RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


SUVs are the new scourge of riders(29 posts)

SUVs are the new scourge of ridersDjudd
Feb 27, 2002 2:56 PM
like 8 inch sewer grates and persistent pit bulls, SUVs are dangerous to riders. I don't know if its the shear number or some other function but it seems these vehicles carry special danger to us. No less than three times while commuting home I was swiped by the side view of one of these beasts. I speak in particular of the Cadillac Escalade and others of that ilk. These things are the size of a Stegasaurus and take up too much room on the road. I fear the drivers of these vehicles literally cannot see enough of the road to be safe.
Before I get flamed as a crazed anti-car nut let me say I drive a mini-van and am very happy with it, My mini-van is great for getting me and my kids and my bikes here and there comfortably. Additionally, I was raised in upstate New York where the original 4 wheel drive vehicles were needed and everyone had one to negotiate the winter snow and the Catskills.
These things I see now are not safe for city streets, and they keep getting bigger. I don't believe the drivers are vicious (for the most part) but they are attempting to drive a vehicle they are not trained to drive on streets that were not meant handle these machines. As a result those of us on bicycles are going to suffer and perhaps be injured or killed.

Thank you
Let's not forget Soccer MomsRollinFast
Feb 27, 2002 3:06 PM
The same could be said for Soccer Mom's in their mini van. Those pices of crap Toyota Echoes and Geo Metros can kill riders too. I don't think it is a good idea to single out one sort of drivers. 18 wheelers are more dangerous than the SUVs. As an SUV driver, I always pass a rider safely giving them plenty of room to ride. I just want to bring up the point that I have come close to being hit by mini vans, tiny boxy cars, and 18 wheelers. Drivers kill not the actual type of car.
I don't knowEric16
Feb 27, 2002 8:15 PM
I wouldn't say 18-wheelers are more dangerous than SUVs. I actually see a fair amount of big rigs on the back country farm roads around town and have always found the drivers to be much more considerate to cyclists than any SUV or pickup truck driver. I must therefore come to the defense of the truckers as they, most likely, do not frequent this board. And just like that, the Karma has been repaid, now please continue to be nice to me big rigs!
Truckers are cool.guido
Feb 27, 2002 9:27 PM
Very astute observation, Eric. I've never been threatened by a semi. Truckers know how to drive, for one thing, and for another, they'd better be careful because it's their livelihood.

But SUV drivers don't have be specially licensed, so they muscle these huge vehicles around like big cars, with aggressive behavior learned from years of driving small, lightweight cars. That's why so many SUVs roll in accidents. They aren't cars, but people drive them like cars. Still, visibility is pretty good from them. For this reason, I think the chances of getting hit by a car are probably equal.
Truckers..Brooks
Feb 28, 2002 7:44 AM
Short story...Logging truck, straight road with plenty of visibility but no shoulder, no oncoming traffic, truck passes without even moving over an inch. Less than a foot off the handlebars but the draft sent my riding partner off the road. Yeah, truckers won't hit you, but I don't think they realize the effect of the air they push around their trucks.
I don't knowvitudude
Feb 28, 2002 5:38 AM
Many years ago, on vacation in northern Michigan, I was riding along a country road near Charlesvoix, when I noice a semi pulling a double-wide trailer coming up behind me. "no way this guy is going to get by me" I think. I pulled off the road into a conveniently placed driveway and waved him by. The smile and wave from the driver was like gold.
Being A Jeep OwnerBianchiAmber
Feb 27, 2002 3:16 PM
I think your point is made that there are a few idiots on the road. I don't think an SUV is anymore dangerous than anything else on the road. I just think people need to think about how much time they are really saving. I have seen some really crazy moves while on my bike. People will risk their own life as well as mine to save five seconds, instead of taking the time to pass me safely. It doesn't matter what they are driving either.
Any idiot can drive a car, and they all do...cyclinseth
Feb 27, 2002 8:15 PM
A Suburban Assault Vehile is no more dangerous than anything else on the road? Department of Highway Saftey Statistics says that an accident between an SAV and a "normal" size car is 5 times more likely to wind up with a death in the "normal" size car than an accident between two "normal" size cars.

