RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


new rider with $800 budget - what I found - opinions?(13 posts)

new rider with $800 budget - what I found - opinions?mike on 2
Feb 26, 2002 4:26 AM
I can spend $800 or less on a new road bike; do not want used - as I do not know enough to buy right. I went to bicycling bike finder and found four bikes; Mercier-Aquila Fuji-NEWEST Mercier-Orion Motobecane-Record - two are steel - two are aluminum - two have steel forks - two have carbon. opinions? which are best deal? other ideas?
recommend you buy usedTSlothrop
Feb 26, 2002 5:01 AM
I really think you will be better off buying used. I don't think you need too much specialst knowledge, and perhaps you know someone who can give you some advice. Often you can buy used bikes through your LBS that have been traded in by riders upgrading. In this case you can be pretty confident with what you are getting, the shop will have had a careful look at it as they wouldn't want to be selling unsafe bikes. You'll probably need to replace brake blocks, tyres, but nothing too serious. I bought both my bikes this way, and got a fantastic price on bikes that have barely been ridden. In the long run, I really think you'll be happier with the used bike, for the same money it may well last longer than the cheaper, new, model.
Hope this helps (I know Elefantino will back me up) john
I would never go used - plus it may not even make sensegeorge
Feb 26, 2002 5:37 AM
I would much prefer a new VW over a used BMW. In addition, prices are droping and new bikes may even be better. Last year you could not find a road bike under $1000 with a carbon fork; now you have two recommended and one has a Reynolds carbon fork - that's a $300 fork! I for one would for sure buy a new bike with a carbon fork {ride of carbon fork is much better}
IMO, "never go used" is simply foolishRetro
Feb 26, 2002 8:10 AM
Sorry, but I just can't think of a way to say it less offensively. You're entitled to spend your money any way you want, but ruling out a used bike simply because it IS used is an ego issue more than a bike issue, seems to me. It's not at all like buying a car--the parts that wear out or break are sticking right out there where you can see them; they're easily replaced and it doesn't take an expert to see what's wrong. With the exception of my Atlantis and a mountain bike I've had for six or seven years, ALL my bikes have been bought used, including a 2-year-old Allez I got for $300.
I (pretty much) agreebigdave
Feb 26, 2002 3:24 PM
Foolish may be a little harsh :-)

But I got a great used 853-framed bike for less than 1/2 of what it retailed for. And it was that much only because it was a year old. When the frame is in alignment and all other components work well, going used can save you a bunch of money. See if you can arrange to have a reliable local shop give it the once-over first, and you will have a great deal on something that will last you years.

--Dave
re: new rider with $800 budget - what I found - opinions?Boris
Feb 26, 2002 5:03 AM
I was faced with an 800 dollar budget for a new bike about 4 months ago. You've got to remember that the prices you see online are MSRP (manufacturers suggested retail price) and that those prices can be anywhere from 50 to 200 dollars cheaper in the store. I got a Specialized Allez Sport 2002. The bike retails for about $1085, and the shop had it "on sale" for $1000. I looked the guy in the face and told him I only had $800 to spend; after much pleading, he let it go for $800 (plus pedals). This is a good bike, and if you can get it at this price it's a steal.
here are two morebikeroger
Feb 26, 2002 5:03 AM
Raleigh R500 and KHS Flite 500 - both in range and KHS has Carbon fork - I think a carbon fork is a great feature so the KHS, Moto, and Aquila would be my pick
So whose the best "fitter" of the guys you've talked to?Spoke Wrench
Feb 26, 2002 5:24 AM
Buy something he's got and you won't go wrong.
GIANT OCR packs a lot of bang for $800Cherry1
Feb 26, 2002 5:44 AM
www.giantbicycles.com
Raleigh R 500 nice for about $750Underdog
Feb 26, 2002 6:09 AM
I thought the specs were better than the Giant
raleigh and giant do NOT have carbon forksbruce
Feb 26, 2002 8:52 AM
seems silly to me to buy bikes without carbon forks when for the same money you can get Mercier, Motobecane, or KHS with carbon forks. And the mercier seems to have better frame and parts too. I rode 6 months without a carbon fork - then had to make the upgrade. Is there anyone in here who thinks a steel fork is better than carbon fiber? i would think not
raleigh and giant do NOT have carbon forksHarry Hall
Feb 26, 2002 9:04 AM
You will get more bike for your $ if you don't insist on either the most current high-tech shit (carbon fork) or worry about what a bike weighs in your price range. In my 33 years knowledge (not "opinion," knowledge) these concerns are luxuries that you can worry about when your budget is over $2k. Insisting on this stuff at a bargain price is a good way to get ripped off and end up with rolling garbage.
BUDGET WARNING for novicestz
Feb 26, 2002 11:18 AM
To Mike and other novices:

Remember, that your will need many accessories, that will overrun your budget if you buy a relatively expensive bicycle.
Here is a list to think about. Some items in it are "must have", some you may not even need:

a helmet (don't become an organ donor)
a new saddle - there is a good chance that you will have to try a number of these out.
a pump (maybe even two - one for home, one for the road)
a set of lights, if you think about cycling after dark. (a must have in a city)
clipless pedals - if the bike doesn't already have them.
Clothing+shoes.
Extra water bottle+cage / hydration system.
luggage rack/wedge - some kind of luggage system for longer rides

This list varies from person to person, but price of those things combined can easily be over $200.

Good luck.

BTW. Last year I had same problem as you do now - I bought a Motobecane SuperMirage for $425 at www.bikesdirect.com and over a year added some things that make riding more enjoyable.