RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Ti frame opinions?(14 posts)

Ti frame opinions?CKS
Feb 28, 2002 12:12 PM
I currently ride a Lemond Maillot Jaune (Trek-licensed OCLV) w/Ultegra 9s. I’m in the market for a new bike, and am considering Ti. My LBS carries LeMond and might be able to get Litespeed.

Does anyone have opinions about the LeMond Ti frames?

I’m also drooling over the Litespeed Ghisallo and Ultimate, although I would also consider some of their cheaper frames. Opinions?

Thanks!!
re: Ti frame opinions?HENRY K
Feb 28, 2002 1:08 PM
I HAD AN ULTIMATE. IF YOU WANT TO GO FAST, CLIMB FAST, AND ACCELERATE FAST...YOU CAN'T GO WRONG
re: Ti frame opinions?jtolleson
Feb 28, 2002 2:25 PM
The Ghisallo and Ultimate are two very different frames, so that will depend on your wants and riding style, and also on your weight. Some larger riders have complained about excessive flex in the lightweight Ghisallo (disclaimer: I've not ridden one).

The Ultimate (which I have ridden) is a beautiful, aggressive, beast that I would personally not own. The oversized 6/4 ti and short wheelbase, short chain stay combo is fully race worthy and I've certainly seen 'em on centuries, but I like ti for compliance and forgiveness (not strengths of the Ultimate).
What about other Litespeeds? What about LeMondCKS
Feb 28, 2002 3:26 PM
Great feedback, so what about the other Litespeed models- which ones would you go for?

Any feedback on LeMond's Ti frames?
What about other Litespeeds? What about LeMondjtolleson
Feb 28, 2002 3:35 PM
I'm very uninformed on Lemond ti, so maybe someone else can field that.

For me, the best Litespeed models are either the Tuscany or the Classic, with the nod going to the Tuscany. The Tuscany has more of the BB stiffness of the Ultimate without overdoing the overall aggressiveness of the bike, and can serve almost any cycling function well.

The Classic is a reasonably price (OK, it is all relative) century-riding machine, IMO. Comfy, classic (hence the name) mainstay of Litespeed's offerings for ordinary folk. I'd skip the Arenberg (but again, just one opinion).
There's always a MootsCoraB
Feb 28, 2002 6:33 PM
Very good all arounder.
If your considering the Ultimate, the Moots is definitely in your price range.
They've added a new model since I purchased my VaMoots (new one is called a Mootivator) - I don't know much about that frame.
Just a quick commercial from a Moots lover.
check out Dean nmgtx
Feb 28, 2002 7:57 PM
Airbone, Habanero, Douglas, Macalu, Ti SportsAllGood
Feb 28, 2002 8:06 PM
more options
Other Option For Ti Builder: Empire Cyclesflipper
Mar 1, 2002 5:39 AM
I recently went through the same contorsions of looking for a Ti frame. I found a smaller builder in Colorado (www.empirebicycles.com) and ordered a Ti frame with carbon stays. I also wanted a frame that didn't make me look like another Fred out there on a Litespeed, nor did I want to pay through the nose.

The welds are very clean and the ride is excellent. The quality and service is superb regardless of cost, although the frame is priced far more reasonably than others. The owner is a Cat 1 racer and has a good concept of geometry and set up. He was also easy to work and the frame was delivered on time.

Check him out and good luck on a new ride.

Phil
Other Option For Ti Builder: Empire Cyclestexbaz
Mar 1, 2002 9:25 AM
"(I also wanted a frame that didn't make me look like another Fred out there on a Litespeed)"

Phil,
I'm sure it's not the litespeed that would make you look like a Fred! it.

Mike
some other optionsk mand
Mar 1, 2002 9:25 AM
If your're going to shell out the dough for those frames, you may also want consider Serotta or Seven. They'll build them as stiff as you want and customize the frame to your biomechanics. For that money, know everything that is available to you.
BUT, I can get a deal on a Litespeed or LeMond...so??CKS
Mar 1, 2002 11:29 AM
Definitely appreciate the comments. However, I am really interested in a discussion on the relative merits on the various Litespeed models (and Lemond, although it doesn't sound like anyone's ridden one).

I like racing, ride hard almost all the time, but want something that's universally good.
Ultimatepmf1
Mar 1, 2002 12:29 PM
I've got a 1999 LS Ultimate. Its a great crit bike. If you do a lot of racing (and crits are popular in the U.S.), then it is the LS frame you should consider. I've ridden mine on centuries and don't find it too stiff.

As far as LeMond goes, its made by Trek who up to this point have not produced titanium bikes. Not that there is anything complicated about welding titanium tubes -- especially for a huge company like Trek. I've never seen one of these, they must be relatively new.

People put down LS and I have to agree that you sure see a lot of them. I think they're well made bikes with a good warranty. Yeah, LS is not some cute little company staffed by starving bike artists working in a garage, so the cool factor is not high, but they are good bikes.

Do not pay retail for a LS. You can always get last years model at substantial savings. What kind of deal are you getting frm your LBS. Shop around. And with improvements such as integrated headsets, last year's model may be the better bike anyway.
Gurunoupi
Mar 1, 2002 7:59 PM
Nice bikes.
http://www.gurubikes.com/bikes/velociti.html
built in Montreal Canada . Frame & fork around $2300.00 US