RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Best Way To Handle Jerk Drivers(50 posts)

Best Way To Handle Jerk DriversRollinFast
Feb 20, 2002 9:16 AM
Last season I had several incidents with drivers. Some resulted in the cops being called and showing up. I have tried to be nice and wave when an Ahole drives buy. I have used the finger. I have yelled. I have had drivers get out of their cars and threaten me. Is there any right way to handle the "road rage" against cyclist. I have gotten now where if I feel like they have intentionally tried to run me off the road, I just dial 911 on the cell and let the cops deal with it.
re: Best Way To Handle Jerk Driverspmf1
Feb 20, 2002 9:29 AM
What components are you using? If its Campy, then all that clickety clickety noise from your rear hub probably drives them to violent behavior. Switch over to Shimano and your problems will go away.

See The Light

They Abide

pmf1
re: Best Way To Handle Jerk DriversRollinFast
Feb 20, 2002 9:47 AM
Man, you are a case!!! Just go ahead and assume that I have Campy hubs. I don't, but I wouldn't go bragging about Shimano hubs. Everyone knows they are the weakest link to the Shimano line up. My bike has partially Campy stuff, but not all Campy. I find Campy headsets are too high maintainence. Therefore, I choose King. This would be the case too if I rode Shimano, as their headsets aren't that great either. My hubs, they are Ksyrium hubs. So care to diagnose this problem any further.
Your mom, buddypmf1
Feb 20, 2002 9:53 AM
ShimaNO doesn't even make a threadless HS. I hear that they couldn't obtain permission from the patent holder. I too use King and have ShimaNO compatible Ksyriums among other wheels.

OK, so not the hubs ... then its those damn carbon shifters. I swerve whenever I see a guy with those. And that carbon plated derailer ... hold on, let me get my shotgun.
Shimano to use more carbon... IT IS COMING!!!RollinFast
Feb 20, 2002 10:06 AM
What the hell are you going to do when Shimano starts using more carbon fiber? It is definitely going to happen. I have been hearing rumours now for quite some time. I wonder if you will be able to stay on the road.
You shouldn't have written that!PaulCL
Feb 20, 2002 9:57 AM
You're gonna start an all-out S vs C battle.

Campy does click a little, but its' not as loud as the "clank" you hear as the ever-deteriorating Shimano product falls off your bike in pieces!

I've seen the Light

I'm abiding.

Paul - the Record Rider
You shouldn't have written that!RollinFast
Feb 20, 2002 10:10 AM
I heard several stories of that happening during pro races last year btw?

Hey PMF I have been very complimetary of you when you deserve it and critical of you as well. That is the last thing however this board needs is another Campy V Shimano battle. People get tired of reading with it. If you get your rocks off with Shimano great. We could still ride together, wouldn't bother me. Just because you know a bunch of poser riders who have Campy on their bikes doesn't make everyone who rides Campy a bike snob.
really, what a jackassjust plain MF
Feb 20, 2002 10:05 AM
he's just trolling- said so herself on the carbon cranks thread on the components board. chill out dude, it will be ok
re: Best Way To Handle Jerk DriversLLSmith
Feb 20, 2002 9:42 AM
If you think someone is trying to harm you continue to call the police.For the small things just ignore and enjoy your ride.
PS. I think there must be something to the Campy/Shimano thing.I rarely have problems with Shimano. You have to admit the Campy noise can be a little annoying.
re: Best Way To Handle Jerk DriversRollinFast
Feb 20, 2002 9:52 AM
I did ride Campy hubs a couple of years ago, and it never once bothered me. These incidents usually happen with my Shimano equipped friends. Yes, I ride with people who ride Shimano. I am not a bike snob. I compliment their bikes as well.
The way people actLLSmith
Feb 20, 2002 10:10 AM
Maybe people in your area are just jerks. What exactly are you doing to make people stop and wait for you?
I can't believe I'm reading this!!!Paul
Feb 20, 2002 10:14 AM
The poor guy starts a topic about the miserable, polluting cars, and their ignorant drivers, and you guys get off on the ageless war of Campy versus Shimano. Lets face it, they were both once part of the "evil axis". Lets bash the moron Bush.
I can't believe I'm reading this!!!kyroadie
Feb 20, 2002 10:20 AM
This board has "Jumped the Shark"!
I can't believe I'm reading this!!!RollinFast
Feb 20, 2002 10:27 AM
Actually that wasn't what my post was about. I never called cars miserable or polluting. I love the fact that my SUV gets me to races and other cycling events safely while offering me plenty of room to put my gear and friends. Don't twist my words. I am talking about assholes not cars. Don't twist my words and turn me into some freak environmentalist. I would never tie myself to a tree to keep it from being cut down. I ride for my health not to keep the air clean or cut down on one more car off the road. I use my SUV to make a living.
you must have a complex driving an SUVPaul
Feb 20, 2002 10:34 AM
The biggest polluter out there are those kind of vehicles. Maybe just put your bike on the rack, and drive you gas-hog around.
BWAHAHAHA! F*cking A!Ahimsa
Feb 20, 2002 10:37 AM
you must have a complex driving an SUVRollinFast
Feb 20, 2002 10:44 AM
Who in the hell do you think you are attacking what I drive? If you don't wish to drive an SUV that is your business. I choose to drive one, and will do so. Where is it written that I can't? Secondly, I can find many more cars out there that are far more polluting than my SUV.

