RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Vandenbroucke Fired(27 posts)

Vandenbroucke Firedrollo tommassi
Feb 28, 2002 12:31 PM
http://www.cyclingnews.com/news/2002/feb02/feb28news2.php
stupidity has no one to blamenm
Feb 28, 2002 12:44 PM
stupidity has no one to blameGet Dura Ace
Feb 28, 2002 2:20 PM
How could you have that much talent, be able to ride a bike for a job and jist piss it all away. I wonder if half these guys realize just how good they have it?
How good do they have it?TJeanloz
Feb 28, 2002 3:03 PM
Being Frank Vandenbrouke.

Imagine for a moment that you're in his shoes. The heir apparent of the most important cycling dynasty in Belgium, and widely regarded as the next Belgian classics superstar. People want, no, expect, victory from you in any or every classic- especially Flanders and Liege. It wouldn't be bad if you could deliver. But you can't. And when you don't, the front page of every paper screams of your failure. Imagine if every time you did something less than perfectly at work, it appeared in the tabloids. Frank isn't some great talent that appeared from nowhere- the Belgian public demand miracles of him. I can see the appeal of doping to try to live up to what so many people want you to be- and you have convinced yourself that you are.

What a miserable life.
How good do they have it?VentouxorBust
Feb 28, 2002 3:10 PM
If the worst things you have going on in your life are fame, lots of money, some negative press and a job which requires you to ride a bike I have a hard time feeling sorry for a guy with that life. I think you could easily find many thousands of cyclists who would have gladly traded places with Frank before his drug woes.

There are millions of men and women everday who struggle with holding down some crummy minimum wage job so that they can barely feed themselves and their children each day. That's real pressure, not what Frank ever faced in any way shape or form.
How good do they have it?Stanley
Feb 28, 2002 6:57 PM
You are 100% on the money. I am sick of the pressure of fame being dragged out as a reason and or justification for poor judgement and totally unacceptable behaviour.
Thank God for you righteous fools!!cyclequip
Feb 28, 2002 11:42 PM
I'm about as sick of people like you standing in judgement on others. You don't have to like what anyone else does, but frankly, who the hell are you to opine in a public forum where the anonymity fails to reveal what stone-throwers like you are doing behind closed doors.
PS You ever competed on an international level in anything apart from soapboxing?
Thank God for you righteous fools!!hinaults dog
Mar 1, 2002 1:42 AM
i agree with cyclequip- most pro's
use performance enhancing substances to a
greater or lesser extent.
in my view this may not be justiflble but it
is understandable remember not being
caught is not the same as being clean.
how much understanding do they deserveishmael
Mar 1, 2002 6:19 AM
drug users ruin the sport..its no fun to watch when you feel that its an unfair race and im sure it must suck to race knowing that if you dont use drugs your at a disadvantage...they should clean up the sport for those who want to compete fairly and not cater to the drug users...its as if we are giving up on the possibility of the sport being clean when we give them to much understanding..
There's a whole bunch of Pros that are competeingPack Meat
Mar 1, 2002 7:46 AM
without the help of dope. How would you like it if you worked your ass off training to be beaten by somebody that got there advantage from a vial and needle. Don't be stupid.

Hugs and Kisses.
PM
breaking the chainhinaults dog
Mar 1, 2002 8:45 AM
in the original(french) version of
the above all my heroes kelly roche etc
are mentioned by name. why is it when
a pro speaks out he is ostracized?
bassons claims that when he came clean
armstrong rode up to him and told him
that he was shaming the sport and should
shut up. understandable in the sense the
tdf is not the wobbly wheelers weekend chipper.
catch yourself on
Poor poor Frank VDB.Sintesi
Mar 1, 2002 8:47 AM
Isn't this guy hated by his own teammates because he's such an arrogant prick? I find it hard to sympathize. Not to mention, getting caught (and he was incredibly stupid to go to Sainz again) also jeopardizes sponsorship for the other riders on the team. Lefevre has already said that the sponsors are becoming less and less enthusiastic about pro-cycling because of the taint of dope-cheating. How would you like to be his teammate and have to listen to all the doping speculation that is going to be written about your squad this season? Good Riddance.
How good do they have it?mmaggi
Mar 1, 2002 10:35 AM
Guess what? Life isn't easy.

It's all relative: from the professional cyclist, to the doctor, the portfolio manager (what a tough job that is nowadays!), the construction worker, the lawn guy, etc.

My life certainly isn't easy. But I'll give you that Frank Vandenbrouke's life is probably more difficult than mine.

