RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Spokes Wheaton, IL risked my safety(23 posts)

Spokes Wheaton, IL risked my safetykerrdog
Mar 15, 2002 8:17 PM
Spokes of Wheaton, IL screwed up my carbon steer tube by installing a star nut in my steer tube. I called them on this, and they said it was fine to ride on, but you should see how it has already eaten up the carbon. This to me seems like they are willing to take short cuts even if it means compromising a riders safety. Buyer beware at this store.
re: Spokes Wheaton, IL risked my safetyweiwentg
Mar 16, 2002 5:42 AM
that sounds like an error only a rookie or a complete moron could make. If I were you I would call the manufacturer and have them tell the shop that installing a starnut in a CF steerer is completely, positively, totally 100% stupid. and then I would demand that they pay for a replacement. and THAT would be my last trip to that store.
what goes in a carbon steererishmael
Mar 16, 2002 7:50 AM
the guy who installed mine banged something down there...please tell me this is what he was supposed to do..
what goes in a carbon steererweiwentg
Mar 16, 2002 10:53 AM
um ... the only thing that goes down a carbon steerer is the compression plug. best to ask him what he put in - I've not installed a compression plug personally, but afaik they don't really need to be 'banged' in. perhaps someone more knowledgable could chime in here...
what goes in a carbon steerermerckx56
Mar 16, 2002 11:04 AM
the expander plug is actually attached to the top cap of the headset. the center bolt of the unit screws down and pushes the sides of the plug out (expands) and basically wedges itself against the inside walls of the steerer tube, thus tightening the headset. the star fangled nut will F up the inside of your steerer and ruin your fork. go tell those numbnuts that they owe you a fork and don't take no for an answer. tell 'em it'll be cheaper than the lawsuit that you will file when the steerer comes apart!
you need to memorize a few lines from Pulp Fiction..Spirito di Finocchio
Mar 16, 2002 9:30 AM
and as weiwen says back yourself with info from the manufacturers and go in there all guns blazing with a polite but firm demand to rectify "their" problem.

a few lines in similar vain to and with the same intonation as "strike thee down with furious anger....." and a weekend morning with a shop full of customers will get their attention.

ive had mechanics stuff up my bike in a high profile NYC shop and when armed with evidence, another mechinics opinion, instructions sourced from the manufacturer and a curmudgeonly, firm aura i not only had all the parts replaced but i also had the labor refunded.

check your sources, arm yourself with info and if need be raise your voice. it can be quite a buzz. also mention if you have affiliation or are a member of a club or cycling group and are prepared to share with other riders their lack of experience.

dont wear their stuff-up and be steadfast with what you would like. they are at fault so you should be calling the terms and dictating how to resolve the issue not them.

i would demand that they replace the parts and refund your cost for their services - i would especially recommend having another store put it all together for you rather than let spokes wheaton stuff it up again.

if they fail to offer what you deserve post their tel# and email here as i, and im sure a few others, will happily piss them off as much as they deserve.

dont let anyone stuff up your bike - after all is a source of joy and their error should not put at risk your safety. and remember if they are fault they have more to lose should they be defiant than you do if you are really prepared to take the situation further. let them know that.
And if that doesn't work...Mud
Mar 16, 2002 12:53 PM
... time to get Medieval On Their Ass!
btw, where is quentin tarantino? nmcolker
Mar 16, 2002 3:33 PM
nm
re: Spokes Wheaton, IL risked my safetyk mand
Mar 16, 2002 6:28 AM
what's with this place? I keep seeing messages on this board. I live in the city so I've never been there. What an expensive mistake.
Chain bike shops!Alexx
Mar 16, 2002 7:26 AM
Unfortunately, this is the common level of quality that most bike shop chains exhibit. You can't trust any of them to do a competant repair anymore. Learn how to do it yourself, or else find an independant shop. Those chain stores are just boutiques-they don't care about service or quality, just making money.
Spokes ranked dead last in recent RBR poll for Chicago.Slipstream
Mar 16, 2002 9:00 AM
I believe it was Bianchi who did a poll recently where Spokes ranked as the worse bike shop in Chicago. How is it that they are able to stay in business with that kind of reputation?

