RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


for the love of peace can we all stop flaming one another??(47 posts)

for the love of peace can we all stop flaming one another??weiwentg
Mar 1, 2002 2:45 PM
this board has gone straight to hell in the space of two weeks (or so). can we stop the flames? please?
Maybegrzy
Mar 1, 2002 3:03 PM
It happens every year around this time. I think it has a lot to do with people not being able to get out and ride and feed their jones.
So THAT'S it!!Elefantino
Mar 1, 2002 3:38 PM
I have gone almost nine months without feeding my jones. No wonder I feel so lousy.

I have been deprived of jones too long. I am in jones deficit. I am, for the most part, without jones.

FWIW,
Mike
man.. that's terrible!cyclopathic
Mar 2, 2002 12:16 PM
don't you start worry if you still have jones?
and will it work next time you get it out?
So THAT'S it!!Elefantino
Mar 1, 2002 4:31 PM
I have gone almost nine months without feeding my jones. No wonder I feel so lousy.

I have been deprived of jones too long. I am in jones deficit. I am, for the most part, without jones.

FWIW,
Mike
So THAT'S it!!grzy
Mar 1, 2002 5:51 PM
It's b/c you have the bike jones - not b/c you don't have it.

You keeping your jones in the basement and not feeding it? Bad jones! Bad! Back I say!
have you no sense of humour?Spirito di Finocchio
Mar 1, 2002 3:17 PM
posts today that are brilliant, funny and definately not flames but in very good humour and to be appreciated if you can dig a little wit:

Slipstream "Are Roadies Too Uptight?" 3/1/02 12:46pm

McAndrus "Peaks on Helmet" 3/1/02 11:07am

Js Haiku Shop "Where do you carry your stuff?" 3/1/02 10:37am

tempeteKerouak "Where do you carry your stuff?" 3/1/02 12:38pm

mixinbeatz "most stuff carried on a bike?" 3/1/02 9:15am

Spirito di Finocchio "Are Roadies Too Uptight?" 3/1/02 1:06pm

sometimes, tongue in cheek isnt as bad as a lot of you all cry. enjoy it - thats what forums are for.

and besides im in damn Good Spirits as (yes) the Formula 1 season starts this weekend and my bikes will also get a some lovin and attention too. whoooohhhoooh !!!!

la dolce vita ;-)

ciao bambini
Yeehah!!grzy
Mar 1, 2002 3:29 PM
And I though that it was only Stock Car fans went to see the crashes!!

Yeah, there seems to be an infiltration of new handles alternating asking "can't we all get along" and "roadies are pricks" in addition to the usual suspects. They really just want to troll.

The funny part is that cycnicism and being faciteous just doens't translate into cyber space well.
perhaps an old chinese proverb applies to naysayers...Spirito di Finocchio
Mar 1, 2002 3:44 PM
"HE WHO LAUGHS LAST - DOES NOT GET JOKE"

and for your info grzy, as im sure you would find this fact funny, ernesto colnago listens to michael schumacher for frame input - what a funny world.

http://www.cyclingnews.com/sponsors/italia/colnago/colnago.shtml
well...weiwentg
Mar 1, 2002 3:49 PM
I'm not a new handle. I'm not trolling. I'm basically sick of the flame wars.
your not the sharpest tool in the shed are you?Spirito di Finocchio
Mar 1, 2002 4:11 PM
yes a bit harsh, but i put it to you that what grzy points as humour/irony and things facetious not translating well in cyberspace in my opinion applies to people like yourself.

evidence to support my claim? read on
http://forums.consumerreview.com/crforum?viewall@@.ef67c8c

have you ever thought that what appears as flame wars to you may actually be of interest, of great humour and of more subsatnce than your righteous pulp that poses as "do-goodingly" geuine comment?

boring with a capital b.

weiwen tg - dont think so!
your not the sharpest tool in the shed are you?weiwentg
Mar 1, 2002 6:15 PM
>>have you ever thought that what appears as flame wars to you may actually be of interest, of great humour and of more subsatnce than your righteous pulp that poses as "do-goodingly" geuine comment?<<

you simply prove my point.
Ahh Jeezusgrzy
Mar 1, 2002 6:21 PM
No, you prove HIS.

It can't be a flame war if you aren't even singed.

