RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Phil Wood vs. Campagnolo bb(9 posts)

Phil Wood vs. Campagnolo bbO
Feb 17, 2002 10:10 AM
I have decided on ordering a Milano 3v frame (from Masi in Italy). I have decided on trying out using Campy for a change. I am ordering all Record components, except for a Chorus cassette and maybe bb. I have heard complaints about Record bb. Any opinions on Phil Wood bb vs. Chorus vs. Record. Any flex issues with ti spindled bb? Thank you all for advice.
re: Phil Wood vs. Campagnolo bbboneman
Feb 17, 2002 11:29 AM
I have no recent experience with Campy BB's but have Phil BB's on all my bikes except the single speed. I've used Phil hubs since 1975 and the BB's since the 80's and have had very good experiences. Their build quality and customer service are superb. Perhaps not the lightest but built to last. As for Ti in the BB, I'd stick with steel.

BTW, are you going to Milano to order the Masi? A great city to visit. I was there at the shop in June and Alberto is a very nice man. Worth a visit if you're in Milano. I believe you'll be very happy with the frame although if I bought a Masi today, I'd probably not go with the 3v as things have progressed since that frame's introduction.
re: Phil Wood vs. Campagnolo bbCT1
Feb 17, 2002 2:31 PM
I've got both a Chorus and Record BB in a couple of bikes and can detect no difference between them. The Chorus BB has about 9K miles on it and seems to operate like new. Don't have much more than 2K miles on the Record BB so factor that in.

No experience with PW BB's. They are quite pricey. worth it ??? Heck.... it's just a bb.

JohnG
re: Phil Wood vs. Campagnolo bbHoward2
Feb 17, 2002 3:44 PM
I had a titanium BB (Super Record) on a Gios Torino built with Columbus SL tubing. At the time I weighed around 175 to 180 and the bb flexed a fair amount. Replaced with Nuevo Record steel bb and had lesss flex (although it turned out that the SL tubing was thin for my weight and I was unable to completely reduce flex when climbing). Put the titanium BB in my wife's Pinarello and she loved it.

This was all back in the 80s and I don't know if the titanium bb are stiffer today.

Howard

Howard
What complaints about Campagnolo BB?Kerry Irons
Feb 17, 2002 4:42 PM
Could you detail the "complaints" you've heard about Campy Record BBs? Generally they're highly regarded, and I've never heard any complaints. Are these complaints based on anything solid, or just somebody saying "they're Ti so they must be flexy" etc.?
re: Phil Wood vs. Campagnolo bbBenR
Feb 17, 2002 6:32 PM
I've got a new Chorus BB with 3,000 miles on it. No problems, fairly light and very smooth. I'm 175 lbs and have very little flex "down there" with an OCLV frame, Chorus bb, and Chorus cranks. This is the first one I've ever used and have no experience with Phil Wood. BTW, I thought the record bb had a carbon axle?
Record vs. Phil WoodDMoore
Feb 17, 2002 7:57 PM
The Record bottom bracket has an oversize, hollow steel spindle (axle), alloy cups, and carbon body.
The axle is neither carbon nor Ti - it's good old steel.

I have the Record b/b in three of my bikes, with many thousands of miles and 0 problems. I also have a Phil Wood "Magnium" (oversized Ti) b/b in my race bike, as the FSA carbon cranks require a JIS spec spindle. It works flawlessly, and is a bit lighter than the Record b/b's. I'm 175#, and feel no flex with either b/b.
what is a JIS spindlefuzzybunnies
Feb 18, 2002 9:27 PM
I know there are differences between the shimano and campy tapered spindles which kind is JIS. The fsa website doesn't seem to explain. Russ
Problems with Campy BBgrandemamou
Feb 18, 2002 4:45 AM
It's news to me. I have tons a miles on a Chorus in one bike and about 7k on a Record. No problems with either one. I have never used a PW but they have an excellent reputation for quality.

It's up to you but if the only thing keeping you from Campy is reliability forget about it.