RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Where do you carry your stuff?(46 posts)

Where do you carry your stuff?Gar_man
Mar 1, 2002 7:47 AM
I sold my mountain bike and just bought my first road bike. My first ride on it is tomorrow. When I rode off road, I carried a camel back with my spare tube, tire tools, etc. Where do I carry this stuff on my road bike? I never bought any of the cool bike shirts with the pockets, is this what I need? If I do wear my camel back and I am spotted by other 'roadies', will I be assaulted? (just kidding) Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks,
Funny about roadies and Camelbacks...cory
Mar 1, 2002 7:58 AM
I don't use one because I don't like to ride with a backpack, but it always surprises me how slow road riders have been to adopt Camelbacks. I know a lot of guys who ride their mountain bikes with 'em, but go back to bottles when they take out the road bike.
As for carrying the rest of the stuff, though, two suggestions:
I carry less on the road (tours excepted) because breakdowns are rarer. I've never had to bypass a broken rear derailleur, for instance, on the road, but I've ripped off two or three of them on the mountain bike. What I carry most of the time (spare tube, patch kit & combo tool) will fit into a small seat bag, which you can buy anywhere.
For longer trips or when the weather's changing, I use a big Carradice seat bag--made in England, black canvas with white leather straps, big enough for a jacket, lots of tools, a Sunday paper and anything else you want to jam in. You can see 'em at www.rivendellbicycles.com, click on "bags and racks."
For those in-the-middle days, I use a fanny pack (worn in BACK, the way God intended). Stuff in jersey pockets bangs around and annoys me, so I don't put much but Power Bars back there.
roadie racer with a Camelbacklonefrontranger
Mar 1, 2002 9:44 AM
Second Paul's opinion - screw 'em. I've been road racing for 10 years. My 'cross bike, which I ride on roads a lot, doesn't have bottle bosses. My 'rain bike' is a custom aero TT frame that only has one set of cage bosses. Anytime I use these bikes, which is most training rides, the Camelbak comes out. I also carry stuff in my jersey pockets, because the cell phone / energy bar is just easier to get to on the go when it's in a pocket than having to stop and unzip the Camelbak.

I've been carrying Camelbaks for years on longer and very hot road rides. I even race with it in long events where I need the extra hydration or in events like the Boulder Roubaix (gravel/dirt road race) where you just don't want to take your hands off the handlebars for any reason. The people I ride with know I'm a decent bike handler and that I can kick their butts on a good day. That's all that's truly important in the roadie pecking order ;-)

I doubt very much in the end it will make a difference. Try to avoid the faster testosterone-fest Bike Nazi style roadie rides at first, because there is where you'll find the real poseurs who're too important to be seen with a pack-wearing dirthead.
you related to kerouac, or ginsberg? i'm guessing ginsberg...Js Haiku Shop
Mar 1, 2002 10:37 AM
"Try to avoid the faster testosterone-fest Bike Nazi style roadie rides at first, because there is where you'll find the real poseurs who're too important to be seen with a pack-wearing dirthead"

AVOID THE BIKE JOCKS
have their women shave their legs
NAZI PUNK **CK OFF

CATCH ME IF YOU CAN
you're saving the precious grams
BUT I HAVE WATER
bike jocks... and Bukowski???tempeteKerouak
Mar 1, 2002 12:52 PM
I think you refer to Hank-Chuck-Charles-Buk Bukowski.

This is Ginsberg... http://www.tc.umn.edu/~beaversg/images/026.gif

They all did not like posers anyway...
Bah, you'd never catch "Chinaski" near a bike unless...Ahimsa
Mar 1, 2002 6:07 PM
...he stole it to run to the store for more beer. Even then he'd probably walk instead.

The Buk was a king, but not much of an exerciser. The closest he got to exercise was either sex, or the elevated heart rate he obtained at the dog track.

"I'm a professional wrestler and I drink two barrels of beer a day."

Cheers!

A.
Hold it, he liked to bragg about his boxing, Ernest got it!tempeteKerouak
Mar 2, 2002 8:00 AM
Buk apparently went into the ring with Hemingway who always claimed to be a good boxer. He got knocked out.

Or maybe it was just a figure of speach (writing/integrity/popularity; young Buk against the reknowned E. Hemingway...)

