RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Stems on line?(8 posts)

Stems on line?patagrande
Feb 19, 2002 7:37 PM
Can anyone recommend a good place on line to view a variety of stems and then buy one? I am considering experiementing with a different stem length/rise and want to try a solid cheapie before I drop money on a higher quality product.

Thanks, any brand recommendations would also be appreciated.
re: Stems on line?Jekyll
Feb 19, 2002 7:57 PM
You could always look in he reviews section of this site - a bunch of stems, with pictures and reviews from owners.
Rather than buying a bunch of "cheap" stems and doing expensive trial and error you may want to find a good LBS, and get them to help you size a stem and see if they will let you try a few different lengths and rises before you buy.
re: Stems on line?DINOSAUR
Feb 19, 2002 9:55 PM
Stems can get rather complicated with threadless headsets. You start dealing with rise and reach and you can throw your whole bike fit out of whack. I suggest that you locate a LBS who has a good supply of stems, bring your bike in and tell them what you want to do. They can set up a couple of different stems until you find what you want. Even a change of a couple of mm's can make a difference. Tell them what you want: Higher, lower, closer, more aft? Unless you know exactly what you want you can end up ordering something that won't work. I went through this last month and researched stems for a couple of weeks and I just called up my LBS and told them my problem and said to just bring my bike down and they could fix me up while I waited. It worked...
StemsDavid S
Feb 19, 2002 8:15 PM
What angle and reach are you looking for? I went through a similar trial last fall. I have 3 stems that I have only used once or twice. Zepp, Ritchey and Icon. I ordered these from PerformanceBike.com, Cbike.com and Colorado Cyclist. I settled on a Cinelli 110mm Solido stem and I love it. It is stong, light, stiff and looks great. Let me know if you want a stem to try.

-David S
StemsEW
Feb 19, 2002 11:01 PM
What are the lengths of the stems you are not using? I would be interested in one of them.
Stemspatagrande
Feb 20, 2002 6:24 PM
I'm looking for a 110mm with a -10 or -5. Right now I have a -17, 120mm Ritchey which felt long and too low to begin with, but I put on a CF fork which dropped the front end down about 1/2", making the bars sit lower.

Let me know what you have, I'd be interested to know.

Best,
Chris
re: Stems on line?tarwheel
Feb 20, 2002 5:24 AM
I ordered 4-5 stems from www.excelsports.com to try out for fit, and then returned the ones I didn't want after settling on one. Talk to a salesperson about this beforehand, and make sure you don't mark up or damage the stems you plan to return. They may have let me do this because I had bought a new bike from them, but I got the impression this was something they would do for anyone. You have to pay for (charge) all the stems beforehand, but they will credit your card for the ones you return.

Excel has a good selection of stems, both threaded and threadless. If you need a threadless, the Ritchey Pro and WCS are very good stems for the money, light weight, and come in a variety of lengths and rises. I ended up getting a Salsa SUL because it had the right combination and rise and length and looked better with my frame. The TTT Forgie is another nice stem for the money in threadless.

Of course, the easier way to do this is through your local bike shop. I went through Excel because I had bought my bike from them, so they would let me exchange the one that came on the bike, plus they had a much better selection than my LBS.
re: Stems on line?RayBan
Feb 20, 2002 5:42 AM
I wanted to try a different size stem (a bit shorter) and found Titec.com mentioned on this site. I found a stem for only $15. They have a bunch of different models. Good luck
Ray