RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


My bike is driving me CRAZY!!!(13 posts)

My bike is driving me CRAZY!!!Barry
Mar 5, 2002 10:25 AM
I have a totally annoying little 'ticking' sound that seems to be coming from the left side of my Tiagra bottom bracket.

I have:
1- re-greased the threads on both sides of the bottom bracket
2- checked the crank arms to make sure they are not loose
3- greased and tightened all chainring bolts
4- checked for play in the rear hub

It 'ticks' on an irregular basis: not EVERY pedal stroke, but it happens especailly when I put a lot of pressure on the left pedal.

I think my next step is to buy a new bottom bracket and see if that helps.

HELP ME! Any ideas???
re: My bike is driving me CRAZY!!!Barnyard
Mar 5, 2002 10:27 AM
I remember in them olden days, my pedals would make noises. ????????
you may have dry nipplesquadzilla1
Mar 5, 2002 10:49 AM
I had the same problem (different components). Take off your tires & rim strips & drop a little lube down into the nipples & also a drop between the nipple & rim itself. Hopefully it'll help. Worked for me & doesn't cost anything to try!
re: My bike is driving me CRAZY!!!Galibier
Mar 5, 2002 10:51 AM
I had a similar problem a few years ago. It turned out to be my seat. Try lubing your seat rails and the connection with the seat post.
re: My bike is driving me CRAZY!!!Barry
Mar 5, 2002 3:56 PM
been there doen that...it ticks when I'm NOT sitting, too...

*what does a cracked aluminum frame sound like??
re: My bike is driving me CRAZY!!!Becky
Mar 5, 2002 10:54 AM
Pull your left pedal off, clean the threads well, load on the Park grease and reinstall. I had a similar problem that, after 2 or 3 rounds of cleaning and greasing well, disappeared. I also second the saddle rail suggestion, having been down that road as well.
Good luck!
re: My bike is driving me CRAZY!!!curlybike
Mar 5, 2002 11:20 AM
Take the bb out and use teflon tape on the bb threads. Replace the bb. If you have an alum. frame be carefull when you tighten the BB. The teflon tape makes the threads so slick, that you can strip the threads out of the frame if you tighten it as tight as it was.
and when you take the BB out ...weiwentg
Mar 5, 2002 12:27 PM
turn the spindle. see if there's any play or if the bearings feel gritty/rough.
How loud is it?Spoke Wrench
Mar 5, 2002 12:29 PM
Once I had a barely audible "tick tick" sound coming from my crank area. After LOTS of investigating it turned out to be the derailleur wire end hitting on the left crankarm. Only happened when the chain was on a certain chainring.
How loud is it?Barry
Mar 5, 2002 3:55 PM
very quiet. and very weird.

**what does a cracked aluminum frame sound like???
re: My bike is driving me CRAZY!!!Sharky
Mar 5, 2002 2:08 PM
Check your cleats. I once thought my bottom bracket was making noises and couldnt find it, ended up being my cleat. Take off your shoe and shake it. Strange but true
Longshot due to the "lot of pressure" thing, but...Ahimsa
Mar 5, 2002 4:56 PM
...can you get it to tick while on the stand? Grab hold of the left pedal and give 'er a good spin. Maybe you can find it easier than while riding? I know, it's a longshot to recreate that pressure, but hey...you asked for any ideas.

I'd also look at the brakes and wheels. I had a noise driving me crazy due to a poorly built front wheel that flexed when sprinting and rubbed the brake pad enough to make a sort of "click" sound. I tried everything to no avail and then built new wheels. Voila!

I think it's in your spokes though. Try different wheels and get back to us.

Cheers!

A.
my guessgtx
Mar 5, 2002 5:46 PM
everything you say leads me to believe that this is probably the common Shimano sealed bb creak--especially the left pedal part. I don't know why Shimano hasn't fixed this. They've known about it since they first introduced those bbs. I was working in shops at the time these first came out, and tons of bikes were coming back with creak complaints (especially AL frames which tend to amplify the sound). So I called Shimano. They told me to put Permatex non-drying gasket sealant (avaliable at hardware stores or auto supply stores) in the area where the bb cartridge body comes into conact with the inside of the non-drive side cup. You can put grease in there but it will go away after a while and the creak will come back. Some people use plumbers tape here, but I've used this method on tons of bikes and never heard one complaint. Good luck.