RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Mercier Serpens - good deal at $1195 ?(18 posts)

Mercier Serpens - good deal at $1195 ?century2
Mar 16, 2002 12:58 AM
I have been looking for a new steel road bike with good components. The best I have found; I think is a Mercier at a LBS {and on bicyclings bikefinder and checked out at cyclesmercier.com}. Anyway, it seemd like a great deal on sale at $1195 - Reynolds 853 and Reynolds Carbon Fork with full Ultegra group. Other bikes I have seen like that are around $2000. Anyway ~ does anyone have an opinion on this bike? own one? ridden one? {please do not tell me steel is not good - as I prefer steel already}
Also this bike has Ritchey wheels ~ does anyone know the quality of these wheels? I am not a racer type; just like ultra long rides ~ 100 to 200 miles in a day.
I have an Aquila - and love itjake q
Mar 16, 2002 3:56 AM
I got a Mercier Aquila mainly because my bike shop said it was a great deal and I liked the looks. Later I found out the Reynolds fork on it sells for over $300 - so I feel good about it since I paid $650 for the whole bike. I never did any ride like 100 miles but the frame seems very smooth to me compared to my friends Aluminum Trek. Anyway, I love my Mercier and think it rides great (but I am kinda new to road riding)
re: Mercier Serpens - good deal at $1195 ?weiwentg
Mar 16, 2002 5:39 AM
ask the LBS what the model of the wheels are and check the reviews. Ritchey's wheels don't seem to be highly regarded, though, judging from the reviews.
re: Mercier Serpens - good deal at $1195 ?Lone Gunman
Mar 16, 2002 6:26 AM
I would make sure the component group is FULL Ultegra, not just the derailers. Crankset, brakeset and hubset. As for the Ritchey wheels, if you feel they are marginal and by that I mean they won't hold their trueness or get out of true too easily you could always have them rebuilt with better hoops for $150 or so. Like another poster said, $300 for the fork and if you look at the price for a build kit in Ultegra, you have a deal and the component group to do a much better frame (no judgement on Mercier) if it is not that great or to your liking.
Ritchey wheels have been great for mericky day
Mar 16, 2002 6:52 AM
I have a 2 year old Fuji with ritchey wheels; I weigh 180 and ride about 50 to 100 miles a week. my wheels have never had to been trued! They seem light and strong from what I can tell.
Only thing that bothers me; I paid $1295 for a reynolds 853 Fuji with 105 ~ and no Reynolds fork. I guess prices are failing just like with computers
anyway - I love my 853 frame and the ritchey wheels too.
What Kind of 853?joeg26er
Mar 16, 2002 8:47 AM
Which kind of 853 tubing is it made of?

Frame weight?

How is the ride and stiffness of that Mercier?
What Kind of 853?merckx56
Mar 16, 2002 10:59 AM
853 is the tubing, moron! they do make 853 oversized now, but it is the same, chemically, as standard 853. stop asking off the wall questions, or you will be further shunned by the board!
Gee-joeg26er
Mar 16, 2002 6:30 PM
I can only hope you will always write answers to my posts.
In fact, I would expect you would be the only one to not shun me.

You are so sweet and helpful, I hope I meet you someday...

You're my buddy forever and ever. :)
dude...merckx56
Mar 17, 2002 1:34 PM
seriously, grow up and find something to do with your time, like riding perhaps, rather than continuing to write these inane posts about a myriad of inane topics. there comes a point when you actually have to buy a bike and pedal the thing. it may cause discomfort. no bike you buy will be the perfect bike, period! just go get a bike, ride it, rinse and repeat. i do truly hope that we can ride together one day. i would like nothing better than to see you after an 80 mile, hilly, sub 4 hour ride. i'm betting there would no 40+ mile per hour sprint left in your noodly legs. don't be a smart ass, for you know little, so it seems, about riding and probably less about life! there are some people on this board who have extremely valuable advice and one should take much of it under consideration. i will be more than glad to help you in any way i can. i have ridden and raced for over 15 years and am a uscf licensed coach, who has worked with more than one team. i have two juniors that i coach: one is a cat 2, 15 year old phenom in florida and the other is a 15 year old, cat 2 woman from n.c. they both regularly kick my ass sideways during rides, but they still value the opinions of those that try to help them. maybe you should do the same...instead of being a wiseass who seems to know everything, regardless of the number of questions you ask this board.
Thanks!joeg26er
Mar 17, 2002 7:45 PM
You are truly someone I would like to emulate.

You are so very couth in your manner, so flattering and supportive of others. I am very jealous of those that you coach. They must positively glow when you shower them with your marvelous personality.

From your positive demeanor and cultured tone, I can only assume you lead a very fulfilling life.

I would like to set something straight.
I never claimed to know everything.
Nay, I claim exactly the opposite.

I know very little about road cycling.

This is the reason I have so many inane questions -
I seek knowledge.

I beg your forgiveness. I supplicate myself to your obvious fathoms of experience.

Please, do not bestow my posterior with any road cycling intellect. I must be honest, my rear is dumb to the hum of a steel frame. It does not speak of centuries on asphalt and cobble, it is truly a dumb ass.
Yours is undoubtedly expert to the tune of many materials and familiar to many saddles of different leathers.