cyclinseth "The Anti-murdervehicle Lunatic"
Any idiot can drive a car, and they all do...Jekyll
Feb 27, 2002 10:02 PM
Probably because the overzealous hug a tree crowd has mandated us into smaller and lighter cars which are less safe than their larger counterparts. The statistics seem to go along the line of for every 100lbs of vehicle weight we remove we gain 400 fatalities per year. Its probably safe to assume that we have lost around a 1000 pounds of the average family car in he last 15 years or so - or around 4000 additional corpses a year - but think of the trees we've saved.
SUV's and light trucks are not subject to the same emissions classifications as "cars" which is one of the reason for some of their size and probably part of the reason for their immense popularity.
I personally hate the things. Like someone said above, its just a bloody station wagon with ground clearance. And maybe th size does embolden drivers but then Darwinism kicks in and they make up for their improved odds in a SUV / car collision with the immense number of rollovers they tend to get into.
Anyway, its your money, drive what you like, just please watch out for the guy one bike.
wouldn't that mean they are more dangerous then (nm)salmonwheel
Feb 28, 2002 10:17 AM
Its not the SUVfirstrax
Feb 27, 2002 3:24 PM
Not all SUV drivers are idiots. But most idiots prefer SUVs over sedans.
i hate suvs lets all ride our bikesCherry1
Feb 27, 2002 3:24 PM
You lied - no more posts, ever? (nm)grzy
Feb 27, 2002 6:24 PM
i hate suvs lets all ride our bikesvitudude
Feb 28, 2002 5:39 AM
Those who hate others, hate themselves.
Gimme a break!Vic damone2
Feb 27, 2002 3:43 PM
Sure there are bad SUV drivers. There are also bad Minivan drivers and car drivers. People just choose to demonize SUVs for some reason. I don't see them as much different than a minivan with some extra clearance. Bashing SUVs does no good. I could say that all BMW drivers are rude reckless drivers by this logic since I see lots of em racing all over the place.
Gimme a break!wsexson
Feb 28, 2002 11:24 AM
Sure there are bad minivan and sedan drivers. Your experience may differ, but I have seen far more people driving like maniacs in SUVs than any other kind of vehicle in the past five years. The next worst is big a$$ pickups.
RV's are much worse (nm)B2
Feb 27, 2002 4:07 PM
DAMN YOU SUV DRIVERS!!!cosmicallyconscience
Feb 27, 2002 4:46 PM
For once and for all it is time to outlaw the SUVs. They are out of control. Not only that but they are a bigger threat to our lives than Al Quaida ever came close too. They are polluters. They are eating up our natural resources at an alarming rate. They are destroying acres and acres of forest for new oil find. They are destroying and will lead to the death of our oceans. Remember the Exxon Valdese accident? At this rate, all life in the ocean will be dead in ten year. They are producing Greenhouse gasses at an alarming rate. This in turn is destroying the shield that protects us daly from deadly radiation, the ozone. All of this, and for what? Social status? No social status in the world is worth the death of mother earth. SUV drivers and manufactuers have us on a crash course with this destiny. We can of course change that. Stop driving and buying SUVs. If you own one recycle it. If you still lease or owe on one, stop your payments to the bank. Don't let corporate greed take over the saftey of the earth. It is time to be environmentally friendly. It is time we end the life of the evil SUV before it ends ours.
TO ALL SUV DRIVERScosmicallyconscience
Feb 27, 2002 5:04 PM
For once and for all it is time to outlaw the SUVs. They are out of control. Not only that but they are a bigger threat to our lives than Al Quaida ever came close too. They are polluters. They are eating up our natural resources at an alarming rate. They are destroying acres and acres of forest for new oil find. They are destroying and will lead to the death of our oceans. Remember the Exxon Valdese accident? At this rate, all life in the ocean will be dead in ten year. They are producing Greenhouse gasses at an alarming rate. This in turn is destroying the shield that protects us daly from deadly radiation, the ozone. All of this, and for what? Social status? No social status in the world is worth the death of mother earth. SUV drivers and manufactuers have us on a crash course with this destiny. We can of course change that. Stop driving and buying SUVs. If you own one recycle it. If you still lease or owe on one, stop your payments to the bank. Don't let corporate greed take over the saftey of the earth. It is time to be environmentally friendly. It is time we end the life of the evil SUV before it ends ours.
BWAHAHAHAHAHAHA!Ahimsa
Feb 27, 2002 5:08 PM
I've said it before and I'll say it again:

