RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


My Search--Lemond Chambery 2001(9 posts)

My Search--Lemond Chambery 2001riderbob
Mar 12, 2002 3:55 PM
As some of you know, I have been on a search for my first good road bike. Just wanted to get some opinions on the 2001 Lemond Chambrey, Ultegra Components, Rolf Rims. $1750 The bike has not seen the road, and I have been sized by three different LBS to determine that I have the right fit.

Anyone have this bike?? I would love to hear any advice or suggestions. Thanks to all of you that offered your advice before, it has been incredibly helpful.

Riderbob
re: My Search--Lemond Chambery 2001Elefantino
Mar 12, 2002 4:40 PM
Here are some thoughts on the 1999 Chambery, which has the same aerolinium frame and component group. It has a Time Stiletto fork, instead of the 2001's Icon Air Rail fork, but otherwise they're similar.

http://www.roadbikereview.com/Road,Bike/LeMond,Bicycles,1999,Chambrey/PRD_18479_1610crx.aspx

I do not work for Supergo, but I noticed that the very good SoCal bike shop is selling Scattante 853/Ultegra bikes for dirt cheap. Worth a look if you're interested in steel and a very relaxed, long-to-tube bike.

Good luck!

FWIW,
Mike
re: My Search--Lemond Chambery 2001RollinFast
Mar 12, 2002 5:24 PM
Riderbob, Why don't you tell us what kind of riding you plan on doing. If you are going to ride 3 or more hours on the bike, you might want to reconsider. This bike rides hard, and you might be uncomfortable on it after the first 50-60 miles. There are much more comfortable aluminum bikes out there that come with Ultegra and hit that price range. The Giant TCR 1 is a very comfortable Ultegra equipped bike that rides much smoother than the Lemond. It is the same frame that the Team Once rides. I raced on one last year, and enjoyed the frame. I also owned a Lemond Chambery. The Giant replaced it. I found that after seventy miles on the Chambery my back was killing me. Lemond bicycles have a very relaxed geometry and they are designed to Greg Lemond's specs. If you were to tell us what kind of riding you plan on doing, everyone might be able to throw some ideas at you. Just want you to make the right choice. I myself, am not too good at making the right frame choice, and it starts to get expensive.
re: My Search--Lemond Chambery 2001riderbob
Mar 12, 2002 9:05 PM
RollinFast,

Most of my riding consists of 30-60 mile rides. I plan on riding in at least 2 60 Mile rides a month starting in April. Wtih a couble of 25-30 mile rides spread in between. I really appreciate your help and any suggestions that you may offer.

Thanks in advance

Riderbob
re: My Search--Lemond Chambery 2001jtolleson
Mar 12, 2002 6:48 PM
This is my least favorite offering in the Lemond lineup. If you insist on wanting an Ultegra-equipped aluminum frame, you can get a better one for less. This is a stiff bike with little extraordinary to recommend it.

And if it is Lemond geometry you want, then you really can't beat the Zurich, which IMHO is a fine bike, 853 steel, century worthy without being excessively heavy.
re: My Search--Lemond Chambery 2001Galibier
Mar 13, 2002 11:11 AM
I switched from a Trek OCLV to the Lemond aluminum frame you are considering. Despite what others here report about the Lemond's harsh ride, I have found the Lemond to be more comfortable than the OCLV, although the OCLV certainly deadens road vibration. Obviously, the Lemond fits me better. Comfort aside, the Lemond is very responsive and handles quite well. If you are looking for a performance-oriented frame (that's what I look for, but I race), I heartily recommend the Lemond. Speaking for myself only, I will never go back to an OCLV, and seriously question if any other carbon frame is in my future. Ride the Lemond and see how you like it. Good luck --
re: My Search--Lemond Chambery 2001Galibier
Mar 13, 2002 11:14 AM
By the way, also check out the reviews on the 2000 Lemond Maillot Jaune -- it is the same aluminum frame.
re: My Search--Lemond Chambery 2001RollinFast
Mar 13, 2002 3:45 PM
Is the bike finder web site still up? This might be a good resource to see what else is availible for you.
re: My Search--Lemond Chambery 2001peterofdevon
Mar 13, 2002 5:30 PM
This bike is a wonderful ride...I prefer it over the Zurich of which I just sold one (a 2001). I use it in the dura ace iteration. It is fast...responsive and I don't think it is fatiguing on long rides. Don't let the "steel" freaks scare you from Al bikes...this one is underrated. I would offer 300 less for it though.