Alas, it is my fate to overanalyze and overthink. Overcomplicate and over-reach.

I seek your simplicity.
Such would be bliss.
Ease upNessism
Mar 16, 2002 7:09 PM
853 comes in a varity of flavors: standard size, over size, long butts, short butts. Unless one knows which particular tubes are used, there is no way to know how the frame will ride.

That said, I doubt anyone on this board has this type of information other than if the tubes are oversize. I guess it can't hurt to ask.

Ed
my best idea of exact spec - from bicycling bikefindercentury2
Mar 16, 2002 7:10 AM
Specifications for
Mercier-Serpens
Manufacturer Mercier
Bike type Road racing/performance riding
Frame Type Classic geometry
Frame tubing material Steel
Weight 18.5lbs
Sizes 49, 52, 56, 58, 61
Colors Black Midnight/Dark Titanium Fade
Fork Reynolds Ouzo Comp carbon
Bottom bracket Shimano Ultegra
Crankset Shimano Ultegra
Chain Shimano Ultegra 9 speed
Cassette Shimano Ultegra 12-23 9-speed
Brake levers Shimano Ultegra STI
Brake calipers Shimano Ultegra
Front derailleur Shimano Ultegra
Rear derailleur Shimano Ultegra
Shifters Shimano Ultegra STI
Handlebar Systeme Mercier aluminum
Stem Ritchey WCS aluminum
Headset FSA 1" roller bearing threadless
Saddle Systeme Mercier
Seatpost Systeme Mercier
Hubs Ritchey WCS 24 front/28 rear
Rims Ritchey OCR Aero Pro
Tire front Kenda Kontender Lite Kevlar 700x23
Tire rear Kenda Kontender Lite Kevlar 700x23

website www.cyclesmercier.com
Email info@cyclesmercier.com

THIS SEEMS TO ME TO BE FULL ULTEGRA EXCEPT THE WHEELS - AM I CORRECT? LIST IS $1600 BUT I CAN GET FOR $1195. IS THAT AS GOOD OF A DEAL AS IT SEEMS?




--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Home | Daily | Events | Forums
Contests | Coaching | Customer Service

©2002 Rodale, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Design: Zoltron.com
Hubs and headset, Shimano does not do threadless yet,Lone Gunman
Mar 16, 2002 9:36 AM
Well if you are saying $300/ (Colorado Cyclist, Comp, $240) for the fork, and an Ultegra build kit is $640? that is $900 retail w/o stem, saddle, post, tires, tubes, strips and tape, and rims bought and built. You do the math.
sounds like it is a great dealcentury2
Mar 16, 2002 11:32 AM
if just the Shimano and the Reynolds fork are worth $900 - then A whole bike with Reynolds frame plus wheels and all the rest should be much more than $1195 ~ starting to sound like a real deal. I just saw a Lemond that was basicly the same bike 'on-sale' for $1995
That is roughly what I paid..Lone Gunman
Mar 16, 2002 12:56 PM
for my Lemond Zurich in '99. It is full Ultegra with Rolf wheels. The 853 steel frames are great all day ride for me. I have an alu frame bike (older) and I am sore in the lower back if I ride that beast 2 days in a row. In general, and also geometry may have something to do with this, 853 steel is a good, jack of all trades frame material; it is not great at any one aspect of cycling it performs most of them very well, hence it's popularity in the century rider sport performance crowd. If I am going fast and pop out of the saddle to sprint, I feel bb flex some of this flex may also be a bit of tire smoosh but I only feel it in the initial strokes of power. That is my biggest complaint about the frame and that is a small percentage (less than .1 of 1%) of the time I spend on the bike where I feel the flex. If you get the opp to test ride the bike before buying, duplicate what I described and see if you can feel it and listen for chain rub on the front derailer when you stomp the pedals, that is frame flex and if you have too much of that and it feels noodly well then I think I would reconsider the deal.
been looking for a Mercier Draco - may get onlineswenson
Mar 16, 2002 1:48 PM
I have been wanting to get a Draco (seems same as Serpens but DuraAce and PURPLE!) Anyway, I e-mailed cyclesmercier.com and they told me they had no dealers in my area BUT were working on setting up a national on-line retailer like performance, bikesdirect, or supergo. If I could get a deal online on that bike - I would think it would be great. Even at MSRP of $2000 with Full DuraAce it seems like a deal.
Does anyone know how the 853 rides compared to old 531 frames - I am still riding an old Peugeot PX10 with 531 - but love it.
re: Mercier Serpens - good deal at $1195 ?harry hall
Mar 17, 2002 4:00 PM
Why are all production road bikes built with such f%$#ing stupid short chainstays? Anybody who thinks that they go faster with 40.5 vs. 42.5cm is wrong, and the length makes a more versatile bike. Bike designers are sheep and consumers are idiots if they put up with it.
chain stays - have been at 16.5"century2
Mar 17, 2002 6:46 PM
I have been on a bike with 16.5" chain stays - I wonder if 16" would be that different. I guess it could be a big point for long rides. But maybe having a carbon fork will help smooth out the ride
what steel production bike at this price level has longer stays?