RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


RIDERS rate Online Bike Shops(34 posts)

RIDERS rate Online Bike ShopsBianchiAmber
Feb 27, 2002 5:18 AM
Please rate on a scale of 1-10, 10 being best the following online stores. If I leave one out, add it. If you want to add an additional note that would be helpful, please do.

www.performancebike.com
www.bikenashbar.com
www.coloradocyclist.com
www.worldcyclingproductions.com
www.lickbike.com
www.cbike.com
www.gearlink.com
www.sdeals.com
www.probikefit.com
www.schwabcycles.com
www.excelsports.com
re: RIDERS rate Online Bike Shopsweiwentg
Feb 27, 2002 5:37 AM
can't speak for all of them.

nashbar: 6; their returns section often has lots of hot deals.
performance: 6, 8 if you're a team performance member.
gearlink: 5. their prices aren't so good.
lickton's: 8. they're cool chaps. great prices.
re: RIDERS rate Online Bike Shopsjswhern
Feb 27, 2002 5:47 AM
I would say that nothing beats a good relationship with a bikeshop owner. The savings extends beyond the items that one would purchase from these sites. The only ones I would rate are: coloradocyclist; 7 probikefit 9, best prices for me, Excel 7; and of course ebay an 8, you have to have a good working knowledge of what you want for you get what you pay for. Most of my purchases occur in bikeshops that you walk and talk to.
re: RIDERS rate Online Bike ShopsDINOSAUR
Feb 27, 2002 9:53 AM
I do both, shopping at my LBS and mail order through Performance. The Performance Team Membership is a good deal as it upgrades the delivery and you rack up points with each purchase and in time you can get something for free or a nice discount.

However now I'm more inclined to support my LBS. After doing business with them for 12 years, I was all set to order a custom bike and I called the owner and said I wanted to talk to him about a purchase. We set up a meeting before business hours and we had a long disussion and he did a fitting and I ended up saving 22% and $600.00 on a new bike.

Bottom line is, he said he wanted my business. Bottom line for me is, he will get it. It pays to be loyal. I still like doing busines face to face, it pays off in the long run. They do remember you....
re: RIDERS rate Online Bike ShopsJs Haiku Shop
Feb 27, 2002 5:51 AM
you forgot totalcycling.com (nothern ireland). i'll give them a 9.5. prices ROCK, but shipping is $20+ baseline. my last order arrived in three days.

i'll also add pricepoint.com. they have super deals from time to time, and shiping is alright. customer service is good, price matching is good. score? 8.5. points held for poor road selection.

10 www.bikenashbar.com
9 www.performancebike.com
8 www.sdeals.com
7 www.excelsports.com
7 www.coloradocyclist.com
7 www.worldcyclingproductions.com

n/a:

www.lickbike.com
www.cbike.com
www.gearlink.com
www.probikefit.com
www.schwabcycles.com

nashbar: quick shipping and good prices, never any problems, easy returns

performance: (in my experience) slow shipping and unreliable, don't always have in stock what they advertise on web, prices pretty good, customer service awful

sdeals: most awesome prices and selection, but shipping is expensive, and takes 1.5-2 weeks to arrive

excel sports: customer service marginal at best (again, in my experience). ordered a bunch of winter stuff from them last summer, tried to return some of it a month later 'cause it was already coming apart, they gave me the grand run-around. my wife ordered my steamroller from them for my b-day 2001 with certain specs (handlebar width, etc.), none of which were matched, even though they told her it was all addressed. not enough to ship it back.

colorado cyclist: prices seem to be just below LBS. add shipping, and it's close to a toss-up.

world cycling: great videos, but the prices are HORRIBLE. the sales catalogs mark everything UP, then mark them back down to normal prices and call 'em "sales" prices. good stuff, though. surprised at the recent prices on pro jerseys.
Service is keyPaulCL
Feb 27, 2002 6:05 AM
www.performancebike.com: 8 Used to have service problems. But they recently redeemed themselves by replacing a 3 yr old broken pump.

www.bikenashbar.com 8.5 OK selection. Great prices. Great delivery.

www.coloradocyclist.com 9 My favorite. They have everything you need at good prices. Good service.

www.worldcyclingproductions.com 6. Great catalogue to dream over. Too expensive

www.sdeals.com 8. Great service. Immediate email response. Love the prices on tires. If you can wait two weeks, use sdeals.

www.probikefit.com 5 Marginal stuff. Gotta look for deals. 2 week delivery. Questionable no-name brands

www.excelsports.com 8 Quality merchandise. Same as CC,but for some reason I always go to CC.
re: RIDERS rate Online Bike ShopsGreg Taylor
Feb 27, 2002 6:32 AM
Nashbar: 8.5 (They have dropped some of their selection of fiddly parts, like loose ball bearings, etc., which ticks me off. Edging closing to looking more like Performance every day. Otherwise, they would have gotten a 9.5 from me. Good service and excellent sales. I still do a lot of business with them.)