But that's no excuse. He cheated. I don't cheat at work to get ahead. I do my own job with no illegal/immoral help from no one.
morphine is performance enhancing??? nmSpirito di Finocchio
Feb 28, 2002 2:44 PM
morphine is performance enhancing??? nmVentouxorBust
Feb 28, 2002 3:12 PM
Morphine is a major league pain killer, you don't think that would be performance enhancing to be able to ride and not feel pain???
morphine is performance enhancing??? nm4bykn
Mar 1, 2002 7:31 AM
Morphine? Good stuff. It's also much more than just a pain killer, it also tends to make one giddy, a great mood elevator. In my experience, anyway. When I had the most painful accident of my life, I was happily chatting with the ambulance attendents and, so my wife says, flirting with the nurses, instead of worrying if I'd be able to walk again(a legitimate concern).
similar experience..Spirito di Finocchio
Mar 1, 2002 7:59 AM
which has me thinking there is no way i could even remotely go fast on a bike even if it was supposedly to be used for pain management.

id be rolling around on the side of the road picking flowers and counting clouds and sighing wistfully at the beauty of it all but alas thailand is so far away!

;-)
No. Morphine = heroin so it must have been for fun...Bruno S
Feb 28, 2002 6:07 PM
Hey, if you are going to get illegal drugs might as well get the whole scope not only the ones for work.
First of allEric16
Feb 28, 2002 8:33 PM
Morphine was only one of the substances they found...EPO was another...'nuff said.

As far as the earlier comments go, he WAS delviering, does the '99 L-B-L ring a bell? He won that and that was the fastest Liege ever by the way! His problems started when he started having mental problmes and stopped showing up to races. For that I can forgive him, he struggles with depression and there is nothing he can do about that, but I can't forgive him for taking drugs he knows are illegal...ARGH! It just makes me really upset! I was looking forward to seeing him in the Classics this year...I guess it was never to be...
No. Morphine is basically a pain killercolker
Mar 1, 2002 4:38 AM
what if the guy is in pain? back pain, ie? there are some pain killers that use morphine like tramal. easy on the opinions, guys.
Why are you shocked?Pack Meat
Feb 28, 2002 7:38 PM
I told all of you that VDB is a smack head doper and nobody believed me. I am sorry that his talent has been wasted but he's a doper so screw him. So to all of you that didn't listen to me and said I was out of line, I told you so.

You heard it here first!

PM
So, what are you?cyclequip
Feb 28, 2002 11:50 PM
Vindicated, opinionated, righteous or just pecker meat? Well done!
Perhaps what passed over your head was the fact that many didn't like your judgemental attitude.
I've been a VDB fan for years and am sad and disappointed at what transpired. Like many, he could resist anything but temptation, but I'll not sling him up for that.
lance/ferrariobserver
Mar 1, 2002 3:44 AM
To any neutral observer this relationship can only have
one meaning, what can Ferrari do for Lance that an American
doctor can't do? . The use of all these medical performance
enhancing assistants should be banned. Appointed Tour
doctors should be sufficient to treat riders in the event
of illness and if a rider is in need of continuous medical
attention, then he is not fit enough and should not be
permitted to ride the Tour de France.
Naive...TJeanloz
Mar 1, 2002 6:46 AM
All professional athletes, in particular endurance athletes, are in need of constant medical attention and monitoring. Riders need constant advice from doctors about how to treat bumps, bruises, rashes, over-tiredness, boils, blisters, cuts, scrapes, strained muscles, and on and on. These things are all part of sport- and while we may say "I can take care of my own scrapes" we don't have thousands of dollars riding on our body performing perfectly. You need a doctor, a doctor who KNOWS cycling and cycling injuries, to be effective at the top level.
Naive...observer
Mar 1, 2002 7:26 AM
What if some day a doctor admits to supplying Lance with
dope, how would his fans accept it.
nobody is perfectcolker
Mar 1, 2002 4:43 AM
samck head doper? so what? it's a cycling forum. we like talented ccylists and prefer them over opinionated, prejudiced, no talent self righteous nobody.
I get the feeling that you're attempting toPack Meat
Mar 1, 2002 7:37 AM
insult me by calling me self rightous and opinionated. Please do not forget that we are all nobodys. The guy had talent but threw it away. Seldom do I have any sympathy at all for smack head that have been give 4 or 5 chances to turn their crap around and straighten out. THis guy had so many people that seemed to genuinely care about him I can say nothing but he's a smack head doper and should go to jail. My liberal side says that it would be good if he got help and recovered.

IMO this case was obvious. I would be shocked if anybody ever came out and said Lance was doping.

Thanks for playing
Pack Meat