RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Tire upgrade ?(11 posts)

Tire upgrade ?gmagee
Oct 29, 2001 9:55 AM
Hello all; I need to replace my rear tire and I am wondering if an upgrade is worth the investment.

I currently an running Continental Sport 1000 (700x28) the finest tire 13.00 US dollars can buy.

My question is What is to be gained if I upgrade to say the Grand Prix. I know they are lighter but will I notice a differance and will I give up durability in the excange.

Do I just not know what I am missing. I do not race so Durability takes priority over top speed im my book.

Are thiner tires more prone to flatting than the 28c tires I have now? Any thoughts would be helpful; Thanks
Durability????Rusty McNasty
Oct 29, 2001 10:07 AM
From my experiences, those Conti Sport 1k's flat more oftenthan any tire I've ever owned! 6 flats in 3 months! I ripped them off my commuter bike, and put some armadillos on.
$13 a tire?? C'mon-spend a little!!! Cheap junk is never worth it!! Even Chen Shin makes better tires than these piles of $h!t!!
Respectfully disagree with one point, Rusty...RhodyRider
Oct 29, 2001 11:29 AM
Big $ doesn't necessarily mean a substantially better tire. I've been VERY pleased to run Panaracer Category Elites all season at $9.95/tire from Nashbar. These are very good tires, IMHO, and a true bargain. Smooth rolling, able to take nice high pressure. I've experienced NO durability or puncture problems whatsoever (they are good for 1500-1700 miles). I'm over 200# and ride on real-world roads in Southern New England. Just my $0.02 worth.
Different experienceTJeanloz
Oct 29, 2001 1:04 PM
I used to ride the cheapest Conti tire as a training tire. It was the worst riding, yet longest lasting, puncture resistant tire that I could find.

One season I thought I put 20,000 miles on a pair- but I couldn't remember for sure if I had replaced them mid-year or not...
FWIW, agree on Armadillos, but try Paselascory
Oct 29, 2001 2:05 PM
I think the best clinchers I've ever used, for all around balance of weight, durability and feel, are panaracer Paselas. They're not quite as tough as the Armadillos, but they ride SOOO nicely and corner just fine.
If flat resistance is your main thing, though, I agree on the Armas. i've done thousands of miles on those with...well, six flats, but five of them came in one patch of goatheads.
nomr_spin
Oct 29, 2001 10:09 AM
If you are happy riding the tires you have now, keep riding them. Especially if, as you say, you don't know what you are missing. The question is: do you really care enough to pay double or triple the price of the tires you have now?

Only buy better tires if you'll need the extra performance you gain, in cornering, for example. That's what you are missing. The GPs are excellent tires and very durable. The GP 3000s are even better, except less durable.
Finest tire is subjective, but it's your $13. Stick with it (nm)Elefantino
Oct 29, 2001 10:54 AM
if you like it then don't switchColnagoFE
Oct 29, 2001 12:42 PM
Still...for just a few more $ I'd go with the Ultra2000 folding. Nice tires. Wear well and easy to mount and unmount. For a better ride I like the standard (not GP3000) Grand Prixs. You give up durability and wear at this point though, but the ride is nicer, the tire is lighter, and they are much stickier.
re: Tire upgrade ?metonymy3
Oct 29, 2001 3:00 PM
I ride Conti Sport 1000s for training, and they're ok. I like them because they 1) do not wear out. you cannot get the tread to wear on these things. And 2) they don't flat much. The ride isn't that great, but I can live with that for training. They just don't corner at all. Even training, I need a little stick, so I'm thinking about moving up to Gommitalia Calypsos folding or Grand Prix's folding. Don't know which one yet, can anyone help on that one? The Calypsos are $55 for 2, and they come in red. (That's very important ;-) And the GPs I can get for $22 each, with more-than-usual shipping. I haven't actually ridden either. I've heard good things about GPs for training, but Bicycling recently reviewed the Calypsos and liked them. Both are supposed to be adequate at everything, but not great at anything -- good for training. I need reasonable grip, good wear, good punture resistance, and not much more that $50 for a set.
re: Tire upgrade ?gmagee
Oct 29, 2001 3:55 PM
Thanks for everyones input I think cheap tires are fine for my needs.

Now should I go to a 25c instead of the 28c?

Thoughts please and thank you.
Grand Prix'sDean
Oct 30, 2001 5:12 AM
I have 2 sets of Grand Prix's and I will never buy another set. The sidewall has torn on two of my tires. I could understnad this if I was riding on bad roads or had horrible bike handling skills, but neither of these are true. Take a look at the review section, this seems to be a common problem with these. Keep in mind, this is only my experience, others here may have never had any problems. Good luck deciding.