Bikeworld.com: 9 (Awesome service, good prices and selection)

Loosescrews.com: 9.5 (funky selection of obsolete parts and small fiddy bits, like hub cones and grease shields. Great service, and really nice people.)

Coloradocyclist.com: 8 (ok prices. An upscale Nashbar. Staff not particularly helpful at times.)
Oh, and Branford too.McAndrus
Feb 27, 2002 6:35 AM
Performance - 8 - good service, good prices
Nashbar - no opinion - haven't bought from them in years
Colorado Cyclist - 6 - mediocre pricing, mediocre service
World Cycling - 4 - great products, good service, high-high-high prices
Lick Bike - no opinion - no purchases
Cbike - no opinion - no purchases
Gearlink - 3 - eBay experience negative as might as well pay full retail
Sdeals - 6 - good prices, high shipping costs
Probikefit - 5 - good prices, mediocre products (a jersey, specifically)
Scwhab - no opinion
Excel - 9 - good products, good prices, good service
Branford Bike - 9 - great products, great information, good prices, good service
Agree on Branford!!! 10++++ on service, website, and prices(nm)Cima Coppi
Feb 27, 2002 6:54 AM
yep, Branford is the bomb!! (nm)dsc
Feb 27, 2002 12:43 PM
re: RIDERS rate Online Bike ShopsJekyll
Feb 27, 2002 7:28 AM
Performance - 5 - lousy prices, sales tax and crappy customer service, add a point if you take the team discount and upgraded shipping.
Nashbar - 6 - (owned by Performance) - pretty much the same prices as Performance, a little better CS and better selection.
Colorado Cyclist - 7 - high prices, good customer services, limited selection.
World Cycling Productions - 5 - drool time, prices that make the LBS happy.
Lickbike - N/A
Cbike - N/A
Gearlink - N/A
Sdeals - N/A
Probikefit - N/A
Schwabcycles - N/A
Excel Sports - 9, great customer services, somewhat high prices, somewhat limited selection.
Also:
Supergo - 6 - lousy customer service but good prices and pretty good selection.
JensonUSA.com - 6 - good customer service, good prices but very limited road stuff - some of the best MTB parts shopping.
oh, yeah, btw: voler / velowear.com: 11 (nm)Js Haiku Shop
Feb 27, 2002 7:28 AM
hard to beat velowear.comCRM
Feb 27, 2002 10:52 AM
I second that "11" for velowear.com. Of course, they only have clothing and it's not a particularly large selection, but their stuff is very good quality, their prices are reasonable and the best part is that they send a pre-addressed, pre-paid envelope along with your order so if it doesn't fit or isn't what you wanted, you can just stick it in the mail and be done with it. Can't beat that.
they recently changed shipping methods, though...Js Haiku Shop
Feb 27, 2002 2:23 PM
now it takes about a week instead of 2-3 days. still faster than most others.
Yes, they sent Tootsie Rolls in my shorts,Crankist
Feb 27, 2002 7:06 PM
how disgusting is that ?(all those calories, I mean).
I've been using mostly econo type shorts and forgot how much better quality shorts can be.
Mine arrived Monday.
Yes 10 out of a possible 10.
Mike
re: RIDERS rate Online Bike ShopsElefantino
Feb 27, 2002 8:24 AM
Add bikeworld.com. Great store from San Antonio. Best customer service I've encountered.
what a horrible deal on their "winter wearhouse sale"!!!Js Haiku Shop
Feb 27, 2002 8:52 AM
holy guacamole!

2001 camelbak blowfish
PN: 401503 $84.99 Slate
PN: 401526 $84.99 Moody Blue
free fedex shipping

ugh! i just bought this ('01) online from campmor for $57, shipped. same one is $72 at nashbar. $89.99 at performancebike.com (for the '02). surprising, the price differences if you shop around.
add one, RealityBikes.comCrash
Feb 27, 2002 9:31 AM
The place I bought my Pegoretti from is realitybikes.com. They're located outside Atlanta. Really super people to deal with, Brian and Todd, and they gave me an unbelievable deal on my Team Custom. When the bike was delivered it took me no more than 10 minutes to start riding and the setup was BETTER than any of the LBS I usually deal with. I'm looking to get a new mountain bike in the next couple months and I will definitely use them again.

Of your other selections I have used Performancebike.com a lot. If you're a performance club member they give you a 10% rebate on all of your purchases, plus an upgrade to second day shipping. Normal prices are OK, but occasionally they have great deals especially if you are a club member.
Excel=10, CC=9, Performance=5 (used to be better)terry b
Feb 27, 2002 9:53 AM
Excel by a nose over Colorado Cyclist based on inventory. I use both interchangeably. Helpful, deliver when they say they will. Used to love Performance, then we went through the out of stock items, lost packages, shipping to wrong address and most amazingly the used pair of Look pedals I received. Also like Bike World (San Antonio), I'd give them an 8.
Is It Too Late For LBS To Market OnlineBianchiAmber
Feb 27, 2002 10:37 AM
Is the best window of opportunity over for local bike shops to get online and market their catalogs and inventory online? It seems that many of these online shops have loyalty and better prices. Will this eventually be the death of most local bike shops?
re: RIDERS rate Online Bike Shopscydswipe
Feb 27, 2002 11:12 AM
Performance 7. Some good deals. Nothing great though.
Nashbar 7. Same deal.
WCP 2. I can't even afford to look at their website.
Bike World 9. Great customer service and prices!!
Bike jerseys.com 8. Good deals on pro wear. Fast shipping.
Supergo 2. out of stock a lot. Didn't refund S/H costs on an item they didn't have when they never S/H anything to begin with.
Price point. 6. These folks have good deals. Too bad they are always out of said good deal items.
re: RIDERS rate Online Bike Shopsgw
Feb 27, 2002 11:18 AM
Performance - 8- good pricing and customer service.

