RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Sampson Cycles. anyone ever ride one or know about 'em?(9 posts)

Sampson Cycles. anyone ever ride one or know about 'em?aet
Mar 14, 2002 7:42 AM
Been to their site but they are going to try to sell their own bikes. they don't show up in any shops around here and i did not see any reviews. they look neat and that fat downtube suggests they may be reasonably stiff.
re: Sampson Cycles. Anyone ever ride one or know about 'em?jtolleson
Mar 14, 2002 7:51 AM
They are a local Denver builder with a great rep. Priced competitively with entry level ti from Airborne and Douglas, but with a very good reputation for custom ti. Eric Sampson handles a lot of orders personally.

Do an internet search, and you'll find some good reviews, particularly of the Kalispell (the original Sampson ti road model which came about a few years ago).
never rode one, never seen one, but...slow-ron
Mar 14, 2002 7:55 AM
When I was doing research on low budget Ti I read nothing but good things about them. When I called them the owner was very informative and helpful.

Also, my LBS has experience with them and likes them as well as Litespeed, which they also sell. Sure to start a flame war with that one.
re: Sampson Cycles. anyone ever ride one or know about 'em?mpm32
Mar 14, 2002 8:48 AM
I raced a ciao aluminum 52 cm, for 3 years. It was very stiff and gave a great fast ride. When I bought it I got it with a D/A group for around $2k. Eric Sampson is great to deal with and every time I broke my D hanger (crit crashes), he sent a new one out right away. I regularly beat those on $3k+ rides. It's the engine not the bike. When I bought it, I knew I would want to update the frame some day so that's why I went with D/A. This year cannondale sponsored our team and we got a great deal on team frames. I got the CAAD 5 over the CAAD 6 because I like the D/A crank better than the cannondale (personal preference). When I was getting sized up for my new frame, I threw my Sampson on the scale for the first time - 19.5 lbs with the D/A and cane creek wheels/pedals/cages/comp etc. I thought it was lighter. My new frame with the same D/A group switched from my Sampson comes in under 17. The new cannondale rides nicer and absorbs the bumps better. I used to lift my butt off of the saddle on cruddy roads with the ciao but I don't have to with the cannondale. The cannondale is stiff where it needs to be - the BB - and compliant in the stays for a nice ride. The old adage that cannondales are teeth rattlers is just that - old. That being said, I would still recommend the Sampson. It was a great frame. My teammate has the ti frame and another has a ciao both are happy with their choices. Get the D/A if you can. It will last a long time and you can swap it to many new frames without replacement. I'm sure the same goes for the top end campy.
KalispellHoward
Mar 14, 2002 9:32 AM
I bought a Kalispell bike about 1 year ago. The bike was on a closeout sale. It came with top flight components and the ride is quite smooth.

In my conversations with Mr. Eric Sampson over the phone, I always found him to be quite easygoing and a pleasure to deal with.
Got a buddy who has onegrandemamou
Mar 14, 2002 9:33 AM
It's Ti. I think the model is a pro road but I may be mistaken about that. He likes his. I rode it for about 10-15 min. Other than to say it has the smooth Ti ride I can't tell you much because I didn't spend a whole lot of time on it. Build quality looks good and he got a beautiful custom powder coat. A red to yellow fade with glitter thrown in. I remember seing them in one of the catalogs perf/nashbar years ago. He bought his direct.
Got one..Brooks
Mar 14, 2002 9:58 AM
last year. The Z7 Pro road model with upgraded wheels, full DA. I'm 6-1 and 195 pounds so the ovalized tubes help stiffen the larger (60cm) frame. The ride is smooth, stiff and responsive. I rode a 200 mile race within two weeks of getting the bike. I was a little hesitant but it rode great, didn't beat me up at all. Eric is great to work with as long as you know what kind of riding you want to do, what kind of rider you are, and measure your dimensions. He only sells on the Internet, over the phone, or in their store. I recommend him highly.

Peace,
Brooks
Just what i was looking for...aet
Mar 14, 2002 11:54 AM
I'm 6'0 200lbs and i was interested in the z7.
thanks for the info.
1998 Kalispellterry b
Mar 14, 2002 10:19 AM
Was my first road bike and it got me hooked. Can't say enough good things about Sampson - great bike, excellent price, the build/shipping/delivery process was impeccable. Eric handled me personally which was great because I was totally clueless at the time about fit. I ended up with a fantastic ride with good specs for a very reasonable price.

Currently, I've taken it apart to get it painted (getting tired of raw Ti.) Found that the BB shell was very well prep'd, no problem getting it out after nearly 4 years. Ditto for the rest of the assembly. These are the kinds of things I think illustrate their quality - stuff that's important that they could skip on and you'd never know the difference.

Great outfit, great product. I'm seriously considering their Ti/Carbon frame at the moment.