RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Cérvelo opinions, stories, etc...(12 posts)

Cérvelo opinions, stories, etc...Benjamin Schardt
Feb 25, 2002 11:34 AM
I'm just trying to field opinions and anecdotes from anyone at all about the Cervelo Prodigy. Not a whole lot of insight from the reviews here, and I want to formulate more of an opinion before I have ye olde bike shoppe order one in in my size.

Bike in question would be as it comes stock, with Ultegra, Ritchey etc.. thanks
re: Cérvelo opinions, stories, etc...Akirasho
Feb 25, 2002 1:17 PM
... might try reviewing some of the posts at http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Cervelo/

We abide.

Remain In Light.
Cérvelo opinions, stories, etc...vol245
Feb 25, 2002 7:20 PM
That would be Cervélo. I was looking at them also, but no local bike shops had any in stock. I did not want to special order one without being able to try it out. I ended up buying another bike. I also wanted Campagnolo components and Cervélo bikes come with Shimano. Supergo had some in 52, 54 and 56 for $1399 which is a great price.
re: Cérvelo opinions, stories, etc...cyclaholic
Feb 25, 2002 8:02 PM
"Cervelo" is a really cool word. It takes the latin root for "brain" and mixes it with the French word for bike "velo". So it must be a kind of brain bike.

Therefore, this make of racing bike must be the result of a fine coalition of Italian and French bicycle manufacturers. No doubt, this has to be a superior European bicycle.

Strange, one writer said that Cervelo (brain bike) is only fitted with a Shimano component group. This can't be. We all know that Italian bikes fit well with Campagnolo.
re: Cérvelo opinions, stories, etc...lhaver
Feb 26, 2002 2:57 AM
I thought Cervelo was based in Montreal, Canada.
HA HA HA HA...good one! nmfroryde
Feb 26, 2002 5:08 PM
Oops...forgotfroryde
Feb 26, 2002 5:10 PM
"So it must be a kind of brain bike. Therefore, this make of racing bike must be the result of a fine coalition of Italian and French bicycle manufacturers. No doubt, this has to be a superior European bicycle...This can't be. We all know that Italian bikes fit well with Campagnolo."

Now THIS is funny!!!! ROFL...good one!
HA HA HA HA...good one! nmfroryde
Feb 26, 2002 5:11 PM
I was at the bike show in Las VegasBarnyard
Feb 26, 2002 6:35 PM
And I met a really cool woman who worked for Cervelo, Anita. I believe they are based in Toronto. I did test ride a bike, but it had gotten a bit beat up in shipping, tight headset. When I think of Cervelo, I think of a Canadian bike, but I really don't have much of an opinion.
Canadian View of CerveloMarlon
Feb 26, 2002 11:17 PM
Ah... Cervelo. To a Canadian (at least, an Eastern or Central Canadian), Cervelo represents specialized speed...

No, unlike Marinoni which is based in Montreal or Cramerotti which is based in Vancouver, Cervelo is Ontario based, around the Toronto area I believe.

Cervelo has a big following from the triathlon crowd. Long known for their time-trial and triathlon bikes, they offer extremely good value for the price, and have had excellent reviews from places such as www.slowtwitch.com, a highly respected triathlon site.

Emphasis on Cervelo bikes is on speed, yet all road bikes are still UCI legal if that's a concern. It's because of this that they've been criticized as being a pain to set-up: internal cable routing, at least on the time-trial bikes. But they're pretty and extensively use shaped and aero tubing.

Frame quality is excellent, with good welds and superb quality control - no cheap jobs here. Component mix is always customizable, and some custom-touches are also available, I believe.

Ride quality of time-trial bikes is good, at least from people I know who've ridden them. Some say they're slightly harsh, due to all the aero tubing, but that's subjective too. Don't know about the quality of road bikes, but I'd be willing to bet that the ride is pretty sweet.

Bottom line: Cervelo, to me, is like a Northern cousin to Lightspeed - quality bikes, perhaps not as prestigious, but worth the time and money to drool over.
Sure it's Canadian?cyclaholic
Feb 27, 2002 1:23 PM
You seem to be making a strong comparision to Litespeed. I don't question that Cervelo is "based" in Canada, but are you certain these frames are made there? Can you attest that the factory is in Canada?
They're Canadian, eh?Marlon
Feb 28, 2002 2:21 AM
Did I say anything about Cervelo being made in Canada? It's a Canadian company, and they're Canadian bikes by right of assembly and design... but believe it or not, they're actually made in the US. At least the frames are - unless you'd like me to get more specific and go hunting around for their Taiwanese and Japanese component suppliers.

See:
http://www.slowtwitch.com/mainheadings/product2002/tribikes/tribikecerv.html

As for the strong comparison to Litespeed... I make it because I AM biased. I like the bikes, a lot, and I make no excuses for it. A lot of other people like their bikes too: I think even Robert Millar reviewed a Cervelo - July 2001 in ProCycling if I recall. Then again, a lot of other people like Trek, Cannondale, Litespeed. I'll say it once, and I'll say it again if you want me to - Cervelo, like many other companies, makes really good bikes that, to my tastes, are almost if not just as desirable as a Litespeed. But then again, I'm only one person, and my tastes may differ from yours. Vive la difference.