It is said that the greatest writer/bike lover was Henry Miller btw...
Camelbacksweiwentg
Mar 1, 2002 10:39 AM
in my first race, I crashed. aside from damaging the bike and losing my Oakleys (aaarrrggghhh!!!) I lost my water bottle. the Camelbak came on for the crit the next day. I was thinking about wearing it for the road race, and got some negative comments from one of the other racers. funny. anyway, I didn't need the capacity that day. but in the crit, drinking from the camelbak would have been far safer (with my still-developing bike handling skills) than from a bottle.
I agreeTig
Mar 1, 2002 12:09 PM
It makes sense to use a Camelbak during long, hot rides. I always ride with one when MTB'ing or during hot days on the road. I could care less what some snoot thinks anyway. Forget image, and if we want to really impress anyone, just ride smooth and strong. I know several excellent riders who are smart enough to use them also. No one has yet to say or do anything negitive towards us yet.

Function over form!!!
I am the perfect man, the buddha of this world...tempeteKerouak
Mar 1, 2002 12:38 PM
-That was Kerouac, Jean-Louis, aka Ti-Jean, aka Jack.

There is a serious aerodynamic study that shows the negative effect of wearing a camelback. (It is also shown that wearing the camelback UNDER a shirt (!!!) is preferable...) And the positive effect of a water bottle held in the frame, between your legs.

It's also better (aerodynamically speaking) to zip up the jersey and ride on the drops. These are the basic things anyone can do to help slice throught the wind.

Now about the basic things you can do to have fun and enjoy life to its fullest; use a camelback, carry extra food for new friends, loose the attitude. Prefer utilisation over possession. Get rid of insecurity. Don't buy broken Colnago (strange no one ever sells damaged KHS?). And learn that Motobécane is the same company as the trusted Cofidis' MBK.

We all know where we are going, might as well take our time.
he should know as he...umm... studied(?) lots of men NMSpirito di Finocchio
Mar 1, 2002 1:34 PM
re: Where do you carry your stuff?mixinbeatz
Mar 1, 2002 8:02 AM
No, you will not be assaulted, but the sad fact is some roadies may not want you to ride in the group. It is one of those things, camelbacks, aerobars, and other traits are warnings to other riders that you may be a newby and thus not no how to ride in groups, and thus dangerous. Get a jersey with pockets to throw your spare tube, rain jacket, and anything else you can't fit in your seat bag. Roadies may seem wierd at first, but once you get used to how they act and why they do, it will be easier for you to get the trust of the group you are riding with.
Aerobars = Newbie? HardlyMisJG
Mar 1, 2002 10:03 AM
Since when did having aerobars on your bike denote you were a newbie? Triathlete, yes, but newbie? I've been riding for for close to 20 years now and have had aerobars on by bike since the early '90s. I have been doing triathlons since 1991 and still do them every year. I have done countless group rides and many centuries and ride very well in a group, all with the aerobars on my bike (of course I am not 'in' the aerobars when in a group. that would be dangerous for me and everyone around me).

So please explain to me how you clasify me as a 'newbie'.

PS. To answer the original thread topic, I carry all I need in a seat bag, CO2 carts and inflator head strapped to my seatpost, two standard water bottles and an 'aero' water bottle mounted to my aerobars that has a straw that goes up to my mouth. You can drink w/o removing your hands from the bars or getting out of your aero tuck. You can refill the aero bottle with the regular bottles at stop lights or even while riding as it's got a sponge for a cap that you just pour the liquid through.
Aerbars in a group ride= newbymixinbeatz
Mar 1, 2002 11:09 AM
All I meant was that you have to earn respect with the group you are riding with to make people confident that you are a safe rider. The sad fact, is that a lot of people that show up at group rides with aerobars are not used to riding in groups and this is true of a lot of triathletes. I have ridden with a lot of people that leave the aeros on there bikes 24 x 7 and ride fine in a group. The fact that roadies get nervous when they see aerobars is a stereotype that I cannot change, but for a newby it is good to know that some groups shun riders who show up with them.
I would agree with youcyclopathic
Mar 1, 2002 3:12 PM
but it really depends on type of group.

