RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Not to start a Campy vs. Shimano war, but....(27 posts)

Not to start a Campy vs. Shimano war, but....Cima Coppi
Mar 6, 2002 5:52 AM
This comes straight from the horses mouth; a mechanic's views of using one component manufacturer over another. Now it is still early in the season, and after the Navigators put quality miles on their new bikes, the mechanics may think otherwise about the change to Campy. The following comes from the latest pro bike review on Cycling News:

http://www.cyclingnews.com/tech/2002/features/probikes/navigators.shtml

Note the paragraph that says "Campagnolo has been a dream for us to build up the bikes with. There was a bit of a learning curve at the start. But now we have the right tools and everything is going really smoothly. I guess this is kind of boring to hear, but that's a good thing from a mechanic's view point. The less work we do the more fishing I can do!"

Like I say, I am not trying to start a war, but this comes from a professional mechanic on a professional team. You can make your oun judgement. I already have.

CC
re: Not to start a Campy vs. Shimano war, but....Galibier
Mar 6, 2002 6:03 AM
The Campy comment you quote is all that's said about the components. If you're not trying to start a Campy-Shimano war, what exactly is your point? That a professional mechanic who acquires the right tools and learns to install Campy components can easily install them?
My point is this...Cima Coppi
Mar 6, 2002 7:08 AM
All too often on the board we dismiss the preferences of componentry with the disclaimer of by not putting in the miles that a professional cyclist puts in, we cannot possible draw conclusions as which component group is better than the other. Frankly, I do not care which component group is better. I chose to ride one company's components as personal preference, and since I have to purchase my own components, the choice is even more critical. However, I always like to read what the mechanics in the field of professional racing say about the different groups. In this case, I was intrigued to read the line "Campagnolo has been a dream for us to build up the bikes with", which, in my mind, says a lot about the component preferences of a mechanic. We all know, the cyclists themselves do not really care about the bikes they ride, as long as they do not fail when in matters most. Ask Tyler Hamilton or Erwin Vervecken about components failing when it mattered most, and I'm sure in the background their mechanics will be shaking their heads.

CC
Team mechanics not impartialBipedZed
Mar 6, 2002 7:31 AM
Last year this same mechanic showed an obvious personal bias towards Campagnolo while Navigators still ran Shimano. He allowed this bias to be known because Shimano was not an official sponsor in 2001.

Now that Campy is an official sponsor of course he will sing the praises of Campy components.

Ask a team mechanic that is officially sponsored by Shimano and see what answer you get. Regardless of any personal bias, the answer will be some sort of "Shimano is best components, eh?"

Like pro racers, I don't think you can read too much into what a team mechanic says on the record.
There is no doubt...Cima Coppi
Mar 6, 2002 7:57 AM
that a team mechanic will praise the components of the sponsor, but the sponsors are not looking for exposure from the mechanic. How often are the mechanics interviewed relative to the riders. The sponsor is getting exposure from the cyclists, so it is much easier for the rider to sing the praises of his/her bike/components/wheels.

We rarely get to see component failures that a team mechanic sees all the time. We do not really know what a mechanic on a professional team has to deal with late into the night we he is prepping the bikes for the next day's racing. Take the campy wheels, for example. You do not like the way the nipples are recessed, which makes truing them a pain in the behind. We have no idea what the mechanics of Telekom or Banesto think of this. It may be easy for them, since they replace tubulars nightly, and it is just easy to true up the wheels. Who knows?

This is why I take much greater interest in what a mechanic says about components than the rider.

CC
Sponsored teamsBipedZed
Mar 6, 2002 8:19 AM
"sponsors are not looking for exposure from the mechanic"

Your statement is absolutely false. The entire organization of a professional team, from the riders, directors, soigneurs, and mechanics - EVERYONE must promote the sponsors in a favorable light regardless of personal opinion or experience.

A team mechanic would be severely reprimanded or terminated if he stated in an official interview ANYTHING that would bring bad publicity to a sponsor and jeapardize the sponsor relationship.

I agree it would be great to really get the scoop on how equipment performs under the rigors of professional racing. But team mechanics are under the same obligation as riders to portray sponsors in the best light. You won't get a straight answer in a public interview from a currently employed team mechanic.
There's no war to be started,TJeanloz
Mar 6, 2002 6:24 AM
It just comes down to a division between the enlightened and the unenlightened. Someday they will see.
and the enlightened know that...gtx
Mar 6, 2002 9:22 AM
parts is parts.

Actually, from a mechanic's perspective, I always appreciated the fact that it's easier to get at the der cables with STI. Otherwise, no big diff.
re: Not to start a Campy vs. Shimano war, but....Elefantino
Mar 6, 2002 6:49 AM
... as cyclists we're lucky to have two good component companies that cater to everyone from the grand tours to the grocery stores.

