RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


The Best And The Worst Of Chicago Bike Shops(16 posts)

The Best And The Worst Of Chicago Bike ShopsBianchiAmber
Feb 27, 2002 10:56 AM
I posted a discussion yesterday called rating Chicagoland Bicycle Shops. Although not very scientific, I thought I would list the best and the worst in Chicagoland. For every positive comment, the LBS received a point. For every negative, they were deducted a point. Chicagoland Bicycle ( http://www.cbike.com ) scored the best with Lickton's ( http://www.lickbike.com ) following a close second. The worst bike shop in Chicago is Spokes. Nothing favorable was mentioned about Spokes as of the time of this post.

Here is a list of the best:

Chicagoland
Licktons
Higher Gear
The Wheel Thing
Village Cycle Sport (burbs)
Straight Up

Here is a list of average shops:
Blazing Saddles
Bike Source
Arlington Bicycle Company
Midwest Cyclery

Here is a list of the worst:
Village Cycle Center (city)
Spokes
Kozy's

Honorable Mention goes to
Broken Spoke
Albertos
RRB

Thanks for your opinions.
Iresponsible bullsh*tAlex-in-Evanston
Feb 27, 2002 11:31 AM
Asking for advice is one thing - making a list of best and worst based on a dozen idle opinions is another.

You're "study" is incomplete, designed improperly, and scored arbitrarily. What you have come up with is as much demographic breakdown of where people on this board shop, as a reflection of LBS quality.

Alex
pardon my spellingAlex-in-Evanston
Feb 27, 2002 11:34 AM
I meant "irresponsible"

Alex
You're right, but I don't think this post was desiged . . .morrison
Feb 27, 2002 11:44 AM
as a scientific study. How is it irresponsible? The post stated the methodology that was used, and we all can see that it could lead to some pretty ambiguous results. That said, it does seem to reflect some general consensus as to what stores offer great service / prices, vs. those that are on the opposite end of the spectrum. Frankly, I don't see the difference between this post, and someone who trashes a bike he's never ridden.
You're right, but I don't think this post was desiged . . .BianchiAmber
Feb 27, 2002 12:43 PM
He is right, so many people on this board post their opinions on frames and other components, and the likelyhood of them acutally riding it is pretty low. I was just taking the opinions of others below and reporting it.
Iresponsible bullsh*tBianchiAmber
Feb 27, 2002 12:40 PM
Alex, relax, it says it is in no way scientific, and that it was based by responses from yesterday. You must own a shop or something.
Alex, Please Post Your OpinionBianchiAmber
Feb 27, 2002 12:47 PM
I am interested in hearing how you rate local shops.
re: The Best And The Worst Of Chicago Bike ShopsSlipstream
Feb 27, 2002 11:52 AM
Kudos to BianchiAmber for taking the time and effort to pull together these results (however unscientific). Thanks to everyone who took the time to respond. Obviously there is a lot of interest--and emotion--around the subject.

For me, it is a useful tool and is consistent with anecdotal information I have received in the past.

thanks again!
Thoughts (my 0.02 cents)Steve-O
Feb 27, 2002 12:23 PM
I tend to agree with Alex in Evanston that this is a pretty irrational pole. There are a lot of factors that make a bike shop good or bad and most people's viewpoints are pretty subjective. For example:

- Maybe they carry a lot of inventory but it's primarily MTB or BMX. Does that make them bad?

- Mechanics change and sales people change. Some are better then others. Some are more knowledgeable. Has anyone spent extended time in ALL of these shops?

- What's important in a shop can vary. For instance, if you want to see a lot of bikes go to Spokes or Village. If you want to find an obscure part go to Licktons. What makes it a good shop is different for different people.

I was also dismayed at the number of shops left off the list. Turin? On The Route? Mission Bay? Johnny Sprockets?

Steve-O (spent those .02 cents)
Steve I asked people to add any I forgotBianchiAmber
Feb 27, 2002 12:50 PM
There are so many, that it would be impossible to list them all.
My Reasons For This PostBianchiAmber
Feb 27, 2002 1:37 PM
A few people like Alex of Evanston are upset that I am doing this, but a new spring riding season is coming and people will be buying. I think if we best steer the newbies in the right direction, they will be more rewarded with the joys of cycling.
yeah but they might be going to the wrong shopsFed Up
Feb 27, 2002 1:44 PM
some of the shops might be great just that the 10 people that answered didn't know about them.
yeah but they might be going to the wrong shopsBianchiAmber
Feb 27, 2002 1:52 PM
True, and this isn't keeping them from going there. It is giving them pointers to watch out for and keep in mind. These opinions are consistent with other posts on the subject as well. Do a search on SPOKES and see what you come up with. I am sure a lot of Chicago riders read this board, and they all can chime in too with their opinions. I will revise it if they do.
Water on the FlamesScot_Gore
Feb 27, 2002 2:48 PM
Amber,

Keep it up, I'm enjoying your posts, and I've been able to form my own opinions for more than 20 years regardless of what I read or hear from others

Scot Gore
Water on the FlamesBianchiAmber
Feb 27, 2002 2:57 PM
Hooray for Scott for being able to think on his own and not being forced to believe what other people present on this board, after all, it is for entertainment purposes only. Maybe, someone from a store like SPOKES or VILLAGE CYCLE CENTER (city) will read this, and take some of it in consideration. This would become a winning situation for the consumer after all.
whats the point everyone knows spokes sucks from two weeks agoCherry1
Feb 27, 2002 3:57 PM