I would like to know where in my original post did I call cars or SUV evil. You took my words and decided to twist them into your evironmental political cause. I don't appreciate that. I will continue to drive my SUV. Go hug a tree, you wont' change my mind.
maybe its youfishwheel
Feb 20, 2002 1:17 PM
What do the car drivers do imply that you have a social conscious, and you get all mad and tell them to go hug a gas pump or something. I think they choose to be assholes so they can....... right. And by the way, SUV's are barely legal, thanks to lobbying. They are designed, marketed, and used as passenger vehicles yet do not comply to emission standards for passenger vehicles, for emissions they qualify as trucks (which have less restrictive regulations, since they are used for work hauling loads etc.). A nice end run around the Clean Air Act, or would that be considered a victory for choice.
get a pontiac aztecCherry1
Feb 20, 2002 7:05 PM
they are cool and versatile
Be like Ghandi.....rollo tommassi
Feb 20, 2002 10:24 AM
I read your post and I worry for your safety.

I too, have done as you - gestures, words (even shouting in German, which, on the South Side of Chicago, was highly effective in shutting up the driver). However, a two-ton vehicle trumps a bike everytime. Someone said once to treat a car as if it were an animal in the wild - they can attack at any time!

But, after reading numerous discussions here and elsewhere, and also through the wisdom of my friends, the safest response is to not respond at all. It is THE hardest thing to do, and I totally commiserate with how you feel. I don't always succeed in keeping my cool, but the experiences of others, when escalation is the course of the encounter, tells me that that is a no-win situation.

The law is only on your side if you remain within it; gestures, throwing objects, taunting drivers, or confronting them casts you in the light of the aggressor. Yes, do let the cops do their job; if you fear for your life, or have physical/material damage, get a police report.

Train yourself to look at license plates, use your cell to defend yourself. Work with your local advocacy group to educate drivers and cyclists on road usage. It's safer for everyone that way.

Be safe!
Be like Ghandi.....RollinFast
Feb 20, 2002 10:32 AM
Actually the times that the police were involved, we came out smelling like a rose, even when it got ugly. The drivers have always received the warning or ticket. I was hoping to have a responsible discussion about how to best handle ugly situations with drivers to hopefully ride off feeling better about what just happened. This wasn't an attack on cars. I don't advocate cycling to take cars off the roads. People depend on cars to get to work to feed their families, and the fact that someone wants to take away my right to drive or what I drive pisses me off. I don't know how the one poster took my words into the fact that cars are evil when all I said is a few miserable assholes on the road in thier cars can ruin a good ride.
Be like AmadeusCherry1
Feb 20, 2002 3:42 PM
The ultimate weaponTig
Feb 20, 2002 11:00 AM
...is a simple wave and even a (fake) smile. I know it sounds wimpy, but it actually works. You get to make them look like a complete fool without esculating the problem into a violent conflict. They may feel ashamed, but they will be less likely to use their car as a weapon or jump out with a tire tool. You come out smelling like a rose if the cops have to get involved too! You can quietly call them any name you want with a fake smile and wave without them knowing what you really feel. It keeps your anger and blood pressure down and actually helps other cyclists who could be their next victim. They are trying to get you to react negatively and bring you down to their pathetic lowly level. You paint a better picture of all cyclists for those who witness it. You will not feel as angry, and not be angry as long compared to giving them the 1-finger salute with some choice words.

