RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


how many miles on michelin axial kevlar?(8 posts)

how many miles on michelin axial kevlar?Js Haiku Shop
Mar 7, 2002 12:01 PM
expect what mileage
twenty three millimeter
axial kevlars?

understand do i,
conditions of road matter!
asking for ballpark.

must get tires this week--
to have replacements on hand.
so thanks in advance
limited mileage on my set, but...dsc
Mar 7, 2002 2:17 PM
I recently put a pair on my bike (last yr's version, BTW, w/ full kevlar belt).
This is my first time trying these tires, so I can only offer my limited experience with them, but here goes:

23mm axial selects, keep them inflated to about 105 psi (recommended psi for this version is 90 psi, 110 psi max.)
Ride mostly chip-sealed backroads, some smooth asphalt. Only have about 500 mi. on the pair so far; rear tire tread just starting to show wear, no visible wear at all up front.

Overall a decent handling tire for training (of course, I don't race), and the kevlar belt does seem to add a bit of extra flat protection when I can't avoid those roadside piles 'o glass. If you can get them at a decent price, I'd go for it.

-Debi
Took them to Alaska....Len J
Mar 7, 2002 2:41 PM
did 500 miles on bad roads there, & currently use them on the trainer. The rear one has 2000+ miles on it & looks none the worse for wear.

Len
re: how many miles on michelin axial kevlar?boneman
Mar 7, 2002 2:50 PM
First clincher's I bought after years on tubs. Switched due to heavy concentration of glass on London Roads. Worse than Boston or NYC where I used to ride for years before moving to the UK. I've gotten between 1,400 and 3,000 miles from a tire. I throw them out, not from tread wear, but when a serious casing cut occurs.

I ride them at about 100-105psi. The have very good traction in greasy conditions and are very easy to control in emergency stops in the wet. Better than Vredstein Fortezzas or Conti 3000 GP4's. Their ride's a bit harsh but that's not what you're buying. I've gone thorugh six of them covering about 12,000 miles in the last 2.5 years so I think they're fairly good tires. I'm not sure the new version, "improved", is as good a tire but I've not tried them.

Go look in the review section for more.
re: how many miles on michelin axial kevlar?simstress
Mar 7, 2002 2:54 PM
I started using these tires (700x23) last season. I got one flat from a huge industrial staple near a construction site. I did rides like Ride for the Roses and MS150 with no tire problems. They saw some trainer use too.

My computer was screwy till I replaced the battery recently, so I can't give accurate mileage. I'll just say they've been good to me for at least 1000 miles.
re: how many miles on michelin axial kevlar?theBreeze
Mar 7, 2002 4:16 PM
a pair of Kevlars.
slice in sidewall ruin one,
road glass is no fun!

lonely brother fine.
but only 500 miles,
so not long study

axial carbon
LBS said, to replace.
anyone else try?
re: how many miles on michelin axial kevlar?Jon Billheimer
Mar 7, 2002 4:25 PM
I ride on Axial Pros, and got 5000 mi. on the last pair. I inflate them to 120 psi, by the way.
re: how many miles on michelin axial kevlar?Js Haiku Shop
Mar 8, 2002 6:21 AM
thanks to all for words
purchase two pair tires did i
twenty percent off

checked reviews pre-post
but wanted real-time input
and up to date thoughts

thanks again for posts
have these on my bianchi
out of commission

upgraded contacts
replaced cables, bad shifter
pod is in the mail...

when again rolling
put miles on mich kevalrs
and report back here...