Gal
Mar 21, 2002 4:18 PM
Especially for urban riders, but it appears to lack the vents that would make for comfort in the warmer regions. Would be nice for spotting those quiet quality autos that creep up to your rear-end and then suddenly roar passed you. LG
as a rangefinder camera junkie im inclined to say yes..Spirito di Finocchio
Mar 21, 2002 4:22 PM
but it just looks ugly and cumbersome and cheap geeky so i cant say im keen. i see they were inspired by old reruns of buck rogers and battlestar gallactica. is everyone blind to design purism and simple lines and colors??? but fitting mirrors in their i imagine is a bit tricky.

im still trying to perfect my action man rolls so i can put on the old cinelli hairnet and feel safe.

(am i allowed to call it a hairnet even though i have less hair than Pantani??)
re: gimmick or not?DINOSAUR
Mar 21, 2002 4:32 PM
No vents, during the summer you would sweat buckets, mirror would probably fog up.....but it's a start.
Great idea but poorly executedAhimsa
Mar 21, 2002 4:35 PM
Optically (if the website is to be believed) it sounds great, but it has problems.

Others have mentioned venting issues, and I agree to an extent.

Mostly though I think it is much too "lumpy" to be approved by any group like BHSI. That periscope thing on the top would become a major snag point liability in an accident. Likely to rip the helmet right off or break your neck.

I'll stick with over the shoulder glancing and maybe a glasses mirror for now.

Cheers!

A. (In the design biz and therefore critical as hell.)
Tragically, I'm probably old enough to appreciate it...cory
Mar 21, 2002 4:51 PM
I've been using a mirror for my commute and "traffic" rides for a year or so, and they grow on you. The older I get, the harder it is to get my head around and really look back. Assuming it was comfortable and the mirror really looked where I wanted to see, I'd give it serious thought, at least.
I'd like to try just the visor piece...dsc
Mar 21, 2002 5:49 PM
it would be cool if you could just install the visor/mirror section on the helmet of your choice. That would eliminate the (lack of) vents problem. I ride with a visor anyhow(are those the fashion police that I hear gasping?); keeps the bright sun (and the occasional rain here in SoCal) out of my eyes. Anyhow, I'd give it a try...

-Debi
all you would see is your forehead...Spirito di Finocchio
Mar 21, 2002 6:00 PM
i think it wroks as it has two mirrors set up at angles like a submarine telescope. the first one is tilted so it reflects up to the second which is tilted to reflect back ... hence the unobstructed field of view.

thats why it looks so bulky and not airy enough ... did someone say HEAVY?
I'm going to order one to use as.....NewRoadBiker
Mar 21, 2002 6:00 PM
my commuter helmet. This seems like a really good idea, which appears to have much better visibility than the mount-on-the-side mirrors. I'll post a review of it once I have it and have a chance to give it a fair shake. I echo the thoughts of others so far on the aesthetics as well as ventilation, but on my commutes I'm more concerned with keeping my a$$ out from under the tires of early morning car-commuters who are more concerned with other things (eating breakfast, fixing hair, etc.) than driving! Thanks for posting a link to this site Gregg.

-Darren

http://DarrenEllis.com
Darren@DarrenEllis.com
are you a seventh day adventist or somethin?Spirito di Finocchio
Mar 21, 2002 6:32 PM
i figure too many lights reflectors and mirrors is sure to have you noticed by Mr. Fate and Mrs. destiny and squashed sooner than most for showing contempt.

whats comming from behind you isnt as much of an issue as good street sense and riding skills - anticipateing things before they happen. sure play safe, but dont go overboard with all the doodads.

and dont thank gregg too much as he is just spamming without regard. they make money from this site and the above is a monetary concern in the interest his/their business. sure it floats these pages but it shouldnt be forced and projected but just left to the sides and above where we can ignore it if we choose to.

this is a great site but is not without room for improvement. its ok for God to spam but not us forum mortals???? i just wonder how much of a real cyclist "God" is?

the interest of the users is a consideration but sometimes were just "hits" in cyberspace and yet another marketing prospect. all the recent changes have just been to direct us to commercial vendors.
things such as classic bikes, racing history, how to steps, restoration, ride maps, product compatability and history, FAQ's, even just a simple bike sizing chart aren't as important as more banners, logos and marketing.

even in the reviews all there is is a list of merchant links yet we can only review "certain" brands of whatever will be marketed on these pages. and now you can review a review? McCarthy isnt dead yet?

so we all buy the newest and latest and greatest thing and so on and so forth.

your more than welcome to come to NYC and ill teach you over two days things to look for and be aware of in a bedlam of traffic and congestion. stay at my house see the city and learn about riding in traffic. you wont need the Nightrider helmet and ill save you some money and you wont look as you just stepped from the sci fi channel christmas party either. and im not aiming to do it for the purpose of commerce either.
I....I......Love you......Ahimsa
Mar 21, 2002 6:42 PM
...but not in a gay way or anything.

