RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


So what are the best bikes out around $2000...(8 posts)

So what are the best bikes out around $2000...pressj1
Feb 23, 2002 12:35 PM
I'm basically looking for a non-aluminuum bike with ultegra triple. Airborne Zeppelin has got my interest, but I am also interested in LeMond Zurich.

What are people's thoughts?
re: So what are the best bikes out around $2000...gtx
Feb 23, 2002 12:40 PM
mr_anderson4942 "Which brand is best?" 2/21/02 8:25am
Check out the Bicycling Buyers Guidejackbike
Feb 23, 2002 7:25 PM
I think if you look in the first line of the Road Racing index - you will see the best deal. I wont mention the bike; since I think someone will jump me for plugging it. Just look at which bike in the Buyers Guide gives you the most bike for the money - you can stay in your budget AND get DuraAce
Check out the Bicycling Buyers Guidecyclaholic
Feb 23, 2002 9:08 PM
I had some time to kill today, so I read through the latest edition of Bicycling mag and checked out the "Buyer's Guide".

If you are looking to that as a true guide as to which bicycles are the "best deal", then I am afraid they can't offer much. The only data they offer is some very superficial commentary that is very favorable to the manufacturers, who they probably hope will be advertisers in their publication. In no way do they offer anything close to an objective evaluation of the bikes that they highlight.

Yes, you can find one French bicycle manufacturer that used to make decent quality products that has now found labor costs and methods so cheap(no longer made in France!) that they can offer Dura-Ace components for under $2000.

Big whoop.

You need to find out what kind of frame you want. In aluminum and steel, you should have plenty of options. If you are patient, you may be able to find a good quality carbon frame (Look, Trek, Kestrel) too, that will keep you under $2000 for the whole deal.

If you can find a titanium model for under $2000, I would strongly suggest rejecting that as an option.
Check out the Bicycling Buyers Guide - wise moveroger
Feb 24, 2002 6:27 AM
there are many great makers of bikes and the new Buyers Guide shows that. the motobecane le champion is a great deal
I have one and love it and anyone who has ever riden it agrees it beats anything else for the price. But the KHS listed in the guide seems like a great deal for those who like steel. Myself I think Aluminum and Steel are always better deals than Ti or Carbon fiber (materails for show-offs in my opinion)But if you spend $2000 you can get DuraAce and if you want to save money you can get Full Ultegra for $1100 to $1200
Lots of great bikes for $2k or less. . .js5280
Feb 25, 2002 11:33 AM
I was in the same position as you last year. My three top choices where the Zepp, Zurich, and the Jamis Eclispe. I picked these three based on high value for your money. I ended up w/ the Zepp because I wanted something comfortable for longer distances (50-100 miles so Steel and Ti where top picks material-wise), the ability to choose every component, great reviews, and the low maintaince for Ti. The runner up was the Jamis. Incredible value here, 100% ultegra, Ksyrium wheelset, light weight, steel frame, good reviews. Zurich came in thrid, not as good a value, a little heavier, needed a triple so I would have to spend more, and very good reputation, however there are LOTS of them out there so it's not very unique.

I would definately add the Jamis Eclispe to your list provided it fits you. If you haven't looked into fit, check out WrenchScience.com for their on-line fit calculator, I tried it post-purchase and it's pretty much dead-on for both my mountain and road. I think Airborne uses the same/similar formulas when they fit you over the phone. They nailed it right on the first time, didn't have to swap anything, has always felt great. If you've an atypical body type, you probably want to consider a custom fitting to establish a baseline.

There's really no overall "best" bike at any given price point. Bikes have their own uniques strengths and weakness and the "best" bike for you is the one that fits your needs and wallet the best. As far as "best value" is concerned, I think you've got a pretty good eye for that already w/ your choices. . .
Agreed . . .morrison
Feb 27, 2002 7:43 AM
I went with the zep last year b/c i needed something more comfortable for longer rides. For the money, you get a very nice ride.
Have you considered a custom???mikebikr
Feb 26, 2002 12:41 PM
You might want to consider a custom Anvil. Don ferris can hook you up with a complete custom steel bike for around $2000. Try anvil.com