RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Reno, NV(8 posts)

Reno, NVCarlos
Feb 25, 2002 7:59 AM
My wife and I may be moving to Reno in the near future and I'm looking for opinions about the (road) riding/racing scene there (I've heard there is a forum member from Reno). Any information would be appreciated, especially regarding good places to live (in or outside the city) and ride.

Thanks.

/caw
re: Reno, NVRutterMan
Feb 25, 2002 8:35 AM
Lemond is from Reno and got his start riding and racing there so its probably pretty decent.
so....did Johnny Cash shoot Lemond? nmjohan burnt eels
Feb 25, 2002 9:24 AM
Been here since 1973. Like everyplace else, it's...cory
Feb 25, 2002 9:29 AM
...worse than it used to be, but not as bad as it's going to get.
There's been huge growth, obviously, at least 200 percent in 20 years in Reno and the outlying areas. A lot of places we used to ride are subdivisions now, and that's never good. But there are some really nice rides both from town and within 20-30-45 minutes. Also some active local clubs, in Reno and the surrounding towns.
Local government is not bike-friendly, but at least it's no longer openly hostile. Residents are tolerant but not well-informed, generally--I'm a newspaper columnist, and once a year or so I write a pro-bike column just to stir them up. The really good news is that the number of road cyclists is booming as ex-runners and some mountain bikers begin to switch. My commute is 11 miles west from downtown, and I used to see one or two other riders a week. Now I see several a day, dozens on weekends, which keeps drivers aware that there are bikes on the road.
I can give more details and specifics on neighborhoods etc. if you want to e-mail me directly--cfarley@rgj.com
Been here since 1973. Like everyplace else, it's...DINOSAUR
Feb 25, 2002 9:41 AM
Carlos, this is the guy I mentioned that lived in Reno on the VeloNews tech talk forum...he will be able to answer all your questions. Glad you finally asked here...

Dino AKA Zootman
Been here since 1973. Like everyplace else, it's...Carlos
Feb 25, 2002 10:42 AM
Thanks for the information--I'll interpret it as a good sign. My wife is interviewing at DRI in a few weeks and once we have a clearer picture I may contact you directly.

Thanks again.

/caw
re: Reno, NVshawndoggy
Feb 25, 2002 11:29 AM
Also check out www.renowheelmen.org ... that's the local "racing" club (as opposed to the fitness oriented procrastinating pedalers). There are generally weekly twilight club races throughout the warm months (May through August), and while I was writing this I got an e-mail from the reno wheelmen's list serv trying to recruit people to drive to the bay area for some road racing, renowheelmen@topica.com. Instructions for signing up for the list serv are on the topica.com site, and (I think) the renowheelmen.org site. That would be a GREAT place to ask some Reno-specific questions re racing.
Reno Citizen here.Empirion75
Feb 25, 2002 11:41 AM
I live in Reno. Road riding in Reno is ok, there are some decent rides. People like to ride up at the lake and stuff. People with death wishes and nerves of steel will ride up Mt. Rose. The mountain bike scene is better in my opinion. I only have to ride my mtb on the road for a couple of miles to reach some really good trails.