RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


crazy messenger?(13 posts)

crazy messenger?raboboy
Feb 20, 2002 10:23 AM
Alright. I just saw something that i'd like to get some opinions about. I just saw a bike messenger in the city (Boston) riding a Colnago Master X Light fixed gear with a straight handlebar (bad look, btw). It was only locked to itself, ie. a krypto around frame & rim, but not locked to a fence or pole.

I saw him ride off 5 minutes later, but still was plenty of time for someone to take it(wish i was more dishonest). I see many messengers around, but never saw one on a really decent ride such as that or as new (OY, it looked brand new). Has anyone else seen a messenger on a ~$1200 frame?

My thoughts are that this bike will be gone soon? heh, maybe I should take it since it'll most likely be gone soon, anyway. At least i'll appreciate it and wont leave such a beautiful thing relatively unprotected.

Also, it was never my impression that bike messengers could afford a bike that like and let it get beat up.

So, what are your opinions? Newbie mssgr? Rich kid with nothing else? Maybe I am just jealous that he has one and I can't afford one (more accurately, my wife will kill me if I buy it).

Cheers.
re: crazy messenger?TJeanloz
Feb 20, 2002 10:38 AM
I work at the stock exchange building (Boston) and the messengers have a gathering area outside my window. Most of them have pretty nice rides; one Merlin Extralight, a Richard Sachs, some other custom steel. These guys' bikes are their livlihoods- and they're pro's at not getting them stolen- so they might as well have something nice.
crazy & messenger are synonymsAhimsa
Feb 20, 2002 10:51 AM
He probly shoulda had the decals covered up, he probly shoulda found a lock up, he probly knows what he is doing.

I'd say a cat on a Colnago fixed with a flat bar is more than aware of the risks involved in a rim frame lock up.

"Bad look BTW"

Exactly. Ugly is good. Flats are nice in heavy traffic, you can saw 'em down real short to fit in between that city bus and Rollinfast in his SUV.

Cheers!

A.
I was messenger for three years in NYC and DC...Djudd
Feb 20, 2002 11:06 AM
it got me through grad school and paid the rent when my first kid was born. Messengers do not play games with thier bikes... if this guy is a real rider then he has his eye on his bike if it was locked up solo. My advice to you is for the most part forget about taking a courier's bike and don't worry too much about someone else taking it ... a Kryptonite upside the head can hurt
I was messenger for three years in NYC and DC...raboboy
Feb 20, 2002 11:37 AM
no, i'd never try to steal one. that's not me. But there are plenty of assholes who steal bikes, hence the need in this world FOR bike locks. Maybe I am just paranoid in this aspect.

I have seen merlins, richard sachs, merckx and a couple other nice bikes, they not in mint condition like this one, maybe thats why it caught my eye. I guess I don't see the point in spending so much on something that will inevitably get trashed, as most (if not all) seem to get. I understand that they would want a nice ride, but there seem to be plenty of cheaper alternatves.
I was messenger for three years in NYC and DC...czardonic
Feb 20, 2002 4:51 PM
There probably are cheaper alternatives, but why would someone who rides a bike for a living want to buy a cheap one?

It probably will get trashed over time. Judging by the messengers I see around SF, the guy probably doesn't care. A scratched and dinged up frame isn't going to effect its perfomance.
not wrong...vicenza
Feb 20, 2002 11:52 AM
most of my messenger friends could smell one of their friends rides within a 2 mile radius. no amount of paint and geographical distance will disguise the bike as the web of contacts and word of mouth is much larger than any of us dare to think.

if the saying "hell hath no fury like a woman scorned" is anything to go by then " judgement day is nigh if caught trying to steal a messengers ride and income tool" has a correctly grave tone.

as a matter of fact it is my firm belief that a crew of old skool messengers could easily quell the arab-israeli conflicts within a week if offered enough cash, drugs and women. given the u.s. governments track record it surprises me that they havent given this more thought.
not wrong...you are so right and apologies to RaboboyDjudd
Feb 20, 2002 1:42 PM
When I was "messengering" in DC, there was a rumor there was a white van of a certain description that was driving around downtown and places frequented by messengers looking to steal bikes not locked down. This rumor grew to a fever pitch, so much so that when someone saw a van fitting the description, the word went out and in short order the van was being followed by a cadre of riders. I never found out if this was the mystery van or if the ever was one but the point was made.
p.s. My apologies to "raboboy" for intimating he would steal a bike very rude of me
no problem, no offense taken. :) nmraboboy
Feb 20, 2002 1:50 PM
maybe it was fakediggler
Feb 20, 2002 12:29 PM
like this one
C4 explosive in seat tube, 15 mile range keychain detonator (nm)js5280
Feb 20, 2002 4:08 PM
Probably stole it himself.Sintesi at home
Feb 20, 2002 7:57 PM
Most the messengers I've seen don't ride decent rigs. If they do, they're completely wrapped in black tape or innertubes. However...

I don't want to slander an entire group of individuals, but let's face it, most of these people make $50-70 a day and are natural born hustlers who wouldn't think twice about buying a hot bike in chinatown or the bronx let alone stealing it themselves. Bunch of rogues. The bike messenger, romantic gravy days are long gone in this city.
not reallyfuzzybunnies
Feb 21, 2002 6:55 PM
If you have no practice on a fixie than riding off on one is near impossible the first time in heavy traffic. I tried to ride a coworkers and fell over at the door without getting out of the shop, simply to used to coasting. The average thief probably wouldn't get very far uninjured either by the bike, the owner or the inability ride out of the way of cars. Russ