RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Sella italia SLR too light for big butt??? Or maybe an SUV??(9 posts)

Sella italia SLR too light for big butt??? Or maybe an SUV??Geof
Mar 4, 2002 1:28 PM
Seriously, what is the opinion of the ti railed SLR and a 195 rider? I'm considering one for my MTB, and possibly one for the road bike. I ride "lite", if that helps, but it prolly opens the can-o-flames. Any opinions are welcome.

And yes, I will still be driving my SUV, I personally own two, and a completely worthless, waste of money, no reason to ever own, totally impractical, Porsche 911... God, I LOVE internal combustion engines!!!
Huh? What does the seat have to do with the SUV? . . .morrison
Mar 4, 2002 1:40 PM
Don't get me wrong; I'm a big fan of Joycian stream of consciousness, but I like to make sure I know it when I see it.

195 ain't that bad, unless you are 5'4", like me. Then it's bad. How tall are you? Of course, this inquiry is totally irrelevant to the topic at hand which appears to be (in addition to a pointless (and, perhaps, partial) inventory of your vehicles) whether you will collapse the seat. Answer: No. But it might not be the most comfortable thing for you.

For comfort and classic style, my favorite is still the Brooks Pro. But it loses in the weight department and, frankly, looks a little silly on a compact ti frame.
precisely the point... Nothing...Just like the posts below :-)nmg-money
Mar 4, 2002 2:42 PM
.....
Jury is still outColnagoFE
Mar 4, 2002 1:42 PM
Only a 100 miles or so on mine so far and it took a while to dial it in for position. Gotta get some better weather and some 4+ hour rides in to really judge whether it is comfortable for the long haul, but 1-3 hour rides seem just fine. I think my Flites and Flite gel might be a tad more comfortable, but not a lot. I weigh 195-200 BTW. Don't think I'd use this for MTB as it is just too damn liteweight for my weight--i wouldn't trust it.
re: Sella italia SLR too light for big butt??? Or maybe an SUV??Troyboy
Mar 4, 2002 2:16 PM
Well, currently I've got an SLR on one and a Flight on another that I'm comparing. After about 500 miles on the SLR I thought the Flight had it won. However, as I put more miles on the SLR and continue to push the center of it down in an attempt to get it soften in the center and maybe even create a 2 mm or so dip, it gets more and more comfortable. I'm not 195 though. Hope this helps.

If this trend continues, I'll soon dump the flight for another SLR or maybe an evolution or TT for my crit ride.
hey geof... ya got it all wrong.....Spirito di Finocchio
Mar 4, 2002 2:41 PM
the 2 suv's in my opinion are worthless, wastes of money, and impractical with no reason to own.

but the porsche ahhh the porsche......:-)

now let get this straight ... the way i read it it sounds like you were trying to be intentionally self deprecating with regard to porsche ownership so as not to sound like a wanker..... but it only makes you sound like a...

you own a porsche. thats cool - no shame nor reason to make excuse for.. it is a finely engineered and well deigned car that is also very classic, has excellent pedigree and is sexy. in fact i say well done - enjoy it. we all like and appreciate fine and fast bikes as we do cars but by bringing the topic of cars which i cannot see a relevance to the thread you posted please tell me what you were trying to say?
You read it just right... just a jab to the latest trend here...g-money
Mar 4, 2002 3:26 PM
And the fact that I own these vehicles and am happy that I do. (I use them for what they are intended) not trips to 7-eleven, although they hold lot's of slurpee's!!! I'm just playing into the hand of Cosmic-whoever just to make a bit of a point. The point is the argument is excessive and irrelevant on this board. Just like the odd way I put the question... Pointless.

In terms of self depreciation, I simply stated these things to show that I like to drive things that I ENJOY, whether it's an SUV, Porsche whatever. A few years ago this band wagon was riding the excessive "luxury" car market and it's evil empire... Along with the Caddy, the Lincoln towncar etc. So if I came across a bit "snobby" so-be-it... Not my intention. I own the Porsche simply because I've wanted one since I was a kid and I purchased the one I could afford... No status, no hype, simply German engineering at it's finest.
New model ? Selle Italia SUV for big butts? :) nmDaveL
Mar 4, 2002 4:41 PM
I have 2...SLRs that is...biknben
Mar 5, 2002 6:01 AM
I have an SLR on my road and MT bike. They seem to be plenty durable. I'm at 160#s. The one on my MTB is taking a beating but shows no sign of wear.