The worst drivers tend to be people, especially people in cars.

A.
re: SUVs are the new scourge of ridersbikesFirst
Feb 28, 2002 2:12 AM
It's not SUV's it's the damn cell phones and the ME FIRST attitudes of careless idiotic drivers who bring food, notes to read, out of control children, coffee, Palm Pilots, and every other god-damned thing into the car with them when they drive. Talk about Attention Deficit Syndrome! What's next, a power cord for the Playstation?

Get these stupid people on public transportation since their driving has taken a back seat to them being entertained while driving.
re: SUVs are the new scourge of ridersroofgoat
Feb 28, 2002 7:29 AM
I think bikesFirst pretty much nailed it, blaming SUVs is being ignorant.
It's all about what makes SUVs popular.Leisure
Feb 28, 2002 4:43 AM
Insecure people buy cars that bolster their egos. Twenty years ago that meant a sports car that could rip away from anyone that pissed you off. Now it means an SUV that makes you feel bigger and allows you to smash anyone else without consequence.
WTF?Miklos
Feb 28, 2002 9:44 AM
"Now it means an SUV that makes you feel bigger and allows you to smash anyone else without consequence."

Where is this statement true? I must know! I see plenty of stupid drivers, usually driving erratically and racing everywhere in their "riced out" Hondas and Jettas. I drive a 4x4 dually pickup that would result in them being merely speedbumps. However, any action I would take against them would more that certainly have consequences.

