RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Wich gruppo is better(13 posts)

Wich gruppo is betterjrwagoner
Feb 19, 2002 10:56 AM
I am about to purchase a road bike on a limited budget. I have been to every bike shop in town twice and am considering a 2001 Univega Modo viviere it is a steel frame, columbia, and has the Campagnolo mirage group. The bike is a steel frame seems comfortable and they will further fit it for me. I am just wondering how that campy group stacks up to the shimano sora or tiagra wich I am not so thrilled about. And is this bike an overall value at 699.00 Thanks, Josh
Terrific entry level bike, butscottfree
Feb 19, 2002 11:12 AM
699.00 is full retail, and Univega is out of business, so last year's bike from an out-of-business company should net you a break on the price. (Not to worry about the warranty, though -- Derby/Raleigh, Univega's parent company, is still around).

There are reviews of the Modo Viviere on this site. You should check them out.
Mirage works great (nm)ColnagoFE
Feb 19, 2002 11:14 AM
don't forget about Motobecane! ha hahanm
Feb 19, 2002 11:27 AM
it's a joke (pun intended)
Campagnolo MiragePoulidor
Feb 19, 2002 11:29 AM
I have a bike that is about 6 years old that has Mirage components. I have ridden it for about 7-8000 miles and I have not had any problems with the gruppo. It has never even needed significant adjustments. It is not the lightest or best finished Campagnolo gruppo but it is bomb-proof and incredibly reliable. On the other hand, I have a one year old Trek with Sora. I would never ever buy low-end Shimano equipment again. The Sora brakes are down right scary (no stopping power) and the drive train is constantly skipping or making new noises/creaks. I maintain all of my bikes well and the Trek has only about 2000 miles on it. In my opinion, I would not hestitate to buy a bike equipped with low-end Campagnolo components but I would never again buy a bike with low-end Shimano components. I understand that at the Ultegra/Dura-ace and Chorus/Record level, there are no real functional/performance differences, but at the low end, I believe that you get a much better gruppo if you go Campy. This is not Shimano bashing, just observations based on my experiences.

By the way, I have heard good things about the Modo Vivere, not a super light bike but good Columbus steel and good components, a great combination for someone on a budget.

Cheers
Mirage more at par with Shim 105, if not better (I have 105)(nm)tempeteKerouak
Feb 19, 2002 11:36 AM
re: Wich gruppo is betterTroyboy
Feb 19, 2002 1:41 PM
I don't think that is any sort of bargain. $700 plus tax will take you to $800 or so if you're in the states. I will do it again, compare this with what I saw at Supergo a couple of months ago. A very nice Cervelo and some others at quite similar prices. Full Ultegra group, $1100. Yes it's $300 more, however sandbox to stadium in difference.
I'm absolutely amazedscottfree
Feb 19, 2002 2:10 PM
at how casually so many on this board absolutely refuse to listen to people who say they're on a budget, or can't afford something, or don't WANT to spend over a thousand dollars on a bike.

Here's a dead fact, for all you lurkers and newbies and UN-RICH people out there: You CAN get a perfectly good bike for less than a thousand dollars. You CAN get a perfectly good bike for considerably less than that. It depends on your purposes and your goals. Don't let a bunch of crazy roadies tell you otherwise.

Plus -- specific to the question -- this fellow's thinking of getting his bike at an LBS, with all the support that implies, as opposed to Big Mail Order and the non-support Troyboy's suggestion implies.
Very trueTroyboy
Feb 19, 2002 2:21 PM
Thanks for pointing that out. Silly me thinking an extra $300 is nothing when you'r already talking $800. I suppose if you get a Univega with that sort of group, you'd BETTER have some service available, AND LOTS OF IT. Start building your penny jar for replacement parts as well. This also says nothing of bike lust which is inevitable and does not consider the hosts income level. :) My first Ultegra group rode basically serviceless for years.

What an idiot I am!!!!!!!!

Seriously consider borrowing the extra $300.
Just amazing.scottfree
Feb 19, 2002 2:24 PM
Sorry I pinched your nerve. :)Troyboy
Feb 19, 2002 2:35 PM
This is simply an observation that I've lived with for 35+ years:

Growing up with depression era folks grew me in a particular fashion. I learned you get what you pay for upon seeing their *bargain* hunting. Pay 2/3 now for a bargain and you'll be back again next year to buy full bore after the bargain bin stuff lets you down. Go the extra yard now, buy lasting stuff now and you won't be back again, not for a while.

Perhaps your life experiences are entirely different.

Sorry my past experiences influence my posting. NOT!!!! LOL Pick your poison.....
There's truth in what you say, butscottfree
Feb 19, 2002 2:55 PM
I also grew up among Depression folk, and I wouldn't dismiss their bargain hunting so lightly.

My 50+ years of observation convinces me that they were right in saying you don't buy toys you can't afford, and you certainly don't borrow money to buy toys you can't afford. I think your observation is more valid when applied to some of the more 'necessary' expenditures. But even then it's nonsensical to pay more than you need to.

The fact is, for you and for me and for probably 80 percent of the people on this board, it's probably true that we wouldn't be satisfied with the Univega (and I could say the same for the Supergo Cervelo, although that's not the point). But we're racers, distance riders, enthusiasts, or otherwise longtime-committed cyclists for whom a big investment is in some way justifiable.

In the case of a newbie, or a kid on a limited budget, or an average human just interested in getting a nice bike and seeing if the nickle drops, we do them no service when we tell' em they have to spend over a thousand bucks as the price of admission to our sport.
re: Wich gruppo is betterDaveL
Feb 19, 2002 3:19 PM
Mirage is just fine - it will work well. I have a Modo Vincere Univega - same frame as the one you're looking at, but veloce triple. In fact I rode it to the office today; it's right here next to me. It's a great bike. I really like the frame - it's compliant enough to really smooth out the ride on the farm roads I have to ride on.

Before you buy the modo vivere take a look at eBay,"complete Bicycles". Search "Univega" and "Campy" - I forget how it's listed...and check out the two or three bikes at auction as we speak. Going on right now. You might save some money and get an instant upgrade. Good luck!!