RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Colnago's ad50-USA Color Scheme(23 posts)

Colnago's ad50-USA Color SchemeSlipstream
Mar 4, 2002 6:38 AM
Has anyone seen this color scheme?

I want one...

http://www.trialtir-usa.com/2002-colnago/colors/c40/c40-ad50.html

re: Colnago's ad50-USA Color SchemetheBreeze
Mar 4, 2002 7:11 AM
looks like post-9/11 catering to the jingoistic masses. makes me gag...
It's called marketing...Velocipedio
Mar 4, 2002 7:27 AM
Colnago believes that the "post-9/11 jingoistic masses" will buy anything with the stars and stripes on it.

They're probably right.
re: Colnago's ad50-USA Color Schemepmf1
Mar 4, 2002 7:29 AM
I think this was the color scheme of the bike ridden by the winner of the US Pro race. I can't recall his name, but didn't he ride for Mapeii? I think the paint job was to compliment the US Pro jersey which looks similar.

Perhaps someone who follows bike racing closer than I do could fill in the blanks. At any rate, I don't think its "post-9/11 catering to the jingoistic masses".

Why is everyone so negative here?
yupgtx
Mar 4, 2002 7:42 AM
I think you are right. I think Merckx made a stars and stripes version recently for Freddie Rodriguez (and maybe he used to ride for Mapei?) and now it's available to consumers (you'll see a pic if you scroll down). And yeah, I don't see anything wrong with it. Kinda cool, actually.

http://www.cbike.com/merckx_teamsc_domo.htm
Bingo!pmf1
Mar 4, 2002 7:47 AM
Thanks -- I knew I saw a Mapei rider on a stars and stripes C-40 --- and that was LONG BEFORE 9-11. Kind of a cool way to show off a member of your team is the winner of his country's national champ road race. Only Italians would think of this.
Colnago trying to take advantage of a tradgedyTurbocharged
Mar 4, 2002 10:09 AM
Tell me the boys in Italy ever would have made a C-40 which said both Colnago and USA on the bike had it not been for 911. Bad taste IMO. Nice looking bike though.
Colnago trying to take advantage of a tradgedypmf1
Mar 4, 2002 10:32 AM
You'll never see one matched up with anything but Shimano components on the teams they sponser.
Colnago trying to take advantage of a tradgedyTJeanloz
Mar 4, 2002 11:21 AM
Northwave made stars and stripes shoes a few years ago. Those bastards must have been trying to capitalize on 9-11. The bike, and paint scheme, actually appear in the 2001 and 2000 catalogs- it existed long before 9/11, and was said to be more popular in Europe than in the U.S. Of course, in the U.S., we'd like our bikes to have a Euro flag.

The bikes were, of course, designed to compliment Fred Rodriguez's stars and bars jersey.
Colnago trying to take advantage of a tradgedyjaybird
Mar 4, 2002 1:31 PM
Thanks for jumping on this TJ...

Has anyone ever heard of the saying "It's better to keep your mouth shut and be thought of as an idiot, than to open it and remove all doubt" Funny how a little bit of research could have saved a lot of face...
That's my mottopmf1
Mar 5, 2002 6:34 AM
And one a few folks on this board should adhere to as well. That Colnago paint scheme was available long before 9-11.

Does anyone fault Voler for coming out with flag jerseys? I heard there was a rush on them and they did a bunch more due to high demand. What about companies making American flags? Guess those guys were cashing in on it too. Shameless.
bad taste????Spirito di Finocchio
Mar 4, 2002 3:03 PM
spent 8 weeks in downtown manhattan (i live Bronx) and the whole time i was amazed at how many people did what i feel is a natural thing and came to see it and feel it with their own eyes for all different reasons then i watched in horror as the majority of the people instinctively turned around and bought miniature flags and momentos by the bus load from all the street vendors in the immediate are.

i watched a nation of people who all immediately started buying and waving flags and pins and baseball caps and momentos and t-shirts from some collective pride/guilt thing. i still dont know why.

BUT none of this merchandise had money directed to those affected and in need. most of the merchandise was produced overseas.

all of that money spent on flag waiving patriotism (which i feel doesnt help anyone) could have been spent somehwere and gone to a host of better and more important things.

im still picking up flag debree and paraphernalia in and around the city as all it seems to have ended up as is junk that nobody wants anymore and only had a short term use. for who's benefit - you tell me.

at least on a frame its likely to be kept seen and appreciated and it isnt pretending to be anything else nor does it reek of a psychophant reaction as i havent read that colnago are denying making money on it.

not my cup of tea but i dont consider it a bad thing.
Serottatarwheel
Mar 4, 2002 8:11 AM
Serotta has a similar paint scheme available. I couldn't find it on their website, but one of our local bike shops has had one on their showroom for a while -- long before 9/11.
it was Fred RodriguezRayBan
Mar 4, 2002 8:29 AM
Eddy Merckx has a Fred Rodriguez commemorative stars and stripes Team SC bike in the red white and blue stars and stripes scheme. BUT I think the Colnago stars and stripes paint job is WAY nicer than the Merckx. I used to have a Merckx Team Motorola MX leader and that thing was a beauty. I used to love hammering out the annual 4th of July Metric century on that thing. Man those were the days....
err, no actually they made these for F. Rodriguezlonefrontranger
Mar 4, 2002 11:26 AM
when he won the U.S. championships.

It was so popular, they decided to make it a stock color. It's been stock since the beginning of the '01 season.
AWESOME!!! WHERE DO I SEND MY CHECKBob in Indiana
Mar 4, 2002 7:27 AM
Nothing wrong with marketing patriotism to Americans, who happen to be feeling particularly patriotic, in my opinion. In some ways, that can be seen as supporting us... but even if it's shameless pursuit of profits, that's called a free market! More power to 'em!

Very cool bike!
Repainting frame w/Stars & StripesSlipstream
Mar 4, 2002 8:27 AM
Does anyone know if those who repaint frames can do one in this version? And how much it would cost?
re: Repainting frame w/Stars & StripesElefantino
Mar 4, 2002 8:43 AM
Don't know who does Colnago, but Joe's Painting in Watsonville, Calif., specializes in painting carbon frames.
Who can do a steel frame w/Stars & StripesSlipstream
Mar 4, 2002 8:50 AM
I have an old lugged Reynolds 453 steel frame that I considering repainting (it does not need it--but). It would be a pet project I suppose. The frame is in great condition, about 20 years old and has absolutely no rust or pitting on the chrome.
correction: reynolds 531 (nm)Slipstream
Mar 4, 2002 9:29 AM
Joe's does all kinds. (nm)Elefantino
Mar 4, 2002 10:04 AM
re: Colnago's ad50-USA Color SchemeDINOSAUR
Mar 4, 2002 8:51 AM
I've seen a Master X-Light with this paint, but it looks too white because of the chrome seat and chain stays. The C-40 is nice on the eyes because of the black accents. It would be definitely different...would I want one? I don't know..I love that color blue..
have you seen the Cannondales?853
Mar 5, 2002 8:48 AM
You guys are complete idiots!!
The colnagos were available along time ago!!
The new Stars and Stripes from Cannondale, were painted after 9/11. I believe $50.00 dollars goes to firefighters scholarship fund. They are being sold at my local bike shop,
for $599.00 - very sweet looking!!