RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


FYI(13 posts)

FYIcosmicallyconscience
Mar 3, 2002 6:04 PM
You know, a lot of people have complained about me doing what many of these same people do every day on this board. That is speak my mind about something that is very dear to me. I have been flamed for expressing my views on global warming and how bicycles can help solve this problem. I have been very sincere in presenting my views. I read that people are sick of me and my views, and yet more and more people are reading these post and responding. Like my views or not, they do evoke a lot of emotions. Maybe you are upset that a subject that you have posted only has 30-40 people read it while mine is closing in on 2000 in just a little over 12 hours. I had no idea that my post would evoke such feelings. I just had to say what was on my mind, and yet you hate me and insult me for it. These are my opinions and view. I am not making you believe them. I am just asking you to ride more instead of drive. I believe this would make the world a better place to live. What is so bad about that? The world is full of people who don't think alike. I never resorted to calling anyone names. I had to endure the name calling throughout today. You wish to call me a kid on a computer, which is farthest from the truth. These same people throw four letter words at me. Ask yourself who is the child? I only used this form to celebrate the bicycle and tell how it can reduce pollution which will cut down on greenhouse gasses that are destroying the ozone and causing global warming. I am sorry this subject upsets so many people, but this is a subject we must deal with each and every day for the rest of our lives. We have a chance to make it better. I hope you choose the right way to do that, and not continue down the path of life in your SUVs.
Thank you,
Eugene Kaudill
"A Short History of Civilization"Slipstream
Mar 3, 2002 6:54 PM
I believe it was written by John Steinbeck.

It goes something like this...

This guy discovered fire, he then took it back to the clan. They called him a freak, killed him, then adopted fire.

Another guy invented the wheel, he made the mistake of showing it to his village. They called him a freak, killed him, then adopted the wheel.

Although your ideas may have merit in the long run, you have been attacked for being a freak because they are not within the mainstream. That is the price paid.

I defend your right to express your feelings and I condemn those who are unable to disagree with you without slamming or flaming you. People can be critical and even express strong opinions without going to the extreme of flaming others.

I have seen some really great, funny, thoughtful and thought provoking discussions on this board, a good example is the one on "Cycling with diabetes." The one on "things found on the side of the road" was simply classic and the ones on GPS, cadence and painting were informative.

Perhaps the thing to keep in mind is what Spirito di Finocchio said, "All cyclists are family."

...it also might help to try to stay on point on this board and not get sucked into sidebars.
ohhh..=-)....how sweet that you remembered me...Spirito di Finocchio
Mar 4, 2002 4:53 AM
i wont take any special claim for "All cyclists are family" as its a common notion that we all, by the very act of contributing to this forum verify. but i will agree with you that the majority of threads on this site are of great depth, informative and great reading (read hilarious) even if some are oft repeated. as a group bound by a similar practice or passion i would say cyclists are very rich and full of both wit and intelligence.

with respect to mr. conscience;

whilst i definately feel the thoughts he espouses are of a serious nature and not to be undermined he just may be preaching to the mostly converted as we all know the practical benfits of the 2 wheel drug that has us aching for its blissfull fix.

also we all see the crap on the roads, we all have had to breathe the fumes, we have all seen how much reliance on motor vehicles has cut into and scarred such beautifull natural surrounds. and yes we would all look for any excuse to jump on a bike for a quick thrill for seemingly any purpose if we can do so rather than use the motor. the benfit might only be small but sand dunes are made of lots of single pieces of sand.

the motor vehicle as we know it will always exist and unfortunately as much merit as this country deserves it is far behind the rest of the world in terms of lessening the damage caused by seeking simpler alternatives and more efficient means. they are already out there but cultural notions and accepted practices of any society, especially one as steeped in this one in terms of invicibility, will take a lot more ingenious and innovative ways to induce and woo an economical and sober approach to the damage and cost of our 4 wheel icons.
this is only a part of an issue that needs to be adressed and understood as time is well past nigh.

BUT....by the very act of any of us being on our bikes on the side of the road we are subliminaly sowing thought in every motorists mind that drives past. there is no better advertisement than that. the sight of someone on a bike happy to be going somewhere or perhaps going nowhere and that it is very easy and has its owns secret benefits. a lot of them wonder why and what motivates us especially as a large group of motorists still view cyclists as a strange breed. strange things also fascinate and intrigue and sometimes woo and beckon. happened to me.

we all know there is not a lot to think of when sitting in a car. so when a cyclist zooms past or is just ambling along it stirs a feeling inside the majority of the every human being which is one of joy and freedom and ease - a happy feeling. almost every one that has coincidentally seen my love of bikes starts getting all fond and all vividly remeber their first bike and their first ride. i would dare to say more people have dreamt of bikes as children than cars. we imagined how the world would be infinitely more fascinating and joyous if only we woke up on christmas morning to find a big badly wrapped item that could only be two wheels and pedals to turn them. if all non cyclists rekindle their bike lust and joy then we are half ay there.

the sad fact is that most of the world is a mess and its not getting prettier. baldly stating facts and ramming them home has never worked (try being a parent or a teacher) but i implore you to use your energy and obvious awareness and intelligence in ways that are more conducive to solution and more likely to inspire the aims of the cause.

