RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Painting my best friend...(19 posts)

Painting my best friend...Djudd
Mar 3, 2002 12:30 PM
I need some suggestions or better yet pictures of well painted bikes. I'm going to get my favorite re-painted, a Bridgestone RB-1. I want something unique but I am not a flames or polkadots kind of guy. I was thinking of some sort of powderflake and clearcoat. I don't know...can I get some help?

Thanks
re: Painting my best friend...cosmicalyconscience
Mar 3, 2002 1:00 PM
Do you realize what paint does to the enviorment?
re: Painting my best friend...cosmicallyconscience
Mar 3, 2002 2:50 PM
Good point my environmental brother!
Eugene Kaudill
looks like I've been had...Djudd
Mar 3, 2002 3:08 PM
Judging from the above reply by "cosmicallyconscience" I should have saved my "intelligent debate" argument for a more worthy subject (read my post under the "Boycott cosmicallyconscience" post) I guess I should stayed out an hour or two longer on my Sunday ride. This guy is probably Cherry1 or his sibling
looks like I've been had...SnowBlind
Mar 4, 2002 7:40 AM
Same failed cloning experiment...

Science is no picnic.
re: Painting my best friend...jtolleson
Mar 3, 2002 1:10 PM
Check out the Landshark paint jobs on the gvhbikes.com (there may be some good samples directly on the Landshark site too).
Lugged or tigged?Spoke Wrench
Mar 3, 2002 1:32 PM
Rebuilding it stock or do you have some quirky ideas for this bike?

My Retro-Grouch bike is an RB-2. Currently it's a 105 triple with an Ultegra wheelset, wide range 7-speed cassette and an XT rear derailleur. Bar end shifters or course.

Oh the paint. I don't have any innovative ideas at all. Sorry.
re: Painting my best friend...von flash
Mar 3, 2002 2:27 PM
I sent my Trek back to Trek some time ago, and they did a splendid job. Bridestone might be able to do the same for you.
sad to sayDjudd
Mar 3, 2002 3:14 PM
Bridgestone Bicycles is no more. Thanks for the suggestion
Did mine last year ...Humma Hah
Mar 3, 2002 3:55 PM
Humma Hah got a Camero silver-grey powdercoat job, restoration of the Schwinn decal, and a custom decal with its name on the chainguard. Clearcoating was well worth it. The before/after photos are on my website, tomligon.com, under Hobbies.

The work I had done was by Jim Cunningham's outfit, CyclArt, in Vista, CA. The job cost 4x what the bike sold for new, but I've never regretted it. It is holding up much better than the original paint or the decades-old self-inflicted first repaint.

Jim has done a lot of very fancy stuff, can also restore rusted hulks to look like new, and has a lot of old bikes and bike parts in stock. Mine was one of his simpler jobs.
Since I am slowly approaching the same...Lone Gunman
Mar 3, 2002 4:22 PM
crossroads for getting a paint job, naturally I want quality for a 24 year old frame that is lugged steel and not that valuable to a collector but it is to me. I have discovered:
www.spectrumpowderworks.com
www.airglowpainting.com
www.cyclart.com

Powdercoating seems to be the latest and greatest in frame paint, very durable, etc. Decals, anything you might want or copies can be reproduced from photos or they might have them in the data base and can print on demand. Chroming. They have plenty of pictures. Cyclart may do great work but I am leary of a company that is unwilling to sell a set of decals to someone unless they get to do the paint work. They also sell used and NOS parts, some at a significant markup.

There is a site www.classicrendevzous.com that has lots of pics of old bikes. My bike is candy apple red with only the fork tips chromed. I am thinking of adding additional chrome accents and getting the paint Ice Blue with gold lettering I have chosen as the original decals look pathetic. The options are endless, I sort of think the color reflects the age of the bike and the Ice Blue Aqua Velva fits this old bike geeks taste and style
Thanks, I've actually been...Djudd
Mar 3, 2002 4:41 PM
in touch with Airglow. Cyclart is in San Diego, I'm really hesitant about sending this bike across the country, under any scenario.(I know it sounds obsessive but this bike really means a lot) I've e-mailed Airglow (they are in Atlanta) and am now at the procrastination stage where I hesitate, scratch my head, and stare longingly at the bike hoping for the best.
One of the singlespeeders at MTBReview ...Humma Hah
Mar 3, 2002 5:10 PM
Goes by the handle "BigRing", name is Ronnie, does some cycle painting. He showed us some of his work, and it is nice. When he started, he offered to paint HH for the price of the paint. He has a decal shop he can have decals made at, but does not do them himself. I declined for the same reason as you, not wanting to send my precious friend so far.

I chose CyclArt because they were a half-hour drive away, and I could go in and select the decals personally. Now that I'm back on the east coast, Atlanta does not sound so far away.
What was your impression...Lone Gunman
Mar 3, 2002 7:12 PM
Of Airglow? Good, bad or ugly? I too would like to have the frame done locally, but if I do what I am thinking it could get expensive. And I too look at the frame at this point stripped of crappy decals and the paint looks okay, but I want it to be better than original and with the parts I am replacing (wheelset,tires, freewheel, saddle, bars that fit me) the bike should be a joy to ride in the retro way again. I have not had that frame on the road in 14 years and have no idea how it rides, as when I rode it and retired it to trainer duty, there was only steel. This weekend I put all the cleaned and polished parts back on the frame and am going to ride it and make the determination as to whether to continue with a full blown chroming and paint scheme or just paint or something in between. I need to have some wheels built up, tires and a chain and I have a complete bike.
re:What was your impression...Djudd
Mar 3, 2002 7:40 PM
I've e-mailed them several times and always found them to be cooperative and forthcoming. They were recommended to me by a few riders in this area(Wash.DC). Retired for 14 years? Wow, that's like going to a high school reunion, good luck!!
Does Spectrum answer emails?bigdave
Mar 4, 2002 10:56 AM
Spectrum's stuff seems sweet... I am pretty much ready to give them a whirl, but they don't seem to answer email.

I realize I can just call them, but why do they even have an internet presence if they don't answer their email???

--Dave
Joe Bell paints bikesJaeP
Mar 3, 2002 6:50 PM
Don't forget about Joe Bell. He's the greatest. He paints bikes for Richard Sachs, Rivendell[?](BTW, the owner of Rivendell bikes used to run Bridgestone bicycles), and master frame builder Bill Holland. Unfortunately he's located here in San Diego, CA. He repainted my '99 LeMond Zurich. http://gallery.consumerreview.com/roadbike/gallery/files/Lemon001a.asp

If your interested here's how to contact him:

Joe Bell
Professional Bicycle Refinishin
3735 Kenora Drive. Suite C
Spring Valley, CA. 91977
Ph. 619.469.4312
Fax. 619.469.1795
Ditto - JB is the best (NM)Wilier
Mar 3, 2002 8:51 PM
Nice bike, but...Ray
Mar 4, 2002 7:03 AM
that picture doesn't really do justice to the quality of JB's paint work. Check out:

http://www.rivendellbicycles.com/html/bikes_rivendellframes.html

for a few really sharp pics of his work, particularly dealing with lugs. I've had two bikes painted by him, and they've both been almost too pretty to ride (I got over it though).

-Ray