Now run off to bed before I switch on my blow torch.
run? from you? what for?weiwentg
Mar 1, 2002 6:35 PM
So you DO like trolling for flame wars. (nm)grzy
Mar 1, 2002 6:50 PM
nope.weiwentg
Mar 1, 2002 6:58 PM
you're the one who likes starting flame wars. I mean, for goodness' sake, look at this:

Zaphod "And then there were three" 3/1/02 6:15pm

this guy lists 3 manufacturers that he'd like to get a custom cross bike from, all starting with 'S'. then you come in here:

grzy "And then there were three" 3/1/02 3:55pm

just look at yourself, man!!! remember the guy who asked if he could do without the front brake? he got flamed, and it wasn't very nice, but he did deserve it. what did Zaphod do????? not very much, but you insult him anyway.
and, for that matter, what did I do?? I asked if we could all play nice. then you come in and insult me. well done, well done.
if there's a troll on this board it's you.
Can I call you Pollyanna?grzy
Mar 1, 2002 7:13 PM
How can you protest people not being nice and then saying some guy deserved to be flamed? So should we check with you first beofre turning up the heat? You could tell us who deserves it.

Hey personally, I really think Zaphod should get one bike from all three, and maybe a fourth from Sycip. Then he wouldn't have to make any choices until he actually went for a ride plus he'd have the added advantage of always being fashionable. Why should he care what we think - it's his bike and what really matters is the ride. Or did we forget about that part? He just wants approval as to which trophy he should hang in his garage to fawn over. Unless you're racing cross bikes are pretty silly.
no, you can't.weiwentg
Mar 1, 2002 7:39 PM
1) what I said is that, perhaps some people deserve to be flamed. it isn't nice to do so.
2) BUT Zaphod didn't deserve to be flamed, in anyone's mind except your own twisted one. and you went ahead and did it anyway.

so, what did I do to deserve several personal attacks from you? you say my mother made a mistake? hah. the only thing I did to you was ask you not to be so nasty. I didn't think I'd struck such a raw nerve there.
I'm not saying don't disagree with anyone; you have misinterpreted me. I'm saying be reasonable and no personal insults. is this not a basic rule of civilized behavior?
your not the sharpest tool in the shed are you?KingMambo
Mar 1, 2002 6:35 PM
What a bunch of old women gabbing on and on about nothing. What are these girls like in person? Scary thought.
good point...weiwentg
Mar 1, 2002 6:42 PM
now I wonder why I bothered. there was that Forum Pact post a while ago ... I forgot what the content was, but I think that everyone's forgotten about it.
Tipgrzy
Mar 1, 2002 6:57 PM
I think he's calling us a bunch of pussies - that would include you - you probably shouldn't agree with him.
Yes! The Forum Pact provides some basic standards.Slipstream
Mar 1, 2002 7:12 PM
I will sign up!
Half a bubble off plumbgrzy
Mar 1, 2002 6:17 PM
Are we moving too fast for you in the virutal mosh pit that is RBR? This ain't nothing like a flame war - if you're not new then you should know this by now. it really isn't a flame war until the insults fly fast and furrious between just a few and the rest are left to either shake their heads or are laughng so hard to the point of tears. The phasors have all been on "chafe" for quite some time.

So we'll just do as you wish, use small words, and be purely objective and boring with out a hint of sarcasm, cycnicism, irony or humor. Ok everybody, play nice or you're going to your rooms and you can't come out until "we-went-goo" says so.

Ya'know you *do* have a choice.
don't insult me, grzyweiwentg
Mar 1, 2002 6:33 PM
I'm saying that we should play nice. you, obviously, are incapable of doing so. I'd thought better of you, but never mind. we all make mistakes.
You're Right.grzy
Mar 1, 2002 6:55 PM
Your Mama made a really big mistake.

