RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


speedplay won't release(9 posts)

speedplay won't releaseclimbo
Mar 18, 2002 4:06 PM
my left cleat will not release smoothly, I have to pull it up after I twist to get it to come out properly. The cleats and pedals are new so not sure what the problem is, could it just be that the cleat is on too tight? I don't want to loosen it too much.
re: speedplay won't releaseDrD
Mar 18, 2002 4:26 PM
Sounds like either the cleat is on there too tight (causing the spring to bind); the base plate is not flat (if the shims aren't right, when you put on the base plate, it will make the surface which the spring holder part of the cleat fastens onto slightly curved, so when you tighten down the 4 bolts, you slightly bend the cleat, causing it to bind); or you aren't turning your foot enough to disengage the spring.

Assuming it's not the last one - I would try loosening the cleat screws, and tighten them per speedplay spec (something like 1/4 or 1/2 turn past contact, I think - it's in the assembly instructions) and see if that helps - if it doesn't, try lubing the cleat with a little dry lube like white lightening (apply the lube, then work the spring back and forth) -

I have had cleats which were a little tighter than others on entry, but not exit - certainly none which required me to pull up on my foot to get off the pedal (not sure how that would happen - once your foot has rotated to the point that the spring is displaced, there is nothing to hold the pedal in place... are you sure you are turning your feet enough?)
Cleat mountingKerry
Mar 18, 2002 4:38 PM
Have you had this problem from the start, or did it develop? If the cleat has never worked right, the most likely cause is that the cleat is warped. This happens when you don't have a good match between the curvature of the shoe and cleat, and tightening the cleat bends it to match the shoe. This will result in all kinds of engagement and release problems. The cleats were supplied with shims to compensate for shoe curvature, so you may need to go back and put in some shims to fix this. The cleat should match the shoe curvature without any need to flex the cleat.

If you're sure this is not the problem, then the next likely culprit would be some grit in the cleat. Many people like a dry lube to keep the cleat springs working smoothly. You can sometimes feel the grit by flexing the springs with your bare hands. Compare left and right shoe to see if this is the problem. You should feel no binding or roughness.
re: speedplay won't releaseJimP
Mar 18, 2002 4:46 PM
I would try remounting the cleats as DrD recommends. I also use a drop of Locktite on the screws to keep them from vibrating loose since they aren't really tight to begin with. You didn't mention which shoes you are having this problem with. Some shoes don't mate to the Speedplay cleat as well as others so the mounting tension can be critical.
re: speedplay won't releaseclimbo
Mar 18, 2002 5:27 PM
thanks all, I will try to re-set the cleats and see if shims are needed, at first I didn't think so but I'll have another look. My reasoning for this is that it works perfectly on my right shoe and they are mounted exactly in the same spot on both shoes. The problem has been there from the start and everything is brand new so dirt in them is not really a factor, I have only ridden them twice.

BTW, I am using Specialized pro road shoes, also brand new. I'll see how it goes, maybe loosen it a bit first, then if that doesn't work I'll re-mount them.
trade them to me for my campy record year 2000ishmael
Mar 18, 2002 5:51 PM
comes with extra unused cleats and ill throw in a new fancy water bottle
A hidden message?Kerry
Mar 18, 2002 5:55 PM
Are you having problems with your ProFits? Generally reported to be a very well built and smooth operating pedal.
no thanks, I like these, even with the water bottle offer...nmclimbo
Mar 19, 2002 7:54 AM
nm
re: speedplay won't releaseChen2
Mar 18, 2002 8:24 PM
Be sure you don't have them on backwards like I did. I was in a hurry and assumed they would only go one way - WRONG. Had them reversed, left cleat right shoe. Went on the pedals fine but would not release, had to take the shoes off of my feet to get off the bike. Lubed the cleats with White Lightning and they worked but I was still barely able to get them to release. Finally figured out the problem.
They work great since I got them on the shoes (SIDI Genius)correctly. Now that they are broken in they will release with only a quick lift and a roll of the ankle, a very natural movement. It's not necessary to rotate the ankle out like SPD's.
~Al