I still have trouble not reacting to a-hole drivers, but they are just not worth getting involved with. There are too many seriously screwed up people out there. All it takes is to mess with the wrong one once...
The ultimate weaponRollinFast
Feb 20, 2002 11:13 AM
First of all, thank you for responding to this subject for what it actually is. I too have found it is best to wave and smile, but that is sometimes hard to do. The first couple of times during a ride, it is possible, but it does start building up after a while to where you want to take other measures. I am trying to avoid those other measures. I know of an instance last year where a guy got out of a car and beat an older man who was riding up sending him to a hospital. This is a fear of mine, as it is hard to walk with cleats on, let alone to try to defend yourseld if this happens.
The ultimate weapon...NOT alwaysJL
Feb 20, 2002 12:29 PM
I did the same last year (smile/wave), as I usually do, to someone who honked the horn and flipped me off. This started a chain reaction of him start/stopping his car and my assumption to this day is trying to get me to fall or run into a ditch. I posted about it here in Sept. (a "Not just SUVS" post).

I called the cops and charged the guy with harassment, but the township court sucks and probably threw it out as I haven't heard a thing since September when it happened!!! It really shook me for a while. I'm "over it" now, but my reaction from now on will probably be no reaction, as hard as that can be.

I agree with the your last paragraph, however. It's just not worth it to get involved, as you never know what the person will do the next cyclist they meet.

Happy riding.
I remember your incidentTig
Feb 20, 2002 12:55 PM
The lack of the township doing anything bites, but is all too typical. At least you did the responsible thing and didn't get yourself hurt or into legal trouble.

The way I look at the "all aboard be prepared to wave and smile" (an old Navy PA saying) approach is that if the driver will go ballistic with this, then they'll go nuts with any reaction, like flipping the bird. The odds are with you for the most part. The "no reaction" method is best, but I think most us guys have to transition into it through a middle ground first. I've been able to not react sometimes, so there is hope for me yet!
I agree...easy to say, but tough to do somtimes. (nm)JL
Feb 20, 2002 12:59 PM
Be like Ghandi.....i dont think drinking one's.....johan burnt eels
Feb 20, 2002 12:49 PM
urine will be a deterent to aggressive drivers

on the other hand if you did it in front of them it might just scare them enough to make them flee

im sure its similar to cytomax in taste and a lot cheaper by far.

Is it UCI legal???
Nope. There's EPO involved :) nmJL
Feb 20, 2002 12:52 PM
"Last season I had several incidents with drivers."Ahimsa
Feb 20, 2002 10:43 AM
Hmmmm...I wonder why?

I suddenly feel less safe knowing you represent us cyclists out there. Thanks.

Go drive your SUV. Sheesh.

A. (Tired of people treating the symptoms)
"Last season I had several incidents with drivers."RollinFast
Feb 20, 2002 10:51 AM
Why do you feel less safe knowing cyclst drive SUVs? Most of my friends who ride have either SUVs or large trucks. Does that mean we aren't going to be courteous to cyclist when we pass by them? You really don't believe that do you? Judging from you post it seems you do, which would make you an idiot to assume that just because someone drives a certain vehicle they are ready to run cyclist over. Looking in the parking lots of a lot of the USCF events I raced in last year, and it seems like SUVs are one of the vehicles of choice among riders. I guess those licensed racers hate cyclist when they are behind the wheels of their SUVs. How absurd your comments are. FYI, I always give any cyclist plenty of room to ride when I pass. I never squeeze by a cyclist and take up their space, and I do it behind the wheel of my SUV.
Like fish in barrel.Ahimsa
Feb 20, 2002 10:58 AM
Cripes you're easy. Mmmmm! Yummy bait!

What an insecure, argumentative, defensive, hotheaded goon you are. Now maybe you see why you get in so many altercations with drivers.

Try some anger management techniques.

Cheers!