For instance randoneeurs ride with aerobars, permanently attached lights, fenders, generators, racks, trunks, dual side mtb pedals etc.. somebody showing dressed up as roadie wouldn't be looked at as a "serious" rider more like a another baby to babysit on. There wouldn't be any hostility though, folks used to relay on each other to help almost like mtbers.

Said that I would really freak out my roadie friends if I'd show up for 40-60mi group ride on my BMB bike.

It is all about culture, and less you fit into stereotype more trouble you have
Looks Can Be DeceivingMisJG
Mar 1, 2002 4:30 PM
Well, I think it just goes to show you, as is the message behind many of the posts on this board, you can't always tell everything just by looks.
By the way, what's a 'randoneeur'? 'BMB' bike?
wht is randonneur?cyclopathic
Mar 2, 2002 11:42 AM
here's some info http://www.rusa.org/ take a look
Hilarious!Shylock
Mar 1, 2002 10:41 AM
...Wearing a camelback means you're a newbie? Okay, I'll buy that -- sort of. But some of the stupidest crashes I've seen came from people reaching for their water bottles. So...uh....for the sake of everyone's safety, camelbacks should be mandatory.

I think the road world needs a colonic irrigation. I'm starting to appreciate the hardcore Mountain Dew set more and more.
Jersey Pockets.The Pope of Whalley
Mar 1, 2002 8:11 AM
A seat bag is only good for a spare tube, "irons", and patch kit unless it is really big (and ugly). Jersey gives you room for sunglasses, windvest, minipump, food, etc.

I would forget about the Camel Hump. Carry two bottles of water. Camel Humps are for lowly Y-Foils and other improperly designed bikes.
Jersey Pockets.mr tornado head
Mar 2, 2002 8:28 AM
"Improperly designed Y-foils..." you show your ignorance. Say, what did Big Mig ride in those TdF time trials? Not a steel, traditional diamond frame.

flamebait, definitlely, and I bit.
Because it's your first ride,Elefantino
Mar 1, 2002 8:14 AM
I can assume you're not going to be riding at, say 23-25 mph average. So the people who would be concerned about the backpack won't be with you.

If it's a ride for fun, with people you know, use the backpack. No one going to run from you.

But, generally, road riding is more comfortable if you store tubes, tools, etc. in your seat bag. A jersey with rear pockets is a good investment.

FWIW,
Mike
re: Where do you carry your stuff?tarwheel
Mar 1, 2002 8:17 AM
Lots of good options. First, get some road jerseys with the pockets in the back. You can get good quality jerseys for reasonable prices at www.velowear.com, www.performancebike.com and www.bikejerseys.com. In my pockets, I generally carry Kool Kovers to protect my cleats on stops, a bandana to blow my nose, and some Clif bars. Also, I can roll up my vest and stuff it in the middle pocket, if the weather warms up.

Next, get a seat or saddle bag. The size depends on how much stuff you need to carry. Ignore your first impulse to get a huge bag and stuff it full of stuff -- you can easily add several pounds of weight. A good option are the expandable seat bags made by Topeak, Jandd, Blackburn and others. You keep them zipped up small for normal use, and unzip them to hold more stuff on long rides, tours, centuries, etc. Most local bike shops carry a good selection of seat bags, and some on-line dealers. In my seat bag I carry a spare tube, tube repair kit, light-weight multi-tool, 2 tire tools, ID cards, CO2 inflator with 2 extra cartridges, a key to my truck, and some money. That all fits in a small/medium Jandd pack that holds 60 square inches, I think.

CamelBaks are fine but most roadies don't use them. Some are snobbish about it, but for me it's just a matter of habit. I'm used to using water bottles, and what else am I gonna stick in those nice Cuissi cages? I actually have a CamelBak but typically use it only on long solo rides or routes where it might be difficult getting water. I prefer not to have something on my back and like to carry GatorAde in one of my bottles -- which I refuse to use in my CamelBak because I don't want to have to clean it out afterwards.
roadies and camelbacksPaulCL
Mar 1, 2002 8:28 AM
Screw em! I mean the roadies with a thing against camelbacks.