Miklos
insecurity?merckx56
Feb 28, 2002 10:24 AM
are you angry that i can afford to drive a vehicle that is practical, relatively safe, can haul for people and all of their collective crap on the inside and 5 bikes on the roof?
i didn't buy it to bolster my ego or to make myself feel bigger. I have a gmc jimmy 2-door with the police package. my "suv" weighs less than most four door luxury sedans. it can still boil the tires at the drop of the go pedal, if necessary. it isn't the most economical vehicle on the road, but i personally don't want a honda hybrid car. i have a good friend who used to lay into me for driving an suv...until his girlfriend moved in and brought her jeep cherokee with her. his nissan sentra is now parked and he drives to jeep everyday.
i know my vehicle is a roll over risk, that's why i took the time to learn it's limits. the problem with 99 percent of drivers is the fact they think that they are "good" drivers! go to a skip barber car control clinic and you will quickly learn you don't know dick about driving and controlling a car.
as for safety, i totalled a chevy s-10 blazer in high school, (drunk ran a stop sign and i t-boned him, at 7:35am!) but i limped away from a 50 mph collision with injuries to the face and leg. if i would have been driving an econobox, i would have been seriously injured or killed.
i drive what i like and that's all! keep your opinions to yourself!
now, now...Leisure
Feb 28, 2002 12:53 PM
Like all things this was a "5% of them ruining things for everyone else" post. Perhaps I didn't qualify my original statements well enough. You don't need to feel accused, nor retaliate by accusing me of whatever it is you're thinking.
Straight up and simple: a certain percentage of people buy things out of insecurity. This is obvious, and there are plenty of insecure people out there. The things they buy are usually trendy and give the buyer some feeling of power, popularity, whatever. It used to be sports cars. Now it's SUVs. I don't know about where you live, but where I am SUV and truck drivers frequently use their bulk to threaten and push other driver's around. Road racing with Hondas as you talk about exists too, but to nowhere near the extent. People sit around and wonder why roadraging has become so incredibly prevalent, citing the deterioration of the family or drug availability or whatever, when it should be ridiculously obvious. Insecure drivers used to flex their muscles by speeding ahead, and a faster car helped them do that. Now they threaten you with physical violence. SUVs, particularly the five-ton Suburbans, etc, are the weapon of choice. Nobody seems to get this because they're all too caught up in the "speed kills" mantra to realize it. Do some people truly buy them for safety? Sure. It wouldn't be pleasant getting railed by a Suburban in a Metro. But even then you're buying size specifically to match someone else's. It's not your fault, but it reinforces my point anyway.
Sure there are long-term legal consequences to hitting someone, but people don't typically think about them. They think, "will I get hurt", not "will I hurt someone". Plenty of SUV drivers have told me they don't care if they completely plow someone to death. Some have told me worse. Plenty will charge at a jay-walking pedestrian who had more than enough time just to "get back at them" for some perceived injustice. They'll charge any smaller vehicle that gets in their lane a half-block ahead, too. The worst thing about it is it's perfectly legal. That's the appeal of an SUV. It's common knowledge that most of them are hardly off-road worthy, spend most of their time in 1-person commutes without cargo, and are no more fun to drive than a minivan but with worse mileage and payload. If you truly find tipping, sluggish acceleration, and weak mileage enjoyable, more power to you. You're lucky to be alive and purchase for safety, that's fine too. You don't comprise all SUV owners. Nor would I if I chose to buy one. This is a discussion forum. Argue if you want; my opinion stands.
i think...merckx56
Feb 28, 2002 2:25 PM
you responded to the wrong line of the thread. in my post, i never mentioned racing hondas etc. as for "sluggish acceleration", my 240-hp police package gmc jimmy is quicker than alot of sports cars, and will put the speedo needle dead against the "certified police speedometer" 125mph peg! either way, drive what you want, i do!
There's no formal way to "dual respond"...Leisure
Feb 28, 2002 3:33 PM
to seperate posts. Not that I've figgered at least. You were the last, so that's the reply button I hit. Hmm...240 horses in a Jimmy might undercut 7 sec to 60? Not bad. How did you come across it? I do happen to drive an Integra with a couple mods and it's fairly quick. Doing it while getting 30mpg is kind of nice, too. Ironically I seldom ever drive it hard. Everyone hears the muffler and assumes you're racing them; I almost have to go out of my way to drive slow to keep certain drivers from getting, uh, overstimulated.
jimmy hpmerckx56
Feb 28, 2002 5:58 PM
my mother used to work for gmc, so i got to use the correct order codes when i ordered the truck. the 2 door is 500! pounds lighter than the 4 door! i deleted all of the power pack b.s. (windows, locks, etc) and chose the highway patrol pursuit package. it gives the bigger intake, to which i have added an open element filter, different gears in the rear end, (3.73 vs. 3.30), overdrive over-ride on the tranny, and i've chipped it, done upper and lower pulleys and added 3.5" stainless exhaust. thinking of a supercharger...! the best part is the headlight override switch. all new vehicles have the stupid daytime running lights, except police vehicles! you can turn 'em off!
the motor is simple to modify since it's 3/4 of the chevy 350 anyway. it gets to 60 in right at 7 seconds, but the passing power is amazing. it'll drop to 2nd at between 20 and 55 and pull third straight thru to 80! and it's very quick about it! i'm eyeing some corvette wheels but damn are they expensive!
if you like high hp import stuff, check out www.exvitermini.com. it's a bunch of crazy aussies with 500 hp subarus and nissans! it'll make you smile! look at the "various" part of the video page!