A. (Go ahead....vent away....ya know ya wanna....can you resist?)
Quit Trying To Take Away My Rights Over Your Special InterestRollinFast
Feb 20, 2002 11:09 AM
Someone took my words and twisted them in order to discuss their political agenda. Vent? I don't need to vent. Every time I turn around there is another special interest group nagging about this or nagging about that. Their only resolve is to attempt to take away more and more rights of the people regardless of whether a majority of people agree with them or not. Owning and SUV and defending my right to own and drive it makes me insecure? I think not. I am secure in knowing that I have the right to drive it anywhere I want, and I will protect those rights with whatever means. I also like to hunt, but I have some special interest group that tells me I am wrong in doing so. Hey buddy, if you think it is wrong, then you make the choice not to do it for yourself, but don't make the choice for me. That is the greatness of this country. You don't have to agree with me, and I don't have to agree with you. However, don't tell me I can't, when the laws tell me I can. If special interest had their way, and almost all cases they are a minority voice, they would take away my right to drive what I want, own rifles to hunt with, and whatever else they want. I hope 100 Hummers are sold today in your honor.
BWAHAHA! "Ladies and Gentlemen, the World Famous Dancing Monkey"Ahimsa
Feb 20, 2002 11:16 AM
BWAHAHAHAHA! Stop! *cough-wheeze* Yer killin' me! BWAHAHAHA!

You don't get it do you?

Oh man!

Thanks, I needed that!

My favorite quote: "Vent? I don't need to vent."

Followed by major venting about special interest groups!

BWAHAHAHA!

More! More! Dance for me monkey boy! Dance for my pleasure!

Cheers!

A.
BWAHAHA! "Ladies and Gentlemen, the World Famous Dancing Monkey"RollinFast
Feb 20, 2002 11:25 AM
Question for you. Do you own, drive, or ride in a car? Do you take planes, trains, or busses? Laugh all you want. I don't take the fact that there are people who if they could would take my right to own and drive what I wish away from me. That they would take away my right to own arms and hunt away from me. This isn't a laughing matter. Might be to you, but not to me. I have friends who came here from the Soviet Union during the height of communism that realize this isn't a laughing matter either. Go ahead laugh. I don't care.
Still going. It keeps going and going and going...Ahimsa
Feb 20, 2002 11:36 AM
"I have friends who came here from the Soviet Union during the height of communism that realize this isn't a laughing matter either."

Hell, I have black friends, it doesn't mean I'm "down".

And to think you called the enviromentalists "freaks".

Mr. Pot meet Mr. Kettle.

Stop listening to Limbaugh and get a prescription for valium before your head explodes. Eat more fiber too.

Cheers!

A. (LingMAO)
F---ing classic, Ahimsa! I've never seen someonemorrison
Feb 20, 2002 11:51 AM
manipulated so openly, and so easily! Excellent work. Now, I need for you to make him do the following:

1. You need to make him admit that he went to Bob Jones University. I know you can do it, even if he didn't actually go;
2. Convince him to ride in the raw. Come on, you have the talent; and
3. Make him go away.

Cheers!

p.s. one of the funniest threads ever!
Still going. It keeps going and going and going...RollinFast
Feb 20, 2002 11:52 AM
First of all, you avoid my questions that I specifically asked you. Second of all, please tell me where I called anyone a freak. Third of all you make assumptions about me that you certainly can't back up. You don't even discuss the issue. You are just a name caller. If you want to debate this, then show some substance. You lack substance, but are good at name calling.
There is just NO WAY you can actually be serious!! LOLTig
Feb 20, 2002 11:19 AM
Do you write for Leno or Letterman? Maybe you missed your medication, but who here is trying to take away yours, or anyone else's rights to anything? Are we witnessing delusional paranoia here? This is nutz! The Campy vs. Shimano thing was so comical, I thought you and pmf1 actually knew each other and were playing around, making fun of the same old silly debates.

If this isn't all some joke of yours and you are seriously speaking, you should consider counseling. And no, I'm not joking anymore.
Recently in Congress...RollinFast
Feb 20, 2002 11:30 AM
Recently in the US Congress there what a representative who has brought up legislation to outlaw SUVs in the next five years. Where will this stop? Will trucks be next? How about luxury cars? I guess some of you would be happy driving around in your Ford Focus, your Yugo, or whatever ugly box on wheels you want. Not me. Give me time, and I will find the representatives name. Yes I am serious. You don't have to look far either to find special interest groups that are demanding that larger vehicles be taken off the roads. Go ahead laugh, but I do know what I am talking about.
Recently in one man's addled brain...Ahimsa
Feb 20, 2002 11:47 AM
I'll come clean since the hints nearly bit yer arse off and you still got nothin' I'd fairly call a clue.

Okay lovin's, here's the skinny:

We are not laughing about the whole car thing. We are laughing at YOU.

Because YOU are a bona fide, A-1, high grade, certifiable loony with serious issues and an obvious defensiveness thang goin' on with yo bad self.

We (okay ME) are "leading you down the path".

"Handing you the sock".

"Tossing fuel on yer fire".