Obviously the rest of us don't share your naive sensitive side Mr. Nicenessman. Isn't there a church group you can go join?
I shan't dignify that comment with an answer. nm.weiwentg
Mar 1, 2002 6:58 PM
You just did! ;-b nm.grzy
Mar 1, 2002 7:13 PM
Actually, I thought it was funnyjtolleson
Mar 2, 2002 12:24 PM
Believe me, I'm one of the people around here who gets really ticked (even self-righteously so... whoops) at the ad hominem flaming bs, but W I think you are being oversensitive on this one.
wellweiwentg
Mar 2, 2002 2:24 PM
perhaps I was being oversensitive. but after the point where good old grzy said that my mother made a mistake, I don't think I was.
che cafone!nm
Mar 1, 2002 4:44 PM
I suggest we create a flaming BIC award.Slipstream
Mar 1, 2002 4:14 PM
You know for the flame throwers:

1 BIC - for whiners
2 BICs - for arrogance
3 BICs - for bad attitude
4 BICs - for Flames w/o swearing
5 BICs - for Flames with swearing

I welcome any improvements...
LOFL!!!....BICs BICs BICsSpirito di Finocchio
Mar 1, 2002 4:25 PM
agree with all but perhaps the addition of

6 BICs - for Flames w/ NM
7 BICs - for bad spelling and grammer

as apparently that confuses and upsets the proletariat nowadays as well.

maybe gregg should relax with the censorship of otherwise funny posts in the pics section and we could all go back to campy vs shimano like the bike fools really wish for.

you funny man
BIC BIC BIC is That All You Do?Slipstream
Mar 1, 2002 4:36 PM
What does BIC stand for (besides the lighter)?

How about:
Bitchin' In Cyberspace
Badmouthing Improves Callousness
Bovine Imperious Caustic
Boring Inane Curmudgeon NMSpirito di Finocchio
Mar 1, 2002 4:44 PM
I sure hope this one's supposed to be ironicKerry Irons
Mar 1, 2002 4:45 PM
"7 BICs - for bad spelling and grammer" What about for bad grammar?
eegads! actually the irony lies in my handle NMSpirito di Finocchio
Mar 1, 2002 4:51 PM
you iditotnm
Mar 1, 2002 4:50 PM
Listen you little g*d damn weesel!!! I KNOW I always right!! Your kind and your posts don't belong on this boared!! I don't give a sh*t what others say!! This is NOT the place for your kind of mentility!! Go away foever!! NOW
There is always room for humor...Slipstream
Mar 1, 2002 5:14 PM
Believe me, I know there is humor intended somewhere in your post. I am working on trying to find it, but I guess I am just a little slow tonight...
7 BIC'SLOL
Mar 1, 2002 5:33 PM
I suggest we create a flaming BIC award.grzy
Mar 1, 2002 6:23 PM
Negative BICs for cleaverness, originality and creativity?
How about creating a GRZY award?Slipstream
Mar 1, 2002 7:00 PM
Since grzy has such a great attitude, I suggest we create an award in his honor:

1 for Great Reply
2 for Zany humor
3 for Yock

What's a yock? slang to laugh or joke in a rowdy manner
How about creating a GRZY award?grzy
Mar 1, 2002 7:16 PM
There's more:

4 for Mung

That's the stinky stuff that sticks to you.

5 for hang time.
6 for bad hair day.
thou mewling motley-minded minnownm
Mar 1, 2002 11:39 PM
John Lennon Said It Bestcosmicallyconscience
Mar 2, 2002 5:05 AM
Give Peace A Chance
John Lennon Said It Bestcyclaholic
Mar 2, 2002 9:25 AM
Even though the Internet was not yet in existance, John lennon certainly did his fair share of "flaming". And thank goodness he did. He got quite famous for flaming Nixon.

Some people in this world deserve getting flamed. People make some claims about bicycles that deserve criticism. Rather than attack the flamers, all of the posters should carefully consider their writings before they post them. If you make a strong claim, be prepared to support it. Don't complain after the fact that you are being unfairly flamed.
re:it's funny you posted thisRayBan
Mar 2, 2002 5:57 AM
I noticed a lot of negativity, anomosity, holier than thou, elitist posts around here lately too.That sucks cuz I used to think this board WAS pretty cool but theres way too many attacks against riders opinions and I ALMOST don't want to share my views etc. Unfortunately a lot of you guys are giving justification to road riders being snobbby elitist etc. THAT SUCKS! Were all responsible for keeping this place friendly etc. Come on folks people are going to stop coming here and then this site goes poof....
phew!weiwentg
Mar 2, 2002 7:19 AM
FINALLY I find someone agreeing with me. RayBan, you've just made my day. Not kidding. :)