We're also lucky to be arguing something of substance. Just think. We could be arguing:

• Maryanne vs. Ginger
• Ford vs. Chevy
• Chivas vs. Crown Regal
• Simmons vs. Serta
• Oatmeal vs. Cream of Wheat
• Trek vs. Cannon ...

Never mind.

FWIW,
Mike
that's easy...raboboy
Mar 6, 2002 6:54 AM
Maryanne
Ford
Crown Regal
Serta
Oatmeal
Cannondale

haha
Aha! It was a trick question.Elefantino
Mar 6, 2002 7:08 AM
It's Crown ROYAL, not Crown Regal. (It's Chivas Regal.)

OK, actually, I messed up.
Doh! :) nmraboboy
Mar 6, 2002 7:51 AM
plus one is a scotch the other canadien whiskeyagilis ti
Mar 6, 2002 10:46 AM
Careful there...in Canada that's spelled "whisky" w/o an "e" nmAhimsa
Mar 6, 2002 6:12 PM
Oh please...Ahimsa
Mar 6, 2002 7:19 AM
Now while Maryanne has oodles of country charm, wears skin tight blue jean shorts over her tiny bottom, and could probably bake better biscuits, Ginger is fire haired, buxom, bossom-y, smoky voiced, and starry eyed. Being a movie star, she is also probably loaded. No question Ginger is the only choice unless marriage is your intent.

Take Maryanne home to meet Mama.

Take Ginger off to a motel.

Oh...as for the rest...

Volkswagen

Maker's Mark

Sealy

Grits

Yep...Cannondale

Cheers! ( ;

A.
Maryanne - no contest - nmMcAndrus
Mar 6, 2002 7:10 AM
Those comparisons are easy...Cima Coppi
Mar 6, 2002 7:14 AM
Genie
BMW
Tuaca
Sealy
Malt-O-Meal
Any non-mass production custom frame.

CC
Yes! Genie!Ahimsa
Mar 6, 2002 7:23 AM
"Yes Master!"

Aaaaah.......that belly.

Cheers!

A.
re: Not to start a Campy vs. Shimano war, but....Dave Hickey
Mar 6, 2002 7:15 AM
1. Maryanne
2. Ford
3. neither- Corona
4. Serta
5. Oatmeal
6. neither- LOOK
and shimano................
Ginger by a mile :-) NMbadabill
Mar 6, 2002 7:21 AM
not trying to start a war ?badabill
Mar 6, 2002 7:42 AM
mines have been set, ammo stacked, fire away :-)Campy V Shimano, the great battle of our time. Frankly we are lucky to have 2 groups to choose from. Competition breeds inovation. I use shimano for the simple fact that it came on my first bike and has worked for me. It is more available in my area, and at races usually has a booth and a mech. or two. Does it work any better than campy? probably not, but I dont think campy is any better either. They are both quality products.
Here's my choice.slow-ron
Mar 6, 2002 8:08 AM
Campy ergo's are pure poetry. Re-buildable, reliable, light. Shimano a bit heavy, seem clunky non-rebuildable.

Campy hubs. I like the bearing design better.

Shimano hollowtech cranks and b.b. Much better design. Amazed how they manufacture these things. (How do they pull them out of the die-cast cavity, off subject.)

Brakes- I like Ultegra's. Lighter than Campy and I like the modulation better.

Chain- Both suck with terrible pins and special tools required and a bunch of other crap. SRAM is my choice

Derailleurs- toss up. I think Campy's look a bit nicer but I've never had problems with either.

My $.03
Your opinions mirror mine all the way down the line.Leisure
Mar 7, 2002 7:23 PM
Eerie. I sure hope you don't live near my house. Or perhaps that thing about great minds...
I'm going to replace my Campy cranks with FSA ISIS carbon pros. Take that, Hollowtech! And my checkbook! Doh!
By the way about Colnago CT-1 frames...tempeteKerouak
Mar 6, 2002 8:33 AM
Note that the same guy is mentionning how much work he's had to do with prepping the frames to receive the said components...

Not the kind of stuff you expect from the top of the top of the line...

"Here's your super expensive bike, finish it yourself!"
I run Campy but...DaveG
Mar 6, 2002 5:38 PM
I'm not sure why anyone cares so much what components other people use. I doubt any post here is going to get anyone to switch groups if they were not already inclined to do so.
Can I have an amen for Campy and the CT1 ........ :) nmCT1
Mar 6, 2002 6:06 PM
Can I have an amen for Campy and the CT1 ........ :) nmbornin1964
Mar 7, 2002 6:46 PM
Amen - Salvation is mine.