Nashbar - 6 - the order takers aren't very knowledgable or helpful. Their specials can be exceptional (Record Cranks $119) but they charge sales tax and have high shipping.

Colorado Cyclist - 2 - lame customer service. They frequently advertise products they don't have. Anyone try to order one of the Ultegra headsets they had discounted in 3 catalogues last year? Terrible instore service.

Lickbike - 9 - good pricing and great customer service. Prompt shipping.

Excel - 4 - customer service is pretty inconsistant and often arrogant. The reps are good on current road products but generally worthless when it comes to mountain biking gear.

Some others to consider:

Supergo 6 - great pricing but average service.

Jenson 9 - great pricing and service.

Speedgoat 9 - very good pricing and excellent customer service.

Pricepoint 6 - great pricing, fair service.
Excel and BranfordDaveL
Feb 27, 2002 11:57 AM
10 = Excel Sports; 10A = Branford Bike. The prices and service at Excel are tops. I really like Branford, best at inventory, knowledge of the product and customer service, even if Branford does not always have the best price [it's not far off], the value is there because you KNOW the product is right and the service cannot be beat. I like Gearlink, too.
www.abicibikes.comweiwentg
Feb 27, 2002 12:24 PM
forgot to mention Abici. their prices on groupsets can't be beat - they only sell full groupsets, but if you get one, you can get excellent deals on equipment. I got a Thomson post for $30. no kidding. my friend is about to get an Ultegra group from them. service? pretty good.
Nashbar, Excel, never a problem. Performance, ALWAYS a problemscottfree
Feb 27, 2002 12:50 PM
re: RIDERS rate Online Bike ShopsBianchiAmber
Feb 27, 2002 12:54 PM
Since I am getting the flames for reviewing the results of an earlier post regarding the best and worst Chicagoland bike shops, I will not list the best and worst of these results. This leaves it up to you to decide for yourself.
tell them to stuff it up their you-know-whereweiwentg
Feb 28, 2002 4:23 AM
idiots should be ignored, where possible. yours was a great idea.
re: RIDERS rate Online Bike ShopsBianchiAmber
Feb 27, 2002 1:31 PM
Here are my opinions just to be fair...

They are scientific because this is what I think!

www.performancebike.com Not the highest quality, but decent prices and nice entry every day products. 6

www.bikenashbar.com Performance with a mask...6

www.coloradocyclist.com Colorado Cyclist is the number 1 Campy Dealer in the country. I have bought here a couple of times, prices average. Speed good. 6

www.worldcyclingproductions.com I get the catalog. Their prices keep me from wanting to place an order. 2

www.lickbike.com Good quick service, good shop. 8

www.cbike.com Lots of cool products. Decent Service. 7

www.gearlink.com Great service speedy delivery. Great to deal with. 9

www.sdeals.com good communication with customers. Verdict is still out. 7

www.probikefit.com Very fast for being across the pond. Responds quickly to e mail. 8

www.schwabcycles.com They charged $7 shipping for a $5 pair of socks, and then spent 60 cents to ship them. 1 just on principle. Will not buy from again. Asked for credit for shipping cost, and would not give me credit.

www.excelsports.com Got some good deals here. They are like the other Colorado Cyclist. 7

By the way, I think a few people like Alex of Evanston are upset that I am doing this, but a new spring riding season is coming and people will be buying. I think if we best steer the newbies in the right direction, they will be more rewarded with the joys of cycling.
DO YOU WORK FOR SOME MARKETING FIRM???? (nm)Fed Up
Feb 27, 2002 1:45 PM
DO YOU WORK FOR SOME MARKETING FIRM???? (nm)BianchiAmber
Feb 27, 2002 1:56 PM
Why, you hiring?
Quite possibly...please post/sendCurious beyond belief
Feb 28, 2002 9:01 AM
your pic. BianchiAmber is a very intriguing/seductive sounding name...My "marketing firm" places a high proirity on appearence. Preferably a shot from behind in your biking shorts...
and pic of bikenm
Feb 28, 2002 10:35 AM
until they give it away for free they all suckCherry1
Feb 27, 2002 4:12 PM
BikeWorld.com - service is excellent (nm)Wolfgang
Feb 28, 2002 5:30 PM