RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


First Look! New Section of RBR going up!(14 posts)

First Look! New Section of RBR going up!gregg
Feb 19, 2002 4:21 PM
Hey All,

Check out a new section called Dream Bikes that we have going live later today. It is here:

http://www.roadbikereview.com/DRM_0crx.aspx

Try it out and tell me what you think! (ignore the duplicate headset fields and the field for "Barends", these will be removed shortly).

-gregg, Site Manager RoadbikeREVIEW
gkato@roadbikereview.com
forgot to mention....gregg
Feb 19, 2002 4:23 PM
...you can either spec a Dream Bike just on our site or you can select a model available from Wrench Science, and go to their site to spec one, then have it posted on RoadbikeREVIEW. We hope to have more manufacturers added to this section in the future.

-g
how bout retro and fixed gear forums?johan burnt eels
Feb 19, 2002 4:47 PM
granted they are not as commercially conducive but i feel that specific info on either of those topics would be easier to find and share.

not meaning to take anything away from the general and components forums but as there is cyclocross and triathlon forums then perhaps older bikes and fixed/singles would be of interest to more than a few people.

just a thought.

thanks
FAQsffffQ
Feb 19, 2002 4:54 PM
for the questions/topics that get asked over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and.........................................................
Excellent point...still have this on my long list of projects...gregg
Feb 19, 2002 6:42 PM
...as always, if someone is willing to volunteer to help, I'm open to that!

gkato@roadbikereview.com
Hmmm....the question is...gregg
Feb 19, 2002 6:40 PM
...would there be enough traction to support these as their own boards. In deciding what boards to create or not, one of the main considerations is that we do not want to create a separate board if there isn't enough interest in it. To be quite honest, the Rides and Clubs boards and the Tri boards are both actually kind of slow. The 'Cross board does well, seasonally (which is, of course, to be expected).

Are you proposing these as separate boards or together?

-g
seperate....johan burnt eels
Feb 19, 2002 8:38 PM
im sure a retro/old bike forum would be very popular and draw good traffic. there are a lot of retro forums but the format of this site could easily make it one of the best and most trafficked. it wouldn't be hard to attract page sponsorship.


fixed(+single?) forum would be informative and as a lot of threads in the general section have been on this topic i see good reason for a try. fixed riding is a lot of peoples second favorite bike project. fixed gear riders are some of the most unswayingly passionate in terms of voicing their love of it and helping others build theirs.

of course both are loves of mine but im sure general interest in either is more than enough to warrant an inclusion of them as seperate forums within the discussions group. the proof being the amount both contribute already in the general classification. worth a try?
Agreescottfree
Feb 20, 2002 5:20 AM
It does seem that retro topics come up with some regularity. I for one would probably do most of my posting there. I can think of several regular posters who'd probably say the same.

I'm sure there'd be more traffic on a retro board than the existing rides, clubs or tri boards.

Hell, the search for retro parts alone consumes so much of our time we would probably use the thing just to awap info on where to find this and that.
Hey Gregg, tried that DREAM BIKE thing and it dont work *#+&*^&^vicenza
Feb 20, 2002 8:22 AM
it mustn't be working right yet...

chose my frame and fork - cinelli super corsa (neuron?) and then couldnt find Campy Super Record (50th anniversary no less) and nowhere is there a listing for a cinelli 1R stem, 65-42 bars, and unicantor saddle in tan suede - let alone when it came to the wheels - nothing close to mavic gel 330's with clement seta's.

and where the *&^&*^& in the bartape section is Velox!!!??? whats up with that?

obviously this a beta version and will be ironed out properly in the new and much needed retro section. (a few pictures of those frames also looked as they were squashed and badly painted - everybody knows Colnago frames are beautifull thin steel tubes with just one color paint jobs)

you The man.
thanks for the feedback and specifics...it is a new release...gregg
Feb 20, 2002 9:43 AM
...and we'll continue to try to get things dialed in!

-g
;-) nmvicenza
Feb 20, 2002 10:13 AM
re: First Look! New Section of RBR going up!Djudd
Feb 19, 2002 5:42 PM
Kinda cool (I say that as I drool over the De Benardi I just built)
I think the retro and fixed gear forums would be worthwhile. Both deal with an audience that is especially knowledgeable and forthcoming with that knowledge (and decidedly non-flamers)
Just keep going GreggDWridesGT
Feb 19, 2002 11:37 PM
Thanks Gregg for the outstanding site. This is the best d@mn website for us cyclist anywhere on the web. Keep it up and we trust that anything you do would be fantastic.

DW
Wrench Science...DINOSAUR
Feb 20, 2002 7:48 AM
Wrench science also has a program to determine sizing. I played around with it and it was dead on with everything accept the stem length.