Heh heh heh!

THAT my friend is the best post ever. Truly. Honest injun, no joke. Bravo!

*Ahimsa hands Spirito and old bowling trophy with "Best Post Ever" scrawled on a piece of masking tape and afixed over the engraved brass plate*

This is for you mate. Applause.

A. (Thinking of maybe starting up a chat room elsewhere...several sites will host it for free, and we could run it anyway we please free of advertisement and censoring. Your thoughts?)
in your shoes i aim to walk.. you pinoneer... i just follow NMSpirito di Finocchio
Mar 21, 2002 7:08 PM
i'm in!colker
Mar 21, 2002 8:00 PM
let's go.
i think ahimsa really is the messiah known as BrianSpirito di Finocchio
Mar 21, 2002 9:30 PM
so where is our never never land.

can we call it
"bike dudes (ettes) for antidissestablismentarianism who drink too much red wine".

im sure there are possibilities for a slick bike site where the interests of the general cycling public without all the pressure of hard sell yet still let us use the F word if its in context.


hey what if we just post a notice to all here to move over to one of the non-used pages like "rides and clubs" for a "cheap as chips cycling forum" with the following expressed notions

-beaters are good
-alternatives to index shifting
-heads up for cheap freewheels
-rampant swapping of parts and trading like the old days
-cheap ways to cycle and maintain your bikes
-donor rides for those visiting other cities
-no shimano v campy crap
-is galli better a better cheapie than ofmega
-how to weld your own frame
-organise neighbours/groups to buy tires in bulk
-post pics of our 80's jerseys without shame
-create a list of people to help each other build wheels
and guide each other to fix our own bikes
-an appreciation for keeping old bikes running

and a myriad of other things that this forum could do with whilst having fun and not taking each other so seriously

and generally stop the thinly veiled commercialism that is promoted in these pages anyway that way we can get away from all the bullshit that tires ones eyes.

the concerns of this site are commercial and that isnt a bad thing but it shouldnt be the foremost thing as without the users it is just another website.

can i hear voltaire?
and spirito is his apostle...colker
Mar 22, 2002 4:15 AM
let's have a church baby!
commercialism is cool, narrowmindness is not. i mean, ok, i'm being used, fine, but wasting my time is boring.totally agree with your topics cause cycling is more fun than carbon rear stays and weight savings. i said more, cause if you are a weight obsessed freak, that's fun to watch as well.
could add sto you list: cycling literature. curzio malaparte wrote on coppi x bartali rivalry and i would love to read those words.
used to follow mtbr forums and now it's so boring. why? because ther are only five posts: tracer x truth, is the superlight the bike for me? fs or ht with $800? the other two seriously discuss the merits of macstruts x monostay like some moon landing depended on the each one. boring...it's this objectivity, this pretentious performance searching thta installs boredom. i could have more fun working on a mall shop..
where is the humour, inteligence, originality? rivendell is right: frame paint is more important than aerodynamics.performance? i don't make any money when i ride my bike nor i'm a hustler so why should i care about performance?
are you a seventh day adventist or somethin?dsc
Mar 21, 2002 8:12 PM
Having visited your fair city several times, my hat is off to you for even attemping to ride in that mess! :-)
However, I have to respectfully disagree with you concerning the lesser importance of whats behind you, versus what's in front of you.
For sure, riding in city traffic, your greatest dangers are car doors opening, cars pulling out in front of you, getting cut off, etc. My riding is a bit different, though. Although the above traffic rules apply, most of my time is spent on the back roads, in the hills, where my greatest dangers come from all the yahoos driving their Surburbans and the Expeditions, talking on the cell phone, turned around messing with the child in back, all the while screaming blindly along the 'shortcut' home. Knowing what's behind you is not such a bad idea!

I agree that the helmet, as it is, looks too heavy, too hot, etc. But the concept is not bad... My .02, anyway.

