RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Whic Italian Bikes are Not Good?(15 posts)

Whic Italian Bikes are Not Good?joeg26er
Mar 10, 2002 7:42 AM
I am still looking around for a nice road bike.

I have decided that a lightweight steel road bike would be the ideal.

Anyway, I am focusing on italy right now and there are Soooo many italian bikes out there. Are any of them bad/ poor quality or suffer from a lack of prestige?
(I Don't want to be stuck with a Hyundai-level italian bike...)

Which italian maker has the lightest steel road bike at the best value but still a good name?

Thanks
EncyclopediaKerry
Mar 10, 2002 9:28 AM
So, you want a list of all Italian bikes that suffer from bad/poor quality or a lack of prestige. Does this include bikes never imported into the US? Over what price range? Lightest bike at the best value with a good name - hmmmm. Sounds like you need a "Life Coach" rather than some bike recommendations. How about you make it simple for us and tell us what brands and models you're looking at? Otherwise, you've asked an un-answerable question.
Steel bikes in comparison to other frame materialsLone Gunman
Mar 10, 2002 9:39 AM
are not light. However steel seems to be the gold standard in ride characteristics that everyone seems to want to emulate. Having said that, Colorado Cyclist has a nice Tomassini, full bike for around $1700 with a great component group and GVH? website has a boatload of Italian steel frames that are all name brand and can be had for a good price as a full bike. Shop the sites and educate yourself and have fun doing it.
re: Whic Italian Bikes are Not Good?jtolleson
Mar 10, 2002 11:47 AM
I don't know about "not good." Most of the names that you'll find easily in the US (Tommassini, Torelli, Ciocc, Colnago, De Rosa, etc.) are all fine bikes. Colnago's Master XL and Bianchi's Boron might not be bad places to start for lightweight steel.

But as pointed out above, the question's pretty broad.
Any bike that someone can't aford is bad in their opinion ;o)Tig
Mar 10, 2002 1:35 PM
That also goes the other way too. Some people think any bike less than theirs is crap.

I'd check out WrenchScience.com http://www.wrenchscience.com/WS1/main.asp. They show an wide selection. There are some excellent steel bikes from Coppi and Ciocc that won't set you back as much as Fondriest, Colnago, or De Rosa, yet are known for their high quality. The Coppi Foco frame (pictured) at 2.81 lbs is definately worth a look.
You did not mention pricegrandemamou
Mar 10, 2002 4:34 PM
but a short list of inexpensive quality steel frames.
Bianchi boron, Gios compact pro, Tommisini Sintesi, and you may want to check out GVH bikes he has good prices on Viners not well known on this side but fine frames. I'm looking for an inexpensive trainer and the Viner's look mighty sweet. I'm sure there are lots of others but these are the ones I have either owned or know someone who owns.

As for bad frames I can't think of any but unless DeBernardi stopped using quick release paint they "may" be one to avoid.
So There are No Bad Italian Frames?joeg26er
Mar 10, 2002 6:57 PM
So, you guys are saying that there is no such thing as a bad italian frame?
No we did not say that at all..Lone Gunman
Mar 10, 2002 8:35 PM
I think the posters to your question gave you a great start point for your quest for an Italian steel frame. Go with the advice rendered, all frames mentioned are good to great. Now the next question is do want lugged or tig welded?
No we did not say that at all..mackgoo
Mar 11, 2002 6:04 AM
In my OPINION, there is nothing more beatiful than a lugged frame. I'm a Bianchi guy but they have stopped lugging their frames. Check out the Colnagos with those chrome lugged frames, PURRRRRTY.
I have a feeling if you went to Italy,guido
Mar 10, 2002 8:39 PM
you'd find some funky bikes manufactured in-country and sold in bike shops, but none of them would be exported to the US. American roadies have the bucks and only want the best. Our low end bikes all come from Asia, land of cheap Shimano component groups.
Of course there aregrandemamou
Mar 11, 2002 4:52 AM
but I haven't seen or ridden any. That does not mean that they are not out there. Rather than go on about what I have heard second or third hand, I thought it would be more helpful if I gave you some options on good bikes that I have had personal experiance with. The other posters seem to have taken the same approach. Unless you want to buy a bad bike or you are trolling the above advice from all posters is sound.
In the past the following have had negative commentsRayBan
Mar 11, 2002 5:58 AM
Crammerotti and Fondriest are 2 companies that had a bunch of negative things said about them. Poor weld quality, alignment problems etc. keep in mind this was in their earlier years but nevertheless. My guess is they've made improvements since then.
re: Whic Italian Bikes are Not Good?zero1
Mar 11, 2002 8:44 AM
i purchased a colnago mxl back in august and i love it...it weighs just a little over 19 lbs...i have mavic open pro wheels right now and i imagine if i changed them to a lighter wheel i could get it a little under 19 (just a guess though). also it really depends on your taste and what u want..do not let anyone make up your mind for you..if u have a lbs that would let you test ride that would be the thing to do.. ride safe
lighter does not always=better (nm)ColnagoFE
Mar 11, 2002 9:29 AM
of course it takes a colnago owner to make that comment :-)Spirito di Finocchio
Mar 11, 2002 9:56 AM
just playing