simple psycholgy tells me that prodding a group like those in this forum who are aware of the issue and party to the cause with intonations that they are neglectful and ignorant and hippocrits will never go down well. fronting up a topic and saying " im worried about whats going on id like to do something" - that you are prepared to donate some time and are looking for help to organise a bike event with both social and raceworthy attributes for all types of riders with the aim of raising ecological awareness and the benefits of two wheel adventures will not only bring the good and scincere of this forum to the fore but will also be infinately of more benefit. otherwise your efforts here will simply be an act of mental masturbation.

as much as i am not real keen on organised mass rides i would welcomely sign up and look to attract sponsorship for a bike event called - say...."two wheels for the world" or whatever. especially if the object for the monies raised are to provide for more bike lanes in cities and rural areas, more adequate storage and facilities for parking bikes, funds for agencies that are in place for cleaning up the roads and even for those who will lobby and promote awareness of the effect of exhaust emissions and provide solutions to decrease them. (there are a lot of event just like this in place already).

and ill gaurantee you that no-one would consider you a master of trolling but rather someone who deserves respect for their noble and genuine concern for all others and for those who will inherit the world we left them.

"if this be error, and upon me be proved -
i never writ, nor no man ever loved" (william baby)

you are doing the right thing but going the *hate to say this* wrong way about it. this is not criticism but is merely advice.

*sing*..."....JUST A SPOONFULL OF SUGAR HELPS THE MEDICINE GO DOWN, THE MEDICINE GO DOWN...."

and now after all that niceness i would just like to be more of my jerk self and voice that i think Gregg and all others involved in this site have no spirit of cycling in their souls until we get a *(&*%cking seperate forum for the pure adulation and purpose of waxing lyrically in the vain and elitist world of retro-grouch/classic/downtube-shifting/lugged steel/cycling-cap-waving/better in the old days old skool bikes.

it would be such a beautifull thing and i am sure it would be very much appreciated by many not just those in the SPIRIT OF FENNEL ;-)

sheet i think ive taxed all my thought for the rest of the week and its only monday morning. OUCH!

oh... the pic has no releveance whatsoever but i know that the peeps' will look as we all do ... and besides looking at a nice pic is nice ;-)
Some great commentary; the visual is nice too...Slipstream
Mar 4, 2002 6:06 AM
Spirito,

where do you get these gems?

"...the benefit might only be small but sand dunes are made of lots of single pieces of sand."

but I really like the idea of a ride called:

"two wheels for the world"

COOL IDEA, or maybe something like "Wheely Wacky Woad Ride"

It is too early; it's Monday. OUCH!
You're joking right????Turbocharged
Mar 4, 2002 9:58 AM
This cretin hasn't been attacked for his ideas at all! As a matter of fact, many in here probably agree with much of what he has to say. His problems are multiple. First he believes that anyone who does not completely agree with him is evil. He also hasn't a clue as to what forum to correctly present his ideas in. Sorry, but roadbikereview is not the place to be spewing on and on about environmental issues unless they are cycling specific. This idiot has blasted everyone from Trek corporation for giving George Bush a bike to George Bush to cows making green gas. He hasn't bothered to present a schred of real data to back up any of his complete bullshit. He just spews on and on throwing enough shit at the wall and hoping that eventually some of it sticks.

This guy deserves all the wrath he has received in here and then some. When he begins to listen to the opinions of others with an open mind, presents his ideas with some supported facts and learns how and what forums to present them in he'll probably be much better received. Right now what the guy is doing definitely is not helping his cause. Quite to the contrary, he's turning people off to him and his causes because of his extreme views, complete lack of tolerance for the views of others and his pure stupidity of not knowing where to present his case, how to present his case and when to shut up. I have seen hundreds like him in my life, great talkers, no information to back any of it up and horrible listening skills. It's what we common folk call a PUTZ!
PUTZzzzzzzz.....;-)Spirito di Finocchio
Mar 4, 2002 10:15 AM
thats the noise my cat makes when i put cytomax in her water dish

hee hee
Please stop trolling...cyclaholic
Mar 3, 2002 7:37 PM
Eugene, though I tend to side with you philosophically, I must accuse you of trolling! Your posts aren't helping. In fact, they are bad for your cause. If you continue with your repeated postings, it is correct to label you as a troll.

There is no point to go on and on with us.

My advice to all who read this thread is to ignore it.
dittoweiwentg
Mar 3, 2002 8:25 PM
... and this, too, comes from someone who agrees with you philosophically.
you'll get them all mad at us, I tell you.
what i would give to hook you into a ditch!(nm)merckx56
Mar 3, 2002 7:59 PM
cosmicallyconscience = Cherry1 ?firstrax
Mar 3, 2002 8:07 PM
The other side isn't any better...cyclaholic
Mar 3, 2002 8:18 PM
In that last painful interminable thread, some writers added something like 15 or so posts that continued a digressing, non-cycling discussion that did nothing to help this board.

I have no problem labelling CC and Cherry1 as trolls, but I may be able to say the same about people who add 15 posts to a rambling and pointless discussion.

The sword always cuts both ways.
please.....FOAD!!!! (NM)bic
Mar 3, 2002 11:33 PM
re: FYISnowBlind
Mar 4, 2002 7:38 AM
Martyr! Martyr!

"God's bodykins, man, much better: use every man
after his desert, and who should 'scape whipping?" -Hamlet