I'm a roadie and I use a camelback on longer rides. If I'm riding 25 or 35 miles, I stick with bottles. But when I go out on a 75 - 100 miler, that extra water beyond two bottles allows me to ride faster and further. If you go on some big 'event'ride, you'll see easily a third of the riders with camelbacks. I'd rather suffer the mild insults of snooty riders, than suffer dehydration.

As for your stuff, I have a tiny seat bag big enough for three C02 cartridges, an ID, a multitool,and some cash. In my shirt pockets, I carry the C02 dispenser, spare tube, patch kit, and food.

Welcome to the sport.
snooty roadies.....mixinbeatz
Mar 1, 2002 8:37 AM
We need to make a distinction here between roadies and snooty roadies. If you ride with a recreational club(focus is fun), that goes on long rides with a destination of a pizza parlor, camel backs are fine. The snooty ones are the racer types (or the people in euro kits without helmets that are laughed at by real racers in the states) in which camel backs are considered a rookie move. I don't agree with this mentality, but none the less it is present.
some funny stuff about bike dorkdum here.....mixinbeatz
Mar 1, 2002 8:44 AM
http://www.s1webdesign.com/humor.htm
Amen, PaulElefantino
Mar 1, 2002 8:47 AM
You know, I've never understood this sport's snobbism. Aside from country club golf, I've not stumbled across its equal, where what you have often seems more important than who you are and how you perform.

Just look at the Motobecane thread. Sheesh!

I ride with a guy who wears the same jersey for each ride. A yellow one with a faded Road Runner on it. He uses pedals and toe clips. He wears non-cycling shoes. Sometimes black socks. Or brown.

I ride with another guy who fancies himself as a Festina team rider, the whole kit, clothes included, complete to the yellow team Looks on his S-Works, every time HE rides.

Both of them can average 25 or 15, depending on the day or the company.

Me? I've got a full pink Mercatone kit that I have yet to wear. But when I get back on the road (eventually) I'll wear it and look like a big popsicle.

Aw, screw em.

FWIW,
Mike
please post us a pic...Spirito di Finocchio
Mar 1, 2002 8:57 AM
when you finally get to don the mercatone uno outfit.
if you can go the whole hog and shave your head then i will buy you a matching cycling cap with great glee!

i hope for you and us its soon.

;-)
i gues that would make you a pink elefantino then? ;-) nmSpirito di Finocchio
Mar 1, 2002 8:58 AM
now that's wear I draw the linetarwheel
Mar 1, 2002 9:02 AM
I wouldn't be caught dead wearing a pink M-Uno kit. But I wouldn't laugh at you for wearing one -- really, I swear -- so let's see those pix!
ohhhh come on....Spirito di Finocchio
Mar 1, 2002 9:23 AM
personally i really dig seeing what some class as 'outlandish and poseurish' outfits. the louder the better in my opinion.

true expression for the love of cycling in my opinion.

my next bike will be either a Gios or a deRosa and you can bet ill be buying and riding in either a brooklyn chewing gum jersey ala roger de Vlaemminick (sic) or in a molteni jersey ala the man eddy merckx. that is true spirit and real class. obsessive attention to detail yes, but the cycling aesthetic alone should not be purpose for derision. god help us if we all rode pearl izumi club jerseys' in a choice of 3 colors - what a boring world that would be!

but in stating my opinion i do have to mention that i would never be seen in a polka dot climbing jersey as any keen cyclist would be able to tell that my power to weight ratio is not suited to climbing at all. that would be too "fredish" even for me. :-)
getta Giostarwheel
Mar 1, 2002 9:59 AM
I've had a Gios Compact Pro for nearly a year now. Great riding frame, beautiful and a bargain too. De Rosas seem to be going the aluminum/compact route with all their frames. Some of the older De Rosas, however, are some of the prettiest frames I've seen. I'll probably buy a Brooklyn jersey ones of these days.

