RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Sidi road shoes(10 posts)

Sidi road shoessticky
Mar 21, 2002 2:10 AM
I'm looking to buy a pair of Sidi Genius 4 road shoes. I currently use Time shoes in a 44. I have fairly narrow feet, but the times fit OK with the 3 good velcro straps pulled across.
The question is will a 44 Sidi be OK, and should I go for the narrow or regular shoe?
re: Sidi road shoeslonefrontranger
Mar 21, 2002 5:59 AM
Sidis run a bit narrow according to a lot of opinions, but I love mine. I wear the standard width 41 and have Genius 3s for the road and Dominators for off-road/commuting. I have big square feet, so you might have to go with the narrow fit. I run mine a bit big; I could get away with a 40, but my feet swell up on hot days.

Your best bet is to try some on. Are you buying mail order? If not, just go to the local shop who carries them, and try on pairs until you find what's right. Your best bet is to find a shop who will let you bring your trainer and ride the bike a bit with them on to see if there are any weird pressure points. The LBS I worked for did this, and Excel (current sponsor) does this even though they only have about 12x12 of cluttered showroom space to do it in. Oftentimes fit issues don't show up when you're just walking around the shop for five minutes trying shoes on.

Be aware that all models will fit a bit differently, same as any other type of sports shoe, so don't expect the Sidis to be the same as the Times. And although I'm a big fan, they're definitely not for everyone. A teammate of mine has very high insteps, and doesn't like the way the microlock presses on her metatarsal, so she went with Northwave.

For what it's worth, my boyfriend has Time road shoes, but absolutely loves the Sidi MTB shoes I bought him for his birthday last year.
re: Sidi road shoescolker
Mar 21, 2002 6:20 AM
i second the love for sidis. have dominators and bought them 1/2 to a full size larger. wear them around home, almost like slippers .so comfortable. they are my favourite shoes.
re: Sidi road shoesIan
Mar 21, 2002 8:43 AM
It is really hard to compare shoe to shoe. It is not only the length that is of concern, but the width of your foot, your arch, your instep, etc. Someone may wear a size 44 in brand A, a 44 1/2 in brand B and 45 in brand C.

To clear up a common misconception, Sidi shoes do not run narrow. The Sidi shoe is based on a D width, which is the standard. Many other shoes are based a little wider, so that gives the impression Sidi's are narrow, but actually the other shoes are wide. The Sidi narrow shoes are based on a B/C width, while the Mega shoes are based on a EE width.

With that said, I love my Sidi shoes, road and mountain, and will be surprised if I ever switch brands. But, as the other post said, they are not for everyone, as one brand can't fit everyone. The best route is to go to your LBS and try them on. If no one stocks them in your area, most LBS's will order them and you can try them, if they dont fit, they can stock that size and order the correct one. I did that many times at the shop I worked at with various brands of shoes.

Good luck and happy shopping.
To clear up a misconception...jtolleson
Mar 21, 2002 9:47 AM
You make it sound as though we are all ignorant. Many of us who believe (as I) that the stock Sidi runs narrow compared to make models (including Carnac, Northwave, Diadora, Shimano and Pearl Izumi) base it on actual experience.

Sidi calls it a D last? Bully for them. But it doesn't mean that in the overall context of the market, a Sidi will feel narrower than a same-sized shoe from many other manufacturers.

Opinions are opinions, and the word "narrow" is a relative one. But it doesn't mean that everyone else is absolutely wrong and you're absolutely right (nor the reverse).

PS -- Love the look and quality of Sidi shoes but they are (ahem) too narrow for me. Mega is just a touch too wide. Cest la vie.
Came off the wrong way...Ian
Mar 21, 2002 10:49 AM
... I don't want to imply that you are ingnorant or that you are wrong and I'm right. What I mean to say, is that shoe manufacturers, whether cycling, running, dress etc. do studies of feet. They have shown that a D width is the median width of a foot. Sidi makes their shoe in a D width, because it will fit the most feet.

Is it narrow compared to a Carnac or other shoe with a roomy toe box? Yes.

But, being a D width, that is the most common size of shoe, so taken in that context, it is not narrow.

Have you had your foot in a Brannock device? I bet if you measured, your foot is an E width. That would explain why the standard model is a little snug and the Mega model is a little big.

Sorry to come across the way I did.

Ian
My bad actuallyjtolleson
Mar 21, 2002 4:59 PM
I was probably just feeling crabby and snippy. Why in hell would anyone have a tiff about whether a shoe is appropriately described as "narrow" or not? : )
clarificationlonefrontranger
Mar 21, 2002 11:25 AM
I agree. Sidis _do_ actually run narrower in my experience relative to many other models, except for Nike - and Nike runs very narrow in everything, including their running shoes. I can't wear Carnacs; they feel like I'm swimming in them, and can't stand Diadoras because they have a hard inner arch support device that makes my feet cramp. Yet these are all "standard" width shoes. Personal preference? Heck yeah. I've known guys who road raced in floppy old Nike Pooh-Bahs until they ripped the cleat mounts right out of the soles, because that's what's comfortable for them. This is why pros aren't required by their teams to wear a specific type of shoe. As shoes (and saddles) are your crucial interface with the bike, the fit and feel is extremely important and personal.

FWIW, the women's models of the Sidis ARE too narrow for me. I tried some out to see if their more 'triangular' fit worked, because I do have the narrow heel that most women do - but they run more of a B/C width. I use the men's standard, or D width, and they are exceptionally comfy, even for my wide old feet. It helps that the microlock provides a lot more heel stabilization than standard velcro closures. I go a full size up from my street shoe size. Most decent bike shops who actually know a thing or two about shoe fitting should recommend this approach, and all running shoe places I've dealt with do, since when you're running or cycling, your feet do tend to swell. The Megas are indeed too wide.
Shoe fitVelocipedio
Mar 21, 2002 4:07 PM
For what it's worth, I find Sidi shoes to be perfectly normal. In fact, they're the only shoes that fit. My experience with shoes [and I've been shoe shopping for two months.

Diadora: My size 42 Chilis fit perfectly; all models of size 42 road shoes are too narrow for me at the fleshy part of my foot just in front of my arch, though the kength is perfect. 42.5 Cosmos and Ergos are just too long, though the width at the front my arch is perfect.

Specialized: I can't get a comfortable fit in Specialized; the last is shaped WAY strange.

Shimano: I tried the R-150 in 42, 42.5 and 43. The 43 fit me legthwise, but pinched me at the fleshy part at the front of my arch.

Northwave: No half sizes in the shop. 42 was too narrow, 43 was a boat.

Sidi: The 42.5 fits perfectly; no pinching, and the length is perfect.

It's not just the width of your foot -- it's the shape. My feet are wide-ish, but they are wide in such a way that they fit the Sidi standard last.
Secret Shoe Predictor Techniquedjg
Mar 22, 2002 6:47 AM
All this business about nomenclature and widths is very interesting, but most of it is irrelevant to the best and most straightforward way to predict whether a shoe will suit you: try the thing on. Of all the advice you've gotten, that's the only bit that's useful. Despite the straps, micro-lock buckles, whatever, my experience is that these things can vary quite a bit in how they fit and that there's a non-trivial amount of variation within lines. Bought my last bike through the mail. Bought my last set of shoes by going to the LBS (a couple of 'em actually), trying things on, and paying the man for a pair of Northwaves that felt good.