RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Seat Post reviews(10 posts)

Seat Post reviewsTylerman
Oct 30, 2001 3:49 AM
I have a question for the board. How do you rate your seatpost?
Seriously, I noticed that there is a section in the product review area and I cannot determine the criteria for one post being better than another. Mine holds up my seat, and by extension my buttocks, upper torso and so on so I guess I would rate it a five. Considering that this is not a MTB site I don't imagine that anyone here really puts that much stress on their posts so durability shouldn't matter. Weight? Possibly, but if that were the case then all the manufacturers should be making carbon seatposts. Looks? I can see that. But what about those poor saps who bought tapered tube frames and have to use a specific seatpost for their frame? Their kinda screwed into using a potentially second rate post. Maybe the clamp but that's a no-brainer to develop a sturdy clamp, so that's out.
Just curious.
re: Seat Post reviewsAkirasho
Oct 30, 2001 4:06 AM
Aside from a certain chiqueness... you're essentially right... yet it's little chi chi's like this that help as define and personalize our rides (thus we are a marketer's paradise).

Relatively low weight (don't need an anchor... I do a good enough job on that front), durability and ease of adjustment (with the ability to reliably hold the adjustment). Also, some folks will look for more fore/aft adjustability and/or offset.

That's about it.

Now, I use the old Syncros Ti posts cuz they look sooo visually sweet (though the clamp is less than perfect), Thomson's which look sweet and clamp better than Syncros and a proprietary post on my Cervelo (which alas, is... proprietary (though Cervelo says that they're coming out with a "new and improved" version this fall). I'm intrigued by the USE Alien (both alloy and carbon)... but again, it's a chi chi thing. When I finish building up my Rivendell, I'll go for something "appropriate".

After having spent an hour or so looking, I've come to the conclusion that my 'bents don't have one...

We abide.

Remain In Light.
re: Seat Post reviewsbadabill
Oct 30, 2001 7:29 AM
I broke an american classic this year that had about 10,000mi on it. It broke at the clamp so maybe it does take a little knowledge to design a good seatpost. Have a Thompson now that seems to work fine. Weight, ease of adjustments, material, cost and Quality all should be considered.
re: Seat Post reviewsSteeve
Oct 30, 2001 9:40 AM
I also have an American Classic seat post. I have never had any problems with it, set & forget. I like the simple, clean design. Mine is the is 1 piece design, was the one that you had the 1 or 2 piece design?
re: Seat Post reviewsbadabill
Oct 30, 2001 1:12 PM
Mine used a triangle clamp on the top with a plate the rail sat on. The clamp cracked down the side. Never touched the post from the day the bike was built a year ago accept to try a new seat a few months ago. The only thing I could see that would cause this failure is the clamp is not beefy enough.
a good seatpostpeloton
Oct 30, 2001 7:56 AM
I judge a good seatpost on two criteria-

1) Ease of installation, and clamp design:
Some seatposts have clamps that are
hard to adjust to certain angles. A good clamp
should be easy and precise to adjust to
different seat angles. It should also be easy to
return the saddle to that angle should it ever be
removed.

2) It should become invisible. Once the post is installed, it shouldn't self adjust or make noise. It should never break. (I've broken a couple, it does happen) It should never squeak or make noise. Basically, I should forget that it is there. A great post is one you install and don't think of because it just does it's job.
Its a packagepmf1
Oct 30, 2001 9:52 AM
consisting of:
1. weight
2. adjustability
3. length
4. clamp design (some are much easier to install than others)
5. looks
6. price
7. durability

I'd guess there are lots of posts getting a rating of 5. Almost everything on the ratings section gets a good rating.
Read the Dura Ace reviews....KurtVF
Oct 30, 2001 6:32 PM
You'll know one to clearly avoid.
Hmmmmpmf1
Oct 31, 2001 5:03 AM
I've got a DA post. Seems to work fine to me. Guess I'll have to go check the problems. I've had it for 2 years.

Personally, I think the best over-all post is American Classic. Cheap, light and easy to adjust. It wasn't long enough for one of my bikes though.
re: Seat Post reviewsClintB
Nov 1, 2001 9:29 PM
After messing about with Syncros, Dean and some others that are cheaper I finally settled on a Moots. Fantastic quality Ti and the clamping mechanism couldn't be any more simple. Absolutely bulletproof and extremely light to boot!

Check them out
http://www.moots.com/acatalog/Moots_Store_Seat_Posts_8.html