BTW, I agree with you about the polka dot jerseys. You need to be a decent climber to wear one of those with any sense of decency. I've held off getting a Kelme jersey for the same reason, altho they're my favorite pro jersey. I'm a somewhat pitiful climber. Who knows, maybe it would inspire me to do better.
i couldnt wear a Brooklyn jersey with a New Gios..Spirito di Finocchio
Mar 1, 2002 10:15 AM
was thinking more along the lines of..

http://www.bikeseller.com/vintage-bike-museum.htm#Gios%20Torino

Roger would be proud but finding one in good condition in my size will be very hard indeed. maybe ill have to go for a compact pro and a kelme jersey then. and besides i live in manhattan anyway. hee hee
eBaytarwheel
Mar 1, 2002 10:22 AM
Just out of curiosity, I regularly search the eBay bicycles section, and a fair number of old Gios Torinos come up for sale there. They usually sell for pretty reasonable prices. For some odd reason, though, most of the old Gios I've seen lately are very large frames -- 60-62 cm. Most of them are Gios blue, but I've seen a few red and white ones. This is almost totally irrelevent, but did you notice that the next Winter Olympics is gonna be in Torino, Italy? Perhaps that will make those old Gios Torinos more collectable.
Jennifer? Oh no! not you!!!tempeteKerouak
Mar 1, 2002 12:54 PM
no! but you are alert. i was the first to question Jennifer NMSpirito di Finocchio
Mar 1, 2002 1:36 PM
i couldnt wear a Brooklyn jersey with a New Gios..guido
Mar 1, 2002 9:25 PM
Wow, I have a bike just like that! I've got a Selle Italia Turbo saddle and Campy road pedals with toe clips and straps on mine. When I go out with it, I don't need to carry any tools except tire levers, because nothing has ever come loose, broken, or gone out of adjustment on a ride with this bike for 20 years. Why carry any weight you probably don't need? There's plenty of room in my jersey for everything I'll need for any day ride.

I put my wallet with ID, a little cash and a credit card in the left jersey pocket, a spare tube with tire levers in the middle pocket, and house keys with a very small Swiss Army Knife in the right pocket with a banana or small ham and cream cheese sandwich if the ride is longer than 2.5 hours.
rationale for pinkbn
Mar 1, 2002 9:43 AM
1- so what, you beat a guy in a pink jersey!
2- haha, you lost to a guy in a pink jersey!
3- leading or just won the Giro, and you have to.
re: Where do you carry your stuff?DINOSAUR
Mar 1, 2002 9:08 AM
I pack my stuff in a seat bag. I used to carry bare minimum in a small seat bag and stuff the rest of my junk in my jersey pockets in order to lighten my bike. Then I thought about it and came to the conlusion that it didn't make a difference where I carrying it, as I was still packing the weight. The only thing I pack in my jersy is co2 and a small cell phone in case of emergencies. Then when I take off on my bike I don't have to worry about forgetting anything.

All you need is a couple of extra tubes, a tire patch kit, a couple of hex wrenches some tire irons, something to use for a tire boot, maybe a couple dollars in change. It depends on where you ride... don't worry about how you will look, in time you will figure out what works for you..
Get high before you head out; leave the stuff at home...128
Mar 1, 2002 9:27 AM
Then cycle to Vermont for an ice cream!
Camelbak AND jersey pockets...dsc
Mar 1, 2002 9:33 AM
As was mentioned above, go to any event that has you riding any real distances, and you will see plenty of riders sporting camelbaks.

When I am in the hills for 3-4 hrs at a time, there might not BE any convenience stores or cafes to refill at, so I am quite happy to have that 70+ oz of water on my back, plus a sports drink in one of the bottle cages. I have a Camelbak Rocket, so there is room to carry a multi-tool, patch kit, spare tube and the like. Gels and other foodstuffs go in the jersey pockets, as does the jacket, once it starts to warm up.

Bottom line, figure out your riding style, and carry what you want. Real riders understand and respect this.

-Debi
Camelback.Len J
Mar 1, 2002 9:46 AM
The hell with snotty people. Ride with what works for you.

I use a camelback on every ride over an hour. I find I hydrate more than I would with bottles & that is more important to me than what people think.

As far as other riders being skittish thinking I'm a newbie. Any rider with experience can tell within about 10 minitus of riding behind you in a pace line wether or not you ar safe to ride with. Let your bike Handling & signaling tell others how experienced you are. Anyone who won't ride with you because you have a camelback on isn't worth riding with.

IMO

Len
Camelback.Gar_man
Mar 1, 2002 9:52 AM
Well said!

Thanks for all of your help and opinions! I will pick up a seat bag today.....