"Pulling yer strings".

"Yankin' yer chain".

"Fishing with fake bait".

GET IT?

Learn to defuse here and maybe you won't have so many problems on the road. Dig?

A. (Amazed yet again.)
The future according to RollinFastfishwheel
Feb 20, 2002 1:50 PM
Carbon fiber Shimano, no SUV's. This post-apocalyptic talk is starting to get me down. What's next cleaner air, cleaner water, " the horor, the horror"....... "it's coming" and its no laughing matter.
true science fiction..im sending this thread to Arthur C. Clarkejohan burnt eels
Feb 20, 2002 2:09 PM
as its from impending fact that he drafted his best fiction: and has stood the test of time better than we had imagined.

oh... by the way i think the mans a legend, if i was a woman id jump him.."Reading computer manuals without the hardware is as frustrating as reading sex manuals without the software."

maybe cherry1 should be sent this quote
true science fiction..im sending this thread to Arthur C. ClarkeCherry1
Feb 20, 2002 3:41 PM
i dont get it
Everything is a "special interest"...ohio
Feb 20, 2002 12:50 PM
... unless you agree with it. Then it's just "right."

'Tis the american way.

I don't think anybody ever told you, you "can't do" something. They just made ridiculous generalizations about what those actions or choices imply about you.

I do think that commercial driver's licenses should be necessary for oversize vehicles (expedition, suburban, navigator, duallies...) as I'm a little tired of swerving to avoid 4-ton land-yachts driven by anorexic soccer-mom dentist's wives that can't see over the steering wheel, let alone over the door sills to see me biking along side them as they change lanes without signaling.

I also think that most SUV drivers would be better served by vans, audi-quattros, or subarus, but I certainly won't argue that people can spend their money however they choose. I will continue to laugh at the owner of a Cadillac Escalade crying in a supermarket parking lot over a teeny scratch on his previously spotless $40k leather-interiored tank complete with Rhino-Guard on the front. Where I come from everyone drives big trucks, but that's because they use them, and crying over a dent in your truck would be like crying over dirt on the soles of your shoes...

Anyway, in regards to drivers, depends on the driver and the severity. If it was just some stupid driving mistake where they didn't see me: if it's a young kid, I chase them down and have words with them. If it's a woman I'll usually do the same. Not scream and yell, but point out what they did and tell them to be careful. Usually they're very apologetic and it's fine. With men... I'll usually do the same.

If it was intentional or they yelled something, see above about kids and women, only with a little more fire. With men... it's just not worth it. Get their plates and call the police.
Best Way To Handle AhimsaRollinFast
Feb 20, 2002 12:34 PM
Campy Wrench & Ear Muffs
RollinFast, you don't get it. He is yanking your . . .morrison
Feb 20, 2002 1:43 PM
chain to prove a point. That point is that YOU do not know how to back away from or avoid a confrontation. You responded to each and everyone of his missives in a belligerent fashion. This is indicative of a personality trait of yours that, quite frankly, may be putting you (and us) in danger.

Here is the message: Learn to control yourself. You don't always have to respond, you don't always have to be right, and you certainly don't always have to have the last word. If a driver yells at you, ride on. Don't respond. If a driver executes a poor maneuver, don't flip him the bird. Ride on. If a driver flips you the bird, don't respond. Ride on. Similarly, if Ahimsa pi$$es you off, don't respond. READ on. Go to the next post. Do some deep breathing, take a walk, etc.

When you respond (on the road, that is), you put all of us in danger because you are 'teaching' these people that cyclists are hot heads and deserve to be f---ed with.

The fact that you have had multiple people stop and get out and start confrontations absolutely FLOORS me! You sound like you have some real anger-management issues, and might benefit from some counseling.

Finally . . . where do you live? Please don't say San Diego, b/c I like riding here, and don't want to give it up.
Best Way To Handle AhimsaWoof the dog
Feb 20, 2002 3:40 PM
So you think it is your "right" to pollute the environment in which my kids will have to live? SUVs are practical but please, save all the "rights" bullshit. The fact that others do what you do doesn't justify anything. So, could you please buy a smaller car or a van? Thanx.

Woof the dog.
"the most outspoken proponents of any cause are its most recentjohan burnt eels
Feb 20, 2002 1:29 PM
converts" - G.B.Shaw
put dilute paint in your water bottle, if it works on dogs??(nm)dolmen cc
Feb 20, 2002 5:51 PM