RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Which would you buy? Seven or Merlin?(19 posts)

Which would you buy? Seven or Merlin?pa rider
Mar 4, 2002 9:28 AM
My LBS is going to sell Seven this spring, but already has Merlins. I asked him if their are any advantages between the two bikes. Kellogs (Not sure if I got the name right) designed the Merlin model (compact) and now starting to make sevens on his own.

If the price is going to be the same. Which would you buy? I also would like some feedback on why you pick the one over the other.
Thanks,

Emory
re: Seven of causecyclopathic
Mar 4, 2002 9:33 AM
Merlin is not the same after LS bought them out
Neither - both overpriced, go with Serotta or HollandTurbocharged
Mar 4, 2002 9:45 AM
:-)
you meancyclopathic
Mar 4, 2002 9:55 AM
only posers would buy either? hmm ;-P
LOL that's was pretty good :-)Turbocharged
Mar 4, 2002 10:01 AM
.
Serotta is generally morejtolleson
Mar 4, 2002 12:11 PM
At least with the pricing I did, the Serotta ti is more than the Seven axiom, unless you get the entry level Serotta ti. Both the Concours and Legend were more than the Seven, and custom sizing costs extra (unlike the Axiom).

So, I'm a little puzzled by one who would call Seven overpriced and then recommend Serotta. They are pretty darn similar price points, my research indicates.
What a crockagilis ti
Mar 4, 2002 10:02 AM
Just another can't like anything because it is litespeed basher. I have had Merlins on and off for years and I can tell you that the 2002 Agilis that I am riding now is every bit as well made as the ones from the past.
ha!cyclopathic
Mar 4, 2002 11:17 AM
you know what? if I ever get around to buy dedicated TT bike it will probably be Blade. take this mister "too-quick-to-jump-to-conclusions"
Not sure what that statement proves except that...agilis ti
Mar 4, 2002 11:20 AM
you still have not provided any reasoning behind any of your assertions.
Another neither vote. nm.Troyboy
Mar 4, 2002 9:52 AM
I'd pick the one that rides the best.Elefantino
Mar 4, 2002 10:23 AM
If your LBS already has Merlins and you're not convinced by testing that you like that bike, then I would suggest that the Merlin is not for you and you should consider waiting for the Sevens. They are excellent bikes, customs at no extra charge.

However, if you have ridden the Merlin and you like it, I see no benefit in waiting. It is a solid make with a good and long-time reputation (although, like any, that has its detractors) and therefore poses no risk. You should consider buying it.

If you have not yet ridden the Merlin, then the "this bike vs. that bike" is theoretical.

FWIW,
Mike
thanks.pa rider
Mar 4, 2002 11:23 AM
LBS has merlin in one size smaller for me. Said I could demo the bike on a thirty mile ride. I notice on websites that model I was interested in (Agisus; sorry about spelling) is in compact model only.

The LBS has 2001 models on display, so I wasn't sure if the 2002 seven would be better because who making them. I don't want to buy a high end lite speed. I asked LBS if lite speed is going to do a Trek (when they bought Kleins, and Fisher) on the merlin models.

He told me they will be independant.

Thanks
re: Which would you buy? Seven or Merlin?Bikewithadam
Mar 4, 2002 11:45 AM
I would go with neither--get a Spectrum.

As someone else pointed out, Tom Kellogg designed the Merlin geometries. He also has his own company, Spectrum. The welding is done by Merlin, everything else by Spectrum. That way you can get a personal Ti frame from a small builder while still being assured that the welding is done with the best industrial technique, as working with Ti can be difficult. (Needs to be joined under an inert atmosphere.) Seven is very nice, but I've seen all of the above and I believe the welds to actually be better on Merlin. Furthermore, just because Litespeed owns them and has the two plants on the same campus does not mean that they roll off the same assembly line--quite to the contrary. Hasn't anyone ever heard of a holding company before? I think the dubious lack of business saavy displayed in these Litespeed/Merlin discussions is ridiculous. If you do a side-by-side comparison between the massachusetts merlins and the new merlins you'll most likely be satisfied.

I'd encourage you to look at Spectrum. They're custom in every imaginable respect, you get a nice balance between having a personal touch and knowing that you're getting a solid product, and the customer service is KILLER. I know. I've bought a bike from Tom.

I think in the end, if your heart is set on Ti, you won't go wrong with any of them. They're just different options.
re: thanks. Do you have a website for spectrum?pa rider
Mar 4, 2002 2:31 PM
re: thanks. Do you have a website for spectrum?roy Zipris
Mar 4, 2002 4:29 PM
http://www.spectrum-cycles.com/
Buy seven merlins. Then you have it covered. nmmorrison
Mar 4, 2002 1:45 PM
COKE is different to PEPSI.....Spirito di Finocchio
Mar 4, 2002 2:27 PM
trust me i have a criminal conviction to prove it.

but with regards to your post perhaps you could enquire with both manufacturers what their view is of the other frame. and then go with whoever tells you the less bullshit. cant go wrong. anyone that is honest about a competitor and their merits will also be fair and straightup about the actual qualities of their own frames.

if they both give you a lot of garbage about the other (which is my guess) then explain to them that you want to build a bike with the fork and chainstays of the merlin with the main tubes of the seven > thus by proving that the frankenTi is no better or worse than the original variants and in doing so you will turn the cycling world on its ear and debunk all the crap and mythology about frames once and for all.

just go with whatever you really feel it will be fine and you wont know any different - the more opinions you ask the more youll end up being a consumer and less of a cyclist. once you start buying into these never ending arguaments then there will always be doubt in your head.

i always go for the best paint or prettiest... yes laugh all you want.... but i have been happy with every frame i own and have never felt i had made a mistake. some where heavier than others, some climbed better, some handled better, some fitted better and in all i have never given thought as to which was the best as they all had their nice qualities. do you really think if there was one frame that was better than all the others without doubt we wouldnt know about it? just think about it.

damn im opinionated sometimes.....

and let me tell you somethin' mister

coke is sure different than pepsi
agree. chose the one w/the best paint scheme.colker
Mar 4, 2002 3:15 PM
frivoulities always point us to the right path.
re: Which would you buy? Seven or Merlin?cash
Mar 4, 2002 5:01 PM
you can contact chris at merlin or roy at seven via email or phone and work it out.. I promise you that you will be thrilled with either choice..
i have a test ride set up for an odonata this week and an extralight for next week . followed by an axiom..

you cant go wrong...
the only possible mistake is if your skill level is not very high and that you just don't need that much bike/cash outlay..
the important question regards what you need.. the bikes are beautiful.. and customer service is great..
luck...
keep us posted and i will let you know which one i choose...