Gary
camelbaks: good reasons...Js Haiku Shop
Mar 1, 2002 11:03 AM
I use several different camelbaks for several reasons, and almost never ride without one, plus two bottles. Here are some good uses:

* lighten the bike (it's all in my head): remove bottles, cages, seatpack. carry camelbak, displaced items from seatpack in camebak and jersey pockets.

* leaving at 6-7 AM in below freezing weater, riding for 3-5 hours and returning in 40-60* F temps. i leave with full cold-weather gear and return stripped down to the base layer. where am i supposed to carry all this crap? in my big camelbak.

* organized rides: want to shake off 500 of the 1200 people riding, in the first 50 miles? skip the first two rest stops. how? camelbak, two water bottles.

* sports drinks are great, but i'd like to have a bunch of water to supplement on hot days. also like to have a bottle of water in case i need to irrigate road rash, squirt a dog or pour it in my helmet. don't want gatorade in my hydration bladder. solution=camelbak, two bottles.

* some non-stop rides are just long enough for two water bottles and a 50-ounce camelbak.

* jersey pockets stuffed full of clothes and other miscellany can (1) be uncomfortable, (2) look awful, and (3) significantly weigh down the back of the jersey.

* want to ride 80 miles without stopping to refresh stores? 100 ounce camelbak, storage filled with food, two large bottles of sports drink.

only problem i've found so far is that, personally, having more space to carry stuff means i'm going to use it, regardless of need. i've become conscious of that, and purposefully re-eval the stuff i carry before each ride. unlike others i know, i don't leave stuff in there from ride to ride, so it's not a "cumulative fill."

last year i carried enough on centuries to start a mobile bike shop. for centuries this year, i'll probably ride with a 50-ounce camelback (aerobak) and put the rest in my jersey pockets, and strip the seatpack down to the bare minimum. weight really isn't a concern, 'til you're shaving off 5+ pounds of unnecessary crap. SAGs are usually close enough, even on hot days, to make it from stop to stop with enough fluid.

...and...those in the group who sneer at either (1) your use of a hydration pack, or (2) the size of the pack...well, their expression will change when they're seeing it from behind for the rest of the ride. also, they're probably not sneering at your pack, they're probably sneering at the NFG. just be friendly, and ride without taking anybody to the tarmac for a few weeks, and things will be cool.
other reasons to have a camelbackMike P
Mar 1, 2002 11:53 AM
On hot days for shorter rides I don't use the camelback because it makes my back hot, which I do not like. It seems like I am using the camelback a lot less now than a couple of years ago, except for hill workouts.

On hot days for longer rides, I use a camelback for water, energy drink goes in the water bottles. I can get in 80 miles or so without having to find somewhere to refill the water bottles.

On hill days. . . a camelback is a really handy way to gain some temporary weight. Dive belt weights fit right nice in the thing.

I keep a spare tube, patch kit, some money and some tools in a small seat bag, which I removed the straps from. I put my pump on that and drop it into my jersey pocket. If I'm wearing the camelback, the bag/pump goes into it.

A lot of people have a camera, others have a duck.

Mike
Necessity?grzy
Mar 1, 2002 5:44 PM
I'll use one whenever I really need it. This tends to be on long rides with limited support in the mountains or desert. I've played Gunga Din on more than one occassion and the jokes suddenly stop. It's pretty funny, but once people have a pack they start throwing all kinds of crap in that's really not needed - truing stand, spare undies, slippers, teddy bear, kitchen sink, spare bong, etc. Next thing you know the pack weighs ten pounds or more, but they paid big $$$ to get a really light bike. A small saddle bag under the seat for your tools and tubes, frame mounted pump and water bottles and a jersey with pockets and you're pretty much set. Two frame mounted water bottles will take you pretty far and you usually have lots of opportunities to refill along the way. How many continuous hours will you be riding between outposts of civilization?

So what exactly would you put in your hydration pack and do you really need to carry something like 100 oz. of water with you at all times? It's pretty funny when you see guys at the start of XC MTB races with loaded CamelBaks....and they're still fully loaded at the finish. One could also posit that some guys have the latent need for a purse, but that's just plain sexist on my part.
EXACTLY!!!!!!!!!! NMWoof the dog
Mar 3, 2002 1:03 AM