RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Cold Weather riding questions(9 posts)

Cold Weather riding questionsGeko
Oct 27, 2001 2:27 PM
Anyone have any sugestions on anything cheap to wear that keeps you warm? I need to keep riding so I'm still fit in the winter months for swim team comming up. Any help is appreciated.

Lucas
am I having deja vu?filtersweep
Oct 27, 2001 2:52 PM
This was just discussed a day or so ago....

http://forums14.consumerreview.com/crforum?viewall@@.eee41a5

http://forums14.consumerreview.com/crforum?viewall@@.eee41a9
re: Cold Weather riding questionsDINOSAUR
Oct 27, 2001 3:41 PM
Try wearing a silk mock turtle neck. Last I looked Sierra Trading Post was having a sale around $30.00.
Pearl Izumi arm warmers @ Excel Sports $24.99 nmAllen az
Oct 27, 2001 4:54 PM
re: Cold Weather riding questionsLLSmith
Oct 27, 2001 5:22 PM
Look in the hunting section at your local Walmart, Kmart or Sports Authority. They have plenty of items to keep your feet, hands and head warm at low prices.
An old, cheap pair of polyester slacks ...Humma Hah
Oct 28, 2001 5:57 AM
... are comfortable and functional, if a bit Fred-ish. Cycling shops carry a velcro strap that goes around the right cuff to keep it out of the chainring.

At the moment, that's how I'm doing most of my riding. I'm commuting, have not gotten around to buying long tights yet (didn't need them in San Diego), and the ride is short enough I don't need to change clothes.
Ultra-cheap glovesmr tornado head
Oct 28, 2001 7:49 AM
Go with latex-disposable types (like, $1.30 for 10 pair) and a cheap pair of jersey gloves on top (got mine at the gas station for $1.19 one particularly cold day).

Because you're not worrying about a sterile environment you can reuse the latex gloves unless you tear them, but they are ment to be disposable.

The Latex keeps the heat in, and the jersey gloves keep your hands out of direct contact with cold stuff - metal of the h-bars, frame, etc.
Ultra-cheap glovesfiltersweep
Oct 28, 2001 12:55 PM
I can't imagine how awful your fingers smell- and that latex glove smell doesn't easily wash off- also it is a great way to develop a latex allergy.
Skull Capswink
Oct 29, 2001 8:03 AM
Skull caps that you wear under your helmut do a world of good. Got to keep your head warm to keep everything else warm. Next is the new boot covers...do wonders keeping your toes warm, but they look stupid, but who cares... We are out there. Also just bought a C'Dale cold weather riding jacket. Works great upper body was completely comfortable. This past Sunday it was 30 degrees and windy and I went out with:

Skull Cap
Winter Riding Gloves
Boot Covers
C'Dale Jacket
Leg Warmers
Regular Short Sleeve jersey under jacket
Regular riding shorts

Got cold between leg warmers and waste, every thing else was great. Next time I will wear long sleave cool max jersery to help with sweat.