I find that the older I get, the more I realize how much I want to be around, INTACT, for that many more years. I'm guessing that you must be a relatively young man? :O)

Cheers!
-Debi
old enough to know...Spirito di Finocchio
Mar 21, 2002 9:07 PM
when to be humble and not as flamming when a woman like yourself speaks the truth and is 'fer real.

with admonsihment i did get a little incensed at reading the above response and it to me read a little staged especially as when thinking it over the topic was generated by the site "boss".

i just felt that things were rotten in the state of denmark and i would be glad to spend a day or two riding with someone and sharing some practical knowledge. my interest is for the love of cycling and not with those aimed at making bigger consumers of us than we already are.

heavy satire was my only weapon although my offer for riding and advising still stands.

in effect i was aiming at a principle like for drivers where education and knowledge and improving their competency behind the wheel was far better than marketing a car with 6 airbags.

your points are valid and taken with due respect. and in accordance i gleefully accept that you agree to disagree with me on specific points pertaining to your experiences and situation.

cheers debi :-)

all cyclists are family.
Dude, get real....NewRoadBiker
Mar 22, 2002 8:38 AM
I just liked the idea of the helmet, I could care less if you or anyone else likes it or thinks it is a useless gadget. Also, while I understand the premise of your long diatribe regarding the board, I don't appreciate you using my post as a jump off point for it. Stat your own that is less commercial and down-to-earth-real-cycling related and I'll lurk there as well. Finally, I'll take you up on the offer for a place to stay when I make it up to NYC sometime...if the offer still stands.
:o)

-Darren

http://DarrenEllis.com
Darren@DarrenEllis.com
It's Obvious....grzy
Mar 22, 2002 9:18 AM
....that you've never been intentionally run off the road by a logging truck or had rednecks in pick 'em ups see how close they can come without actually hitting you. What's behind you IS of concern - especially if they're trying to have some fun with you. Around here we've had quite a few fatalities with cyclists being hit and killed from behind and the drivers always say the same (expected) thing "I didn't see them." There is value in being able to see the people who can't see you and are rapidly approaching.

Other than that I think you're going over board on the righteous indignation side of things. Some poster other than Gregg could've easily posted this same info. All he was asking was if you thought it was real or not and if it was a good idea. I take it you don't like it. Personally I prefer a simple helmet mounted mirror.
Dang, I wish I got paid for posting this...gregg
Mar 25, 2002 7:06 PM
...geez Finocchio, wake up on the wrong side?

me?? god?? hardly. Just figured I'd ask for the experts opinions on this product, that's all. Do you really think somebody would pay for me to post this on a message board?

Darren and Grzy, thanks.

-gregg
re: gimmick or not?harry hall
Mar 21, 2002 6:09 PM
Since I sometimes use a helmet with a visor and always use a mirror, I like the concept. I would like to try it out--as a bike business proprietor and cyclist of 30+ years I'd give it a fair try and honest evaluation. The idea looks good.
re: gimmick or not?look271
Mar 21, 2002 6:12 PM
If it really looked that good (visibility-wise), I'd use it to commute. Out on a club ride? Nope! Wreaks of Fred-dom!=)
Kudos to the commercial artistCrankist
Mar 21, 2002 7:54 PM
who airbushed out a big,sweaty forehead. I want mine to make motorcycle noises.
Brrrmm,
Mike
Is it safe?pmf1
Mar 22, 2002 5:25 AM
I don't think you should have anything advertised on this site that is not safe. Helmets should meet or exceed existing (ANSI, Snell) standards. Maybe I missed it, but the page only vaguely mentions that it has been tested to destructability, or something meaningless like that.

Personally, I do not use a mirror, but many people do and like them. If the helmet meets basic safety standards, then there are those out there who would probably like it.
Crashing with a helmet-full of glass?Alex-in-Evanston
Mar 22, 2002 5:35 AM
I'll pass.

Alex
My thoughts exactly. Though they could use plexiglass...nmLeisure
Mar 23, 2002 1:01 AM
ansi, snell ?dotkaye
Mar 22, 2002 11:20 AM
I'd try it, assuming it passed the ansi and/or snell tests.. the website doesn't give much reassurance on how it's been tested.
it will blind you at night....ohio
Mar 22, 2002 11:52 AM
... I'm visualizing Johnny Mercedes coming cruising up behind me on my commute home at night, HID headlights blazing billions of photons through my nifty little periscope, down into my dialated night-time pupils, and welding my retinas to my cones, just as Nancy Oblivious parks her car and opens the driver-side door right in front of me.

And it's not like you can move your head to get your eyes out of the light like you can with a handlebar mounted mirror.
"Aaaarrrrgh, the light is following me!!! My eyes, my eyes, they're burning! Oh dear god, make it stop!"