Does anyone from Spokes ever read this board? I would like to hear their explanation.
re: Spokes Wheaton, IL risked my safetyjohnjohn
Mar 16, 2002 10:04 AM
Had the same thing happen to me at a Supergo here in LA. One of the new wrenches put a bent star nut into an Easton EC70 all carbon fork I had them install. Boy, I etched some nice long gouges inside that tube trying to keep it tight. Finally took my bike back in and showed them (after a rather hairy downhill experience) and the head mechanic just shook his head, apologized, and cut me a new fork on the spot. Hopefully you'll be able to get the same sort of corrective.
re: Spokes Wheaton, IL risked my safetyharry hall
Mar 16, 2002 10:09 AM
Another carbon=steerer thing to watch out for: When the mechanic (or you) are installing the headset crown race, use a tool that protects the steerer surface--it could be almost as bad as a clawed star nut inside to have a piece of pipe sliding up and down on the outside of a carbon steerer. Efficient Velo Tools of Vancouver, WA (buy their tools through United Bicycle Supply) and Hozan of Japan (Merry Sales) make suitable crown race slammers for use on carbon steerer forks.
how do you get the star nut outishmael
Mar 16, 2002 10:15 AM
im trying to get the nut out to for enough room to put in the correct wedge...i was told i could push it down further but id like to get it out if possible...
No easy way out...Mud
Mar 16, 2002 1:01 PM
The only thing to do with an already installed start nut is to get a long screwdriver and hammer the nut all the way down, assuming the opening is large enought at the bottom of the steerer to knock it through. This is the recommended approach with a steel or alloy steerer. However, with a carbon steerer this might just cause more damage in the steerer tube, so you might just want to knock it down far enough to get it out of the way of the new plug.

The last thing you could try is a Dremmel with the correct attachment to cut off a few of the "stars", but again, there is risk of damaging the steerer if you don't have a steady hand.

Good luck.
No easy way out...weiwentg
Mar 16, 2002 1:08 PM
Ishmael, sorry to hear that some maniac put a star nut down your steerer. :(
my Giant's fork came with a warning sticker saying not to install a star nut. all CF forks need to come with that. you'd have thought that mechanics would know, but ...
Spokes obviously didn't read the sticker on my Giant forkkerrdog
Mar 16, 2002 1:39 PM
Isn't ironic that Giant puts a sticker on the fork, and Spokes can't read the sticker. I have a Giant. I bought it from Spokes. I wouldn't have known about it, but I heard a rattle in my head tube. Part of the star nut acutal broke off.
they didn't WHAT?weiwentg
Mar 16, 2002 3:51 PM
holy crap. that was an act of monumental idiocy.
They were rated on this board as one of the worst of ChicagoBianchiAmber
Mar 17, 2002 2:51 PM
We had everyone from Chicago who wished to participate share their opinions about Chicago bike shops. Spokes was continually given low marks over and over. Remarks ranged from poor service, over priced products, bad mechanics, to just people feeling screwed over by the owners of Spokes. Sounds like you should check out the post and choose your shop more carefully. The last choice could have gotten you hurt, not to mention the previous problems Giant has been having with their all carbon forks. Did you have Spokes make sure that your fork wasn't a recall? I would be sure of this.
NEGATIVE PEOPLE!!!!!!!!!!!climber1
Mar 17, 2002 11:21 PM
First of all i believe maybe one of you actually know how to even work on his or her own bike. Also this is a chat board not a talk shit about a bike shop board. thats all you losers do, if you dont like the shop dont go there. im sick of you people constantly discussing this crap like its the most important topic of your life. shop elsewhere and get over it. use this chat room for positive topics not just gossip and shit talk. i am an avid cyclist, lets talk about bikes folks.
you know a lot of cyclists have a very bad reputation as being loners or wierdos, please dont add to that, if you have had a bad experience get over it, look at the positives of this sport instead of dwelling on this garbage, that goes for you bianchiamber, kerrdog, and rollinfast, get a life and get over it and quit posting this trash because we dont want to hear it!!
thank you.
losers??weiwentg
Mar 18, 2002 7:16 PM
losers? talk shit? discussing crap? who the hell do you think you are?
look. if people don't spread the word about bad shops, other cyclists get screwed. and we ARE talking about bikes -just not directly.
that bad experience could have been a fatal one if his steerer had sheered off at speed. try getting over that!
you are so wrongfuzzybunnies
Mar 18, 2002 7:53 PM
there are quite a few of us here that can fix our own bikes especially since there are a good many of us who actually work at shops. Things such as this are of importance to people who don't know since it will allow them to make an informed decision. I had a customer come in who wanted the star nut driven into the carbon steerer of his new Merck bike. People need to be aware of these things and the shops that should be avoided for these reasons. so get over it.
Maybe not,TJeanloz
Mar 18, 2002 5:33 AM
People have been very convinced that you NEVER put a star nut in a CF steerer tube. Never say never; if it's a Time Featherlight, you do, in fact use a star nut in the carbon steerer tube